We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wow sunsets” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moonbay Bar & Grill - CLOSED

Moonbay Bar & Grill
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Bar, International, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“wow sunsets”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Situated near the entrance to the Gap under the Yellow Bird Hotel, Michael the owner / manager? Very entertaining and friendly. Dine inside or by the small swimming pool with amazing sunset views. The burgers are brilliant, the plates so loaded we couldn't finish it all, good cocktails and reasonable prices.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank 818maggiem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    37
    12
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the yellow bird hotel right next door so had breakfast here every morning.
The staff are so friendly and couldn't do enough for us. Would definitely recommend moonbay. The cocktails are fantastic and the food is good! We couldn't have had a better time and will be returning as soon as we can.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SJMoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darrington
Level Contributor
77 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Tasty food, good location, atmosphere improved!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

On the entrance to The Gap from B'town.
Looking out to the very newly refurbished small beach and lovely 'prom' and steps - a Great location to watch the sunset!
Well- presented thin crust pizza. Burger was, well, a burger!
Perhaps too many over moist additions on top - onion, tomatoes, salad - on a fairly small plate - perhaps I should have asked for this to be separate and I'm sure they would have obliged but reviewing the meal as served, was an ordinary but not special hot burger.
May sound a tad picky but several restaurants on and near The Gap advertise imaginative variations on 'the burger in a bun!' ( haven't checked to see if their burgers live up to their PR!)
Staff were friendly and quite attentive.
With a couple of happy hour drinks it was a reasonable price.
Only one other table occupied when we arrived but to be fair it did slowly fill.
Good timing always helps when visiting a restaurant for the first time but perhaps burger gourmets may find 'burger happiness' elsewhere?
Pizza gourmets, however, should be fine!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pontefract
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario,
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“lovely space, delicious food, great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

it was great, and reasonable...and the staff is very eager to please and lovely to get along with...we went twice, as we were craving pizza, and their pizza has a lovely little dollap of salad on the top, the way we serve it at home, so I liked that...we ordered "buckets of beer" which is not on the menu, but was the way that we were drinking them the week before at Surfers Bay and Steve recognized us and allowed the same service...it was greatly appreciated and enjoyed by all, the cerviche was excellent too ...thank you again Steve and your staff...and your lovely daughter of course for entertaining our nephew...built in entertainment ! xo

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MountGayOntario_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Brook, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great meal, lovely view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

My husband and I had a wonderful dinner here. The view of the pool and the bay across the street can't be beat--only sorry we arrived after dark and missed seeing the sunset. The restaurant was virtually empty, which was truly a mystery to us, since the food was terrific, but it was also a plus for us, since the waitress and the manager (who was tending the bar as well) were both terrifically friendly and had time to chat. We learned much about the island from them. Service was great. The bartender even called his girlfriend to find out the right proportions when I asked for a drink he didn't happen to know. (By the way, it was the best BBC I've ever had!) Service in general on Barbados can be mindnumbingly slow, so this was a refreshing change...each course came out almost as soon as the last was finished, yet everything felt relaxed. We'll definitely be back next time we come to the island.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gretchen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moonbay Bar & Grill also viewed

St. Lawrence Gap, Christ Church Parish
St. Lawrence Gap, Christ Church Parish
 
St. Lawrence Gap, Christ Church Parish
St. Lawrence Gap, Christ Church Parish
 
St. Lawrence Gap, Christ Church Parish
St. Lawrence Gap, Christ Church Parish
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing