We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't exect too much”
Review of Ocean 15 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean 15 Hotel
Reviewed May 21, 2014

The hotel was overall quite reasonable, but I was charged a room cleaning fee at check-in. My only gripe was the beds are proper uncomfortable, felt like I was sleeping on a table. Beside that, rooms were clean and staff very courteous and friendly. The hotel is also walking distance from several restaurants (jsut note that food in general is quite expensive in Barbados)

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrianR_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean15Barbados, Public Relations Manager at Ocean 15 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Thanks for your review of Ocean 15!
Please note that if you booked via Expedia, the service charge included in the total room cost is payable not to Expedia but upon check-in (as per the terms published by Expedia).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

43 - 49 of 181 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2014

If your looking for a small hotel close to everything, Ocean 15 is worth checking out. While the rooms are somewhat dated, plenty of water - showers roomy with plenty of hot water, rooms are clean and well equipt, lovely Cafe on site. Within 5 - 10 minute walk to Gap night life, 2 minute walk to beach.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean15Barbados, Public Relations Manager at Ocean 15 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Short and sweet! Thanks for staying with us and I hope that you will reconsider us on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We have rented a villa in Barbados for the last four years. This year we could not get the villa on the date of our flight and needed accommodations for the Saturday night in March. I did a lot of searching on line - hotels seem to be all over in price in Barbados. We settled on a 2 bedroom unit at Ocean 15 so that we could start the vacation staying in one unit, as we would be doing in the villa.

I was worried as I found the staff to be uncommunicative on the phone and on line (no response to my email at all) but I booked through hotels.com, paid a deposit of approximately $35 US about 3 months prior to our travel. My concerns were about parking and noise in St. Lawrence Gap.

Everything was as advertised. We paid approximately $300 US for the room, which had two bedrooms with 2 queen beds (beds pushed together), two bathrooms and a galley kitchen. I wouldn't want to spend much time in the kitchen - no window, etc. but it would be fine for storing breakfast and lunch items. It appears the hotel has only two 2-bedroom suites. This one was located across from the garbage area, very small window with no view at all, on the main floor. Of course we are comparing this hotel to the villa that we went to the next day which has three bedrooms, a huge, bright kitchen and a private pool at under $200/night. That's the route to go!

The property was clean enough and there was only two other couples there that we could see. I would definitely try to improve on this rate. It's a great area and parking was not an issue.

My only complaint is that on Sunday morning we went for a walk on the beach and then returned to sit by the pool until check out. There's a coffee bar (expensive) at the property. Someone was in the restaurant which is on the other side of the pool and they were watching a sporting event on tv full blast. It was so loud that you couldn't read or relax. I thought that it was odd to be accommodating one visitor in the restaurant rather than the people who had paid for the hotel for the night. I mentioned this when we left.

We didn't eat at the hotel and we noticed there were not a lot of places to purchase food nearby. The one small store we saw was expensive and the food did not look fresh at all. If you did your research, you could probably get a better room at this property, at a better rate.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toronto_Tourist17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean15Barbados, Public Relations Manager at Ocean 15 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Thanks ever so much for your appraisal of your stay with us.
If yo do visit again, please ensure that you let the front desk know of any discomfort before you leave. I hope that you enjoyed your full stay on the island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

This was a very quick overnight visit before flying off to The Grenadines, however the room was spacious and clean and the wifi was good. There is a very pleasant café/bar onsite and the breakfast was good value and served quickly. Service is friendly and the hotel is well located for budget minded travelers visiting Barbados as it’s near The Gap and also the beach, even though no on the beach.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mike_Savereux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean15Barbados, Public Relations Manager at Ocean 15 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Thanks for your review - very useful and to the point.
I hope that you got in a visit to the beach which is just 2/3 minutes walk from your room.
See you next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

This small hotel was just what we looked for.
Clean and spacious rooms with self catering facilities. Good shower.
Friendly and helpful staff.
A café bar on site.
A bar on site with major sports events shown and some evening things such as karaoke.
Small but quiet swimming pool with chairs and parasols.
5 minutes walk to beautiful Dover beach.(Not to be mistaken with Dover Beach Hotel private beach/Turtle bay resort private beach as different)
5 minutes walk to Dover mart small supermarket which also has take away food.
10 minutes by bus from main road to larger supermarkets.
10 minutes walk to the main road for buses to Bridgetown one way and Oistins the other way.
Or use local white buses for 2 US dollar trips into Bridgetown.
20 minutes by taxi approx. cost 20 US dollars to the Port and the same in the other direction for the Airport.
I don't want to raise any negatives (instead later will make some comments) as we chose to come back to this hotel when our cruise ship disembarked us at 9am and we had a later flight home. We were able to pay a day rate of 60 US dollars which gave us a room, towels and beach towels and a place to shower later and store our luggage.

For a no frills apart/hotel if in Barbados again I would stay here as provides all you need plus good location too.

Comments:

Clearly bed linen is laundered on site as although clean was not as crisp as expected and a bit tired.
Drink/food prices was a few dollars here and there higher than expected although do understand smaller hotels have to try to make some profit.
As two women we would have liked some more drawers and probably had we asked we would have been given them.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cbarny9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean15Barbados, Public Relations Manager at Ocean 15 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Thanks for staying with us and thanks so much for your detailed review which I'm sure will be very helpful too other visitors.
We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We must say how much we enjoyed our stay at ocean 15 ! The staff were very cheerful and couldn't do enough for us ! The room was very comfortable and very clean ! Pool was cleaned every day and not over crowded ! The jazz band on the Thursday was excellent ! Would def recommend to anyone !

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Jackie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean15Barbados, Public Relations Manager at Ocean 15 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

So glad that you enjoyed staying with us. That Jazz band is awesome, isn't it?
See you next trip to Barbados.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We arrived the evening of 7th Mar 2014 and after we unpacked made our way to the bar. Karaoke was in full swing. We had heard that this can go on late but had checked with the hotel prior to travelling and was assured that it finished at midnight. Well the Karaoke might have but music continued to blast out until 2am which kept us awake after a long day. Having said that, every other evening during our stay was quiet and often we returned after dinner to find the bar shut at 10:30pm. Maxwell and Dover beaches are within easy walking distance (5mins max). The Dover Market and ATM are just a couple of hundred metres along Dover Road. Taxis are easy to get, Victor is often stationed outside the gate. During the day around the pool is very relaxing. On an evening a 10 to 15mins walk gets you to plenty of bars and restaurants along the Gap. The staff are friendly and very helpful. We stayed in room 8 which had a good sized bedroom, lounge area & kitchenette. Would we stay again = yes.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freddie777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean15Barbados, Public Relations Manager at Ocean 15 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Did we love having you? = YES! Thanks for staying with us and do visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Lawrence Gap
0.1 mi away
Dover Beach Hotel
Dover Beach Hotel
#3 of 4 in Dover
660 reviews
0.3 mi away
Infinity on the Beach
0.1 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Rostrevor Hotel
Rostrevor Hotel
#5 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
625 reviews
0.8 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
340 reviews
1.1 mi away
Coral Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean 15 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean 15 Hotel

Address: Dover Gardens, St. Lawrence Gap 15028, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > St. Lawrence Gap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Specialty Lodging in St. Lawrence Gap
Price Range: $98 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean 15 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean15 is a family owned property offering traditional Barbadian warmth and hospitality. Recently refurbished, the hotel offers sixteen (16) impeccably furnished, luxury lifestyle rooms reflecting fine Barbadian decor, simple elegance and comfort. It is an excellently appointed facility designed to embrace families and business travelers, the adventurist or the individual looking for solitude. We are less than 5 minutes walking distance from the white sand and turquoise waters of Dover Beach and are located in the center of the renowned St Lawrence Gap, famous for its lively night life, wide variety of restaurants and bars and duty-free shopping. Within the Barbadian context, where luxury high end hotels are typically located on the West Coast of the island, the hotel has been described as "a West Coast experience on the South Coast." As such, we live up to our maxim "De Luxe for Less!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Ocean 15 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean 15 Hotel Barbados/St. Lawrence Gap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing