We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay - But you get what you pay for!”
Review of South Gap Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
South Gap Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, England
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay - But you get what you pay for!”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Only just got around to writing a short review for South Gap.

Stayed here for the Kadooment / crop over festival August 2012.

The hotel is in a great location if you are young and looking for a base from which to party from. It has plenty of small shops, bars and resturants near by.

The lovely Dover beach is at the end of the road, 10 mins walk away. and Accra beach is about 10 mins drive away.

The rooms were basic but clean and had everything you could need. The best rooms to get are the lower ones as they are more enclosed and have sea views. The higher up ones get more noise and could be facing the road side.

The resturant / Bar within the hotel was good value and nice.

The swimming pool area was clean and had plenty of sunbeds.

Overall, for a cheap hotel in a great location, this is a great value hotel for young people who dont mind noise every night.

However, if you are someone who likes to get their sleep on holiday, are a family with children, have trouble climbing loads of stairs (or the elderly) or a couple whos not looking to be up all night partying - then spend abit more money and stay in a hotel on the beach or at least away from the loud bars. (Ocean two / southern palms / turtle beach).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jade-Cook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    283
    90
    29
    13
See reviews for
76
359
66
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We love everything about South Gap! Professional, helpful and friendly staff.
The rooms are very clean and have a wonderful seaview from all balconies! Perfect location with Dover beach, 5 and all restaurants within 5 min.

Christina & Johan

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joppan02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in march 2013. I had booked this hotel for the price and the location, and we were glad we did. once we arrived we were told we were upgraded to a one bedroom apartment. The room was very clean and spacious, with a small kitchen. It has an Amazing view from the balcony. Staff are very friendly, ZOLA was our favourite receptionist, she looked after us very well, and helped us with all the info we needed.

The location is brilliant, We had chosen the gap as its the most lively area in Barbados so we had expected the loud music from close by bars. There are lots of restaurants close by and locals are very friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend this hotel and I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kiki112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee-on-the-Solent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed at this lovely hotel for 3 weeks. Was most impressed with the cleanliness of the rooms. The housekeeping staff were really on the ball. The complete bedding including the bedspread were clean with each new arrival, also the small mats at the side of the beds! There was a noise issue from the bar over the road, but you could request a quiet room on the first floor. We had one of those and although you could hear the music, it didn't disturb you, you only heard it if you woke up. My husband and I are in our 70's and found that we were able to have breakfast and sometimes lunch prepared in our apartment with the small kitchen. There is a small convenience store about 5 minutes walk down the road which provides most of the day to day items. There were 2 beaches that you could walk to, one about 10 minutes and the other about 15 minutes, both lovely sand with sun beds etc.
The hotel is not 5* but is clean, convenient and in a wonderful location with plenty of places to eat in all price ranges within easy walking distance and the staff are lovely and friendly and are willing to go the extra mile to help you.
We even saw turtles from our balcony!

Room Tip: The rooms behind the reception area on the first floor are the quieter ones. Also the ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie-Hants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

If from your holiday you want fantastic service, with nothing being too much trouble, amazing views, comfortable studios which are fully equipped with all necessary equipement this is the hotel for you . The hotel is located in the heart of St Lawrence Gap so you dont have to go far to see the entertainment

My husband and I have never met such wonderful and happy staff with there sole purpose is to make your holiday as special and memorable as possible.
Not just the beautiful Annalees and Rose on the front desk but the wonderfully happy and kind domestic staff too.

After just returning from our second visit to South Gap Hotel I can most definately say that will not be our last.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We have stayed here in Feb of 2011 and again feb 3013 for two weeks each time The location can't be beat - right on water side and also within walking distance of many restaurants and bars. Also, Dover beach - one of the nicest just five minutes walk up the road. This hotel is super clean and the staff is friendly and accommodating to say the least. The place feels like home and that is why we keep coming back. Lots of guests return year after year so that speaks for itself. We just love this place - it is older but much nicer than the big hotels. It has its own little restauant as well where we enjoyed all of our breakfasts and lunch and dinner is available as well. A wonderful little bar is poolside as well. Perfect for 2 for one drinks at Happy Hour!!! Cecile , the manager is a gem and cannot do enough for her guests!!! Free WiFi is nice as well. So come and see for yourself!!!!!

Room Tip: The suites on pool deck are perfect and quiet. The ones with balconies which all of the others hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BLONDIE60Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West London
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Booked last minute through one of the airlines and what a little gem. Despite the acknowledged noise, in both advertising and this site, from a "car park disco" opposite, this hotel lived up to the advertising. Every room is guaranteed an ocean view and what a view. The noise was a concern and as indicated in other reviews goes on until around 3 every morning but, like everything you get used to it and we were only really disturbed by it on one night. Kareoke nights are the worst, rather than the disco nights but everything else about the island blanks it out. Take the risk as you will find a great result.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TW15EXILE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Lawrence Gap
0.1 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
319 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rostrevor Hotel
Rostrevor Hotel
#5 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
618 reviews
0.4 mi away
Infinity on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,052 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dover Beach Hotel
Dover Beach Hotel
#3 of 4 in Dover
640 reviews
2.0 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Gap Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Gap Hotel

Property: South Gap Hotel
Address: St. Lawrence Gap | Christ Church, St. Lawrence Gap BB15020, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > St. Lawrence Gap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in St. Lawrence Gap
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. Lawrence Gap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — South Gap Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This delightful three star boutique style hotel is situated on the south coast of Barbados, 7 miles from the airport and only 5 miles from the island's capital, Bridgetown. Located in the very popular and lively St Lawrence Gap, it is within walking distance of the bars, restaurants and nightclubs. Just a few yards away, the stunning Dover Beach offers a serene and peaceful contrast for those wanting to relax during the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, West Indies, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your South Gap Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel South Gap
South Gap Christ Church
South Gap Hotel Barbados/St. Lawrence Gap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing