We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is One of Those Hidden Gems”

Shakers Bar & Grill
Ranked #1 of 15 Restaurants in Rockley
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“This is One of Those Hidden Gems”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Shakers is nestled in a neighbourhood not too far off the beaten path in Rockley, Christ Church Barbados. This family run business treats patrons like friends and all staff are friendly and accommodating. Our first visit was three years ago with a couple we met at the hotel we were staying at in St. Lawrence Gap. We just recently enjoyed our third visit in March 2013 and a meal at Shakers will be in our plans for future trips to Barbados. Reservations are strongly recommended; you will find the phone number to call on the restaurant website. Shakers is cash only so please make sure you are prepared for that. The catch of the day runs at about $28BBD (approx. $14 USD), which you may order grilled or fried. Both are excellent, however Shakers does fried fish right - lightly crusted and not greasy. Another great thing is that you can choose from a limited amount of sides to suit your taste. If you are not a fish lover, there are other options to choose from however I did not pay close attention to those because I go for the fish. There is a limited selection of wines and beer available but you will find something you enjoy.
We prefer dining outdoors as it is very warm inside. The tables and chairs are not high end, but are functional and comfortable. When you have settled your bill, just give your server your cab driver's number and they will call your cab for you.
I hope this review will encourage you to try Shakers while you are visiting Barbados - it truly is a hidden gem.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Juanitaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    430
    171
    32
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Fabulous what a find!!!”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Ate here on the last night and so wished we had found it earlier.Food to die for try the Blackened Fish.Well cooked tasty and fresh.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Once Again - My favorite !!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

A definite must if you are travelling to Barbados. Wesley and Amy make you feel at home. Their food is fabulous but a reservation is a must !! Cash Only as they do not do credit card sales. ( Try a Mud Slide - you will love them) Get to Brownes Gap a few minutes early and walk 100 feet down the road to "Joan's Rum Shop" where, Joan, Terry or possibly Sandy will pull out an ice cold Banks Beer or a bottle of Mount Gay Rum and enjoy the true Bajan atmosphere. Counting the days until February 2014 visit!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Clairsinnladner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great as usualy”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Very reliable, consistently good food at a great price with friendly staff. Always on our must visit list when we come to Barbados

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank K_L_M54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheadle Hulme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
203 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great food Great Value”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Loved this place,traditional bajan cuisine well priced - tried to book again but fully booked but we enjoyed our first visit....ribs and blackened king fish - awesome.. :-)))

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MinecraftSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shakers Bar & Grill also viewed

Christ Church Parish, Barbados
St. Lawrence Gap, Christ Church Parish
 
Hastings, Christ Church Parish
Christ Church Parish, Barbados
 
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
Oistins, Christ Church Parish
 

Been to Shakers Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing