We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic restaurant, great location, amazing food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chez Max - CLOSED

Chez Max
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $60
Cuisines: European, French, Caribbean, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Waitstaff
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Romantic restaurant, great location, amazing food!”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

My husband and I were looking for a restaurant in St. Lawrence Gap and stumbled upon Chez Max. What a great find!

Atmosphere is fantastic, right on the beach, very romantic ambiance.

Great service, attentive waitstaff but not at all pushy.

The food was the best meal we had in Barbados. As we found out after the meal, the chef, Max Benz, was the executive chef at 5 St. James resorts, then started his own restaurant here. It's now a family-run operation, which we very much want to support. It's relatively new so not so busy, which I hope and expect will change very soon. Definitely worth a visit--highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank qtime24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    54
    32
    17
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Just eaten a Chez Max this restaurant was recommended to us. The service was a bit slow, I think they were a little short staffed but the chef was amazing. Great location at the entrance to the Gap, great waterfront dining. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Barry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
79 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Best in the Gap”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Found this restaurant by chance, but what a great find. Entrance does not reveal what is behind the facade. Nice friendly welcome, followed by being shown to a nice table looking out on the sea. My family were all tired, which was a shame as the food was excellent. I had a fabulous monkfish dish and my wife had the mahe mahe which she described as spectacular. A very romantic atmosphere and by far and away the best restaurant on The Gap.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Ringo1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
71 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice little resturant”
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Well worth a visit if staying in St Lawrence. Doesn't pretend to be more than it is, very friendly owner and staff. Note to owner. May be worth changing trip advisor location to St Lawrence rather than Bridgetown as doesn't come up if you search for St Lawrence Resturants.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Magsmcneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Lawrence Gap, Barbados
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent meal. Very tasty meal, lovely presentation”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I am a BarBadian and have eaten in many of our local restaurants. Chez Max has replaced David's on St. Lawrence Main Road, and its singular drawback is crossing the road when using their car park. Once safely across expect an excellent meal. Yes the servers are or seem to lack confidence in their approach to customers but as the restaurant's reputation for good food spreads so will their confidence. There 4 of us. We each had a different entrée and we were all very complementary. I finished with plain ordinary fruit salad for desert, I passed on the vanilla ice cream - the mixture was extensive and the dish substantial. Definitely not 2 pieces of cantaloupe, some water melon and apple chips complete with skin. I recommend Chez Max for a fine meal!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Max also viewed

Christ Church Parish, Barbados
St. Lawrence Gap, Christ Church Parish
 
St. Lawrence Gap, Christ Church Parish
Hastings, Christ Church Parish
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing