We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Smiles and sea views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of South Gap Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
South Gap Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Smiles and sea views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

First of all, I'll start by addressing the main issue that other reviewers have had about this hotel - the noise.

The hotel is set across the road from 2 loud bars. The carpark bar does karaoke from around 10pm to 3am. Then there's a club called Sugar, which plays house pretty loud until a similar time.

The noise is loud. You can hear it through the walls at night. But it's not going to ruin your holiday. I get woken up really easily at home, but I managed to fall asleep pretty easily and slept through the noise. I had some wax earplugs and I didn't have any nights of really restless sleep.

The noise shouldn't stop you from staying here. The staff at this hotel are wonderful. They make you feel so at home and the things they say confirm that you're in paradise.

The views from the balconies are hard to beat. They are literally metres from a sea that's 50 shades of blue.

You couldn't ask for much more from the rooms. The kitchens comes with everything you could need - from twin set ice cube trays to a candle for the balcony. The cleaners are meticulous, too.Ours even did our washing up for us.

The hotel is really safe. We left all our valuables in the room every day. It would have been easy to pocket an iPhone for example, but they were perfectly protected. The staff are very honest.

The pool is lovely. Big enough to do laps. Plus, I hardly ever had to share it with another swimmer, so you feel like you've got your own pool.

The rum punch served in the bar ranks among the best in St Lawrence Gap. And the food was pretty spot on too. Everything seems to be made from scratch, even the coleslaw.

Noise or no noise, I'd recommend this hotel to a friend. Just take some wax earplugs and have a rum punch before bed and you'll sleep like a baby regardless.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sazzle014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    255
    78
    26
    14
See reviews for
68
326
56
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I stayed here in Feb 2013, it's a good basic hotel, clean, staff were friendly and helpful. I had breakfast twice OK and reasonably priced. Only downside, was the karaoke bar across the road, goes on till about 2.30/3am. The manager assures me they have quiet rooms on the ground floor where you can't hear it! So if you book, try and get one of those! The rooms have air-con which is good! I stayed in a superior room which had a balcony and a beautiful view of the sea. 20 min ride to Bridgetown; 2 Bajan dollars. I would stay there again; in a quiet room!

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ros L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph
Level Contributor
49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I have stayed here a few times now and can't wait to go back Staff is very friendly and helpful and accommodating. Rooms are clean and beds are comfortable kitchenette very well equipped. The pool area is awesome and kept well maintained. I would recommend this place for sure. South Gap Hotel at St Lawrence Gap is the place to stay the view is amazing from the balcony. It is a real dream location.

Room Tip: All the rooms I have stayed in are awesome but I prefer 2nd floor. You get used to the loud music
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CLR50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I had an amazing stay at the South Gap Hotel. I chose to stay at the hotel after much
deliberation and reading countless Trip Advisor reviews. I was very pleased. The staff was very accommodating, helpful and friendly. The room was ready and clean upon my arrival and service was provided daily. I would definitely stay at the South Gap Hotel again.

Room Tip: I stayed in a Superior studio on the 3rd fl. I had no issues with noise from the surrounding clubs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NatiSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

South Gap Hotel in St. Lawrence Gap is a truly wonderful place. The lookout is towards the sea, so you can take in the beautiful waves coming in if you decide to lay out on the deck. Our room was on the ocean-side near the pool. The restaurant onsite serves fantastic food - we had at least one of our daily meals there each day of our stay and were never disappointed. Our room was clean and tidy, and well cared-for by housekeeping. The staff are very friendly, and will go the extra mile for you (eg. I was sick and they made fish-broth for me even though it wasn't on the menu!). I would love to stay there again if I can make it back to Barbados.

Room Tip: Choose one of the rooms on the ocean-side, not the street-side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bmgj06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Stayed mid January 2013 from Thursday through Monday. Location is perfectly situated right in the middle of the St. Lawrence Gap, which is where most of the bars, restaurants, and clubs are in Christ Church for tourists. Bars & clubs are a nice mix of tourists and locals. As this is right in the middle of The Gap, it's also located right across the street from an open-air bar and a regular club. We had a one bedroom suite with the bedroom facing the front of the hotel and the living room and balcony facing the back, but the noise at night was loud no matter what part. If you plan on staying out late, not a problem, but if want to go to bed early one night- wear yourself out during the day so you are too tired to care about the noise. Friend said "it felt like the door was shaking." Room was nice and spacious. Bed was big, but pull out sofa wasn't very comfortable though. Shower pressure is good, but toilet didn't work properly all the time. Maintenance fixed relatively quickly though, and if that failed we used the pots to through water in the toilet. View from the balcony is absolutely amazing and pool was good as well. Good food and drinks at poolside bar, but be careful of the bar stools.. a little wobbly. Hotel staff nice, but reception not as helpful as one would expect for a tourist hotel. Sometimes didn't get information and other times received incorrect information. There were several different receptionists- one was nice and somewhat helpful, other's weren't, and one was down right rude to one of my friends. Hotel is beachfront, but you can't access the beach from the hotel because there isn't any "beach". It's right over the water, but minutes away from beautiful Dover beach. A/C and fan worked very well and no mosquitoes or other bugs, but did have a slight small ant problem in the kitchen only. For an inexpensive stay I would tell friends about this place, but with all the caveats i listed above. Had a great time in Barbados.

Room Tip: Pick a room facing the water- might help with the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LTT789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

My fiancee and I had an amazing time at South Gap Hotel, and would highly recommend!! The location is superb, the service and staff were as friendly as you could ask for, and the experience was a definite win! The room was very nice, especially compared to my previous stay at a different hotel in St. Lawrence Gap that was rated as highly. There is a kitchenette, which helped us save a BUNCH of money and relax a bit. The location was perfect, right in the heart of St. Lawrence Gap, and the Tropical Mist Restaurant located below by the pool was just as great an experience. The staff was VERY outgoing and helped accommodate us with anything we asked for such as setting up excursions or info about shopping, restaurants, nightlife, etc. Do yourself a favor and stay at South Gap Hotel on your trip to Barbados!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BRK-VB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Lawrence Gap
0.1 mi away
Rostrevor Hotel
Rostrevor Hotel
#5 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.0 of 5 stars 524 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.5 of 5 stars 1,634 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
5.0 of 5 stars 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Butterfly Beach Hotel
2.0 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
1.5 mi away
Dover Beach Hotel
Dover Beach Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dover
4.0 of 5 stars 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Gap Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Gap Hotel

Property: South Gap Hotel
Address: St. Lawrence Gap | Christ Church, St. Lawrence Gap BB15020, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > St. Lawrence Gap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in St. Lawrence Gap
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. Lawrence Gap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — South Gap Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This delightful three star boutique style hotel is situated on the south coast of Barbados, 7 miles from the airport and only 5 miles from the island's capital, Bridgetown. Located in the very popular and lively St Lawrence Gap, it is within walking distance of the bars, restaurants and nightclubs. Just a few yards away, the stunning Dover Beach offers a serene and peaceful contrast for those wanting to relax during the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, West Indies and Priceline so you can book your South Gap Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel South Gap
South Gap Christ Church
South Gap Hotel Barbados/St. Lawrence Gap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing