We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely space, delicious food, great service”
Review of Moonbay Bar & Grill - CLOSED

Moonbay Bar & Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Ontario,
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“lovely space, delicious food, great service”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

it was great, and reasonable...and the staff is very eager to please and lovely to get along with...we went twice, as we were craving pizza, and their pizza has a lovely little dollap of salad on the top, the way we serve it at home, so I liked that...we ordered "buckets of beer" which is not on the menu, but was the way that we were drinking them the week before at Surfers Bay and Steve recognized us and allowed the same service...it was greatly appreciated and enjoyed by all, the cerviche was excellent too ...thank you again Steve and your staff...and your lovely daughter of course for entertaining our nephew...built in entertainment ! xo

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MountGayOntario_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    37
    12
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stony Brook, New York
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great meal, lovely view”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

My husband and I had a wonderful dinner here. The view of the pool and the bay across the street can't be beat--only sorry we arrived after dark and missed seeing the sunset. The restaurant was virtually empty, which was truly a mystery to us, since the food was terrific, but it was also a plus for us, since the waitress and the manager (who was tending the bar as well) were both terrifically friendly and had time to chat. We learned much about the island from them. Service was great. The bartender even called his girlfriend to find out the right proportions when I asked for a drink he didn't happen to know. (By the way, it was the best BBC I've ever had!) Service in general on Barbados can be mindnumbingly slow, so this was a refreshing change...each course came out almost as soon as the last was finished, yet everything felt relaxed. We'll definitely be back next time we come to the island.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gretchen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastham, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
338 reviews
215 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Really good breakfast”
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

We had breakfast here one morning and the food was really good. Excellent pancakes and French toast and the sausages were some of the best I ever had, really large, crisp on the outside and tasty. Our waitress was very friendly and the service was fine with a nice view over the water. I would definitely go back.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank psmilsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Favourite lunchtime place.”
Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

Rate this very highly. Location looking onto bay fab. Staff very good. Food is excellent for a wee break out the sun. Defo recommend.

Helpful?
Thank LSDavidson64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good food, bar, service”
Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

Everyone will tell you to go to Cafe Sol next door, but I'd go here instead. Worth eating here for a couple of reasons. Bajan food can get pretty heavy. They have a decent fish ceviche that fulfilled my yen for lighter fare. Fish of the day was delicious, traditional but surprisingly accompanied with lightly grilled veggies (though I wish the serving of veggies was larger). Bartender made me a lovely mix of Mt. Gay and seltzer water with a little lime, as I was getting burned out on rum punch and girly drinks. Gorgeous setting, especially when the construction on "the gap" is done. Great wait and bar service all round and prices consistent with the area.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DrRiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moonbay Bar & Grill also viewed

St. Lawrence Gap, Christ Church Parish
St. Lawrence Gap, Christ Church Parish
 
St. Lawrence Gap, Christ Church Parish
St. Lawrence Gap, Christ Church Parish
 
St. Lawrence Gap, Christ Church Parish
St. Lawrence Gap, Christ Church Parish
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing