We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth it”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of South Gap Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
South Gap Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Well worth it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2006

We stayed at the South Gap hotel April 6 to 13, 2006.
Almost all the reviews here have been good to the hotel but I'll cover a few points. The room could be brightened up a bit with a few pictures on the walls and a skillet would have been nice.
There are no carpets. Most everywhere in Barbados has tiled floors and twin beds are the norm for hotels. Hydro costs a lot of money so any hotel with air conditioning is going to be more money. That is a point we learnt from the last time we were there as some places charge more money for the AC. There is tv with a good selection of channels but no inroom movies. The room safe has a charge but you can leave things in the reception safe for just a fraction of the cost. Reception has stamps and you can leave mail there. No postcards but you can get them just about anywhere including a lot of free ones and since you are in the Gap itself you don't have to walk far to find some. Local phonecalls are free from the room phone. There were no filters for the coffee maker so I bought some and left them in the cupboard. The kitchen is well equiped but again, there was no skillet. I looked but average price was 40 bajan. We improvised and did fine or I would have bought one and left it there too. If you are going to leave a tip for housekeeping leave a note. We noticed any money left would not be touched unless it had a note. The rooms were cleaned everyday and she does a wonderfull job.
Room also comes with tea towels so you can wash dishes. We brought some dishsoap with us but any dishes we forgot about were cleaned when we came back. They didn't have to do this.
OK that out of the way...

We had room 121 and it was prepared for us.There was a crib in the bedroom and a single bed in the livingroom. Sofa was placed on the balcony for us. Nice touch to have a livingroom outside for morning coffee and play area for the kids. We could be wrong but maybe we had some envy from other patrons.
We never really used the bed but it was nice to help put our 18 month old to sleep while we watched a bit of tv. The balcony, they are all the same size which we thought different when we booked online. Let's just say they are big enough to hold a ratan sofa, coffee table and 2 cottage style chairs.

Kitchen cabinets were hand built, we watched the guys building some. They were also building simple bedside tables.
Looks like as a room is empty for a few days or week they go in and redo it. kitchen cabinets, crown molding everywhere and closet all looked handbuilt. It looks as only about half the rooms had the new style french doors to the balcony and the rest had older style patio doors. I'm guessing pretty soon the entire hotel will be renovated at the speed these 2 guys were building.

Pool was great. Crabs walking the pooldeck in the mornings. This was great for picture taking and was a great experience for our kids who had never seen them. Some have mentioned pool was never busy but that was great too. There were always people there.

The Flying Fish restaurant was awsome. Simple decor but the food was great although we only had a few meals there. Make a note if you're going to order a basket of fries you might want to share it. Massive portion. Breakfast is great and so are the prices. Get the pancakes you won't be dissapointed.

We read a few reviews that didn't seem to make sence. The second and third floor hallways are outside and the vents above the door and the windows might be what allows street noise in at night. We didn't have that as rooms 118 to 121 are in an enclosed hallway. The only part letting in noise is a small window in the bedroom but we drowned that out with just the ceiling fan.
Room 121 is above the bar yet we heard no noise. Next door to our room is Harlequin's, another bar. Still, never a noise. We did listen to some pretty bad kareoke one night. Just the direction of the wind, it's the only night we actually heard it. The sound of the water is more pronounced and peacefull. By the way, drunk people can't sing...yours truly included.

Another review mentioned the police caravan/trailer parked outfront. The gap is very busy at night. As a tourist I am happier to know there is police protection if you need it. Shouldn't be an issue if it's a trailer or a building or where it is so I am throwing in a picture because no other review had one and the one that mentioned it could be misleading. I thought it was in the hotel parking lot.

There was a mouthwatering smell that eminated to our room at night was nothing short of unbelievable. I finally had enough one night and went on the hunt. There are 2 BBQ's outside. One at the entrance to the hotel parking lot is a good old charcol and the one across the street by the ship in is propane. Had to get some food from each to narrow it down to which one was causing the smell. It was the closer one. Awsome BBQ sauce and good prices. Try it!

There is a Royal Bank across the street so an ATM/ABM. A convenience store/ mini supermarket just 2 hotels down. We were buying anything from beer to groceries and produce and even a pack of diapers when we were running out. However, just leave the gap and turn left. A quick 5 minutes down the road in a ZR bus you are at the supermarkets, 2 of them, and bought some fresh chicken to cook up in the oven back at the hotel and picked up some wine and vodka coolers for my wife.

All in all, don't be afraid to book there, you will be happy. We met people who come here yearly. Staff will remember you and always smile and talk with you. We've prerequested the same room next time we go back. We were both very happy there and will return. Our 4 year old also didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank planetype
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    281
    90
    29
    13
See reviews for
76
357
66
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2006

My friend and I stayed at the South Gap hotel in March. As the other reviews say you are in the heart of the Gap where it all happens.

The hotel staff are lovely, make you feel very welcome and are more than happy to assist. Our room was ideal. Clean, tidy, well stocked kitchen and large fridge. Air con and a ceiling fan, radio and TV. Basically everything you need, including the view which is of the ocean.

You can't access the beach from the hotel, but for us this wasn't a problem and was nice to choose. There are a couple of beaches only a couple of minutes walk away, and both have good facilities.

I would go back to the South Gap in preference to an all inclusive resort. It's a good value for money hotel and you'll have fun, if that's what you want.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Louisa936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2006

Myself and my partner stayed at South Gap for 10 nights and can honestly say it was fantastic, the staff we're great from day one, very friendly and helpful and helped make it a holiday to remember. The location is perfect, the happy hours are extremely good and the setting is beautiful.

I booked using the online service and had no problems whatsoever. Thanks to everyone there and we will see you soon!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2006

Great Hotel! Clean, curteous and really fun area! Free rum and punch when you arrive was the perfect way to set the island tone...Walked to reastuarants and highly recommend going to Oistins for the fish fry!! We started our trip here and then flew to Bequia to sail for a week on a catamaran.....

The restaurant and bar overlook the pool area and the ocean......Good food and friendly people....

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow, scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2006

me and my 3 friends stayed here in march 06 for 1 week. We loved the hotel and location of it. The staff were so nice and friendly, and went out of their way to make our stay so special. We stayed in barbados in december 05 but at another hotel, but we prefered staying at the south gap. I would definately recommend this hotel to my friends. Looking forward to seeing all our friends that we met the last time we were here

Stayed March 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank Calgel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2006

Hotel is perfect for the good times in Barbados.. You are right in the hear of the Gap so its all in walking distance.. That was exactly what we wanted as we spent a fortune on taxis the last time. View is lovely.. Rooms totally fine, TV mini kitchen - really great money's worth !! Beach 5 mins walk depending on which one you fancy.. Local shop down the road.. Food in the restaurant was nice too.. Did not spend a lot of time at the pool as there was not a lot going on.. You can hear the music at the beginning of the night from the clubs accross the road but really that did not bother us ! All in all if I was going back and money was tight I would stay here again for the ease of everything close by and the value of the room.. Remember its not the Hilton and you will not be dissappointed !!!

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2006

I've been a travel agent for 17years and have stayed in many many hotels. Mostly very luxury properties,but with all the beautiful things I heard about Barbados,I thought ok we will try something more value. As soon as we arrived we felt a heart felt welcome from the smile that the front desk agent gave us along with all the information she provide to make our stay as smooth as possible. When we got to our room it was very very cozy and had an excellant view and nice balcony that I could sit on all day if I wanted. Then we were off to the bar..yeah my favortie place and when we got there we started making small talk with the friendly bartender (cute/sweet girl..gosh..I forgot her name..needless to say she made good drinks)who we became friends with and she suggested great places for us to dine and party and we took her up on it. We only stayed 2 nights at this hotel and then went to another hotel only to wish we would have stayed put. This hotel was awesome..the rooms were great/view was spectacular/and the location couldnt been better. We will indeed make this our first choice when we go back!!

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Lawrence Gap
0.1 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,958 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rostrevor Hotel
Rostrevor Hotel
#5 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
0.7 mi away
Dover Beach Hotel
Dover Beach Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dover
4.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
1.4 mi away
Butterfly Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Gap Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Gap Hotel

Property: South Gap Hotel
Address: St. Lawrence Gap | Christ Church, St. Lawrence Gap BB15020, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > St. Lawrence Gap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in St. Lawrence Gap
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. Lawrence Gap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — South Gap Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This delightful three star boutique style hotel is situated on the south coast of Barbados, 7 miles from the airport and only 5 miles from the island's capital, Bridgetown. Located in the very popular and lively St Lawrence Gap, it is within walking distance of the bars, restaurants and nightclubs. Just a few yards away, the stunning Dover Beach offers a serene and peaceful contrast for those wanting to relax during the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, seekda GmbH, Hotwire, Priceline, West Indies, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your South Gap Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel South Gap
South Gap Christ Church
South Gap Hotel Barbados/St. Lawrence Gap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing