We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, basic budget hotel with caring staff”
Review of South Gap Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
South Gap Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 22, 2014

While US$175/night may seem like a fair amount in other cities, in Barbados during high season it doesn't get you much more than a basic room which was good enough for us as we spent little time at the property.

What we got for our money was nonetheless a very comfortable bed with good pillows, caring staff, incredible views of the turquoise sea and a convenient location for getting around the island. It is also handy that the room comes with a fridge, kitchenette and utensils as food in Barbados is very expensive for mediocre quality, so it turned out to be a blessing that we were able to keep a few basics on hand and eat take out which we did quite a bit. It should also be mentioned that the cleaning staff do an excellent and thorough job.

As others have pointed out the noise at night can be a problem here so take care and ask questions when booking. There are a number of repeat guests here so evidently it isn't a problem for many people but we asked for a quiet room nonetheless. Though we ended up in a room facing the water on the same floor as reception , we could hear the karaoke playing til 2-3am. It didn't bother us (I used earplugs) but I could see how it would be a problem for others in which case you need to stay further down the Gap away from the bars/restaurants.

The hotel doesn't have a beach but guests are permitted to go through the hotel next door to access their small strip of beach, or better still the very excellent Dover Beach is just a few minutes walk away. There is a swimming pool on the terrace next to the bar which is very pleasant but I would ask the hotel to do as other properties and put up the signs asking guests not to dump their towels on a lounger and then leave it there to mark their "property".

This was the only fault at South Gap Hotel and this sort of inconsiderate behaviour was rife: an empty pool, empty bar and empty terrace yet more than half the loungers "taken" by those who had left their towels to make sure no one else used it. Since so many South Gap guests lack basic manners it is unfortunately up to the hotel to ensure that their limited number of loungers are not used up in this manner.

Room Tip: Room 115-118 facing the water are, relatively speaking, more quiet at night but you'll still hea...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank singleminded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (767)
There are newer reviews for South Gap Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

277 - 283 of 767 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay very much. Location excellent and our view from the balcony stunning. The room was well equiped and comfortable beds. Good pool. Very nice helpful staff.We would come here again and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Halfpenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Lovely hotel , wonderful staff and a view to die for.
Then 9pm arrives and you are overwhelmed by noise from the bar opposite ! It's like trying to sleep in the middle of a nightclub and this goes on till 3am EVERY morning ! After 8 nights I got moved to the 1st floor for my last 2 nights where the noise was minimal!
If you want to get to sleep before 3am ENSURE you get a room on the ground or first floor. You have been warned !

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lozscott71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

we have just returned from one of the best holidays that we have ever had, we stayed 10 days in this little gem of a hotel,it is central to all the gap has to offer, the staff are amazing and our room was fantastic, for the price you cannot go wrong, the pool area was gorgeous and the view was spectacular, will defo be going back, thanks to all at south gap.

Room Tip: we were in 112, the ground floor is quieter than the upper floors
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bugsy918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We stayed at the South Gap Feb/March this year, the location could not be better, right in the middle of the Gap with all it’s bars and restaurants and a short walk to Worthing beach one way or Dover Beach in the other direction. Yes the hotel is looking a little bit dated but is spotlessly clean and the rooms are perfectly adequate and well equipped for long or short stays, any problems are quickly sorted out with the minimum of fuss and the view from all rooms is quite spectacular. What makes this hotel really special is the staff, cleaners, maintenance and especially the receptionists, you could not wish to meet a more friendly and helpful group of people especially Rose on reception she worked wonders booking restaurants, trips etc. The pool is quite large considering the number of rooms and we never had a problem getting sun beds, we tried to time getting back from the beach to coincide with happy hour followed by a quick dip in the pool, nice way to finish the day.

Now the down side, yes it does get noisy at night, if you are a light sleeper it may cause problems the hotel has no control over the noise made by other establishments, some guests used ear plugs, we just shut the bathroom door and opened the balcony doors and fell asleep to the sound of the waves a few drinks also helped.

Barbados is a beautiful island with the friendliest people you could wish to meet, we used local transport quite often, it’s a cheap and easy way to get around and the locals are happy to help if you get lost. We will almost certainly return to this beautiful island and when we do the South Gap would be our hotel of choice.

Room Tip: rooms on first or ground floor may be quieter
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Al+Lyn-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

My husband and I stayed here during the first week in March 2014- the room was great, well maintained and always clean. the view was fantastic and each room has an ocean view. the location is unbeatable and of course, the free parking helps. the receptionists were very accommodating and kind. the in-room kitchenette was furnished with just the right equipment. recommended. we were not bothered by any noise.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SanjanaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I came to Barbados for our 20th Anniversary and had a wonderful time. They are very friendly and helpful and had a bottle of champagne waiting for us on arrival. The hotel is in the center of the Island's nightlife with great food and drink options. The restaurant is very good and inexpensive-and the view from the balcony is incredible. The music from outside permeates the room, but it is not too bad if you keep the window in br closed and a towel by the door. Honestly the first night I noticed it, but it was never an issue. This is a great value without sacrificing any service or innemities.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Lawrence Gap
0.1 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
331 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rostrevor Hotel
Rostrevor Hotel
#5 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
619 reviews
0.4 mi away
Infinity on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,082 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dover Beach Hotel
Dover Beach Hotel
#3 of 4 in Dover
649 reviews
2.0 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Gap Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Gap Hotel

Address: St. Lawrence Gap | Christ Church, St. Lawrence Gap BB15020, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > St. Lawrence Gap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in St. Lawrence Gap
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. Lawrence Gap
Price Range: $114 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — South Gap Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This delightful three star boutique style hotel is situated on the south coast of Barbados, 7 miles from the airport and only 5 miles from the island's capital, Bridgetown. Located in the very popular and lively St Lawrence Gap, it is within walking distance of the bars, restaurants and nightclubs. Just a few yards away, the stunning Dover Beach offers a serene and peaceful contrast for those wanting to relax during the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, West Indies, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your South Gap Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel South Gap
South Gap Christ Church
South Gap Hotel Barbados/St. Lawrence Gap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing