We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Hotel in South Gap!!”
Review of South Gap Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
South Gap Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome Hotel in South Gap!!”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

My fiancee and I had an amazing time at South Gap Hotel, and would highly recommend!! The location is superb, the service and staff were as friendly as you could ask for, and the experience was a definite win! The room was very nice, especially compared to my previous stay at a different hotel in St. Lawrence Gap that was rated as highly. There is a kitchenette, which helped us save a BUNCH of money and relax a bit. The location was perfect, right in the heart of St. Lawrence Gap, and the Tropical Mist Restaurant located below by the pool was just as great an experience. The staff was VERY outgoing and helped accommodate us with anything we asked for such as setting up excursions or info about shopping, restaurants, nightlife, etc. Do yourself a favor and stay at South Gap Hotel on your trip to Barbados!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BRK-VB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    283
    90
    29
    13
See reviews for
76
359
66
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

The hotel is in need of renovation and the outside sunbathing area is not very clean. The staff are good and the rooms are clean and acceptable. The position 'literally' on the sea is good and there is a very small beach available in the hotel next door. The Gap is known for it's night life so some noise into the early hours was expected, however nothing, nothing could prepare you for the high level of noise coming from the open air Karaoke bar directly across the street, which continued on volume level '11' until 3 am, THEN followed by people shouting and laughing outside at the hotel car park 'slots bar' until 5 or 6 am! Unless you are capable of sleeping in a room with your Stereo on full and 20 drunken friends having a party, DO NOT stay there.

Room Tip: Some rooms are quieter, but it is a small hotel. We could not be moved for 10 days! don't take t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

4th visit to Barbados, 1st to The South Gap. Never stayed in the middle of the Gap.
NO REGRETS AT ALL. Booked again this year same place!
Food & Nightlife are easy access from South Gap as it is centrally located in the St. Lawrence Gap. Music from the clubs across the street rocks till 3:30 or 4am. Was never an issue like many reviews stated. If you didn't want to join in across the street there's a full balcony on the 2nd floor where you can listen to the music and people watch. That's after you have hit the South Gap Bar which closes around 10pm. lol
All the staff are very friendly and accommodating. If you needed anything just ask and it was taken care immediately with a smile (to be honest the reason we return to the island, and we have been to many, is because of the people). This hotel is no different, only more affordable as we were traveling with four. Rooms are clean, have TV, AC, always hot water and brand new kitchen utensils.
What A View From The Room!
Had a great Christmas dinner on the balcony with family, moon, and crashing waves (hope the moon and waves loved the roast beef dinner).
There is a nice little beach next door if you don't want to walk 5-10 mintutes. There's beaches everywhere. We are not ones to lie baking in the sun. We do alot of walking meeting the friendly people of Barbados from the area.
Again Thank you so Much South Gap see you SOON!

Room Tip: If you prefer NO noise stay home!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank australiantrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed in a third floor room which was lovely, brilliant balcony with fantastic view! However the noise from the bar across the street was unbelievable! How the person previously can state that its not a problem is beyond me! We may as well have put our bed in the middle of the bar it would not have been any quieter! I enjoy a good karaoke night but this is totally beyond belief! Our pillows were actually vibrating with the beat from the music! At 3.30 am it was still going strong! I pity south gap owners as I am sure they must lose bookings because of this major problem because any one who does not want to party until 4 am would definitely not want to stay there again, which is sad because it is a nice hotel with fantastic views! We complained to reception but no other rooms were available we then complained to our virgin rep and she was a complete waste of time saying that if we still had a problem in a few days we could cancel our booking and pay to go in another hotel!!!! If you want a relaxing holiday as most of us do, please stay further along the gap away from Hals bar!!!!!! Who appears to break all laws concerning noise levels !

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank almip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
down south
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 26, 2013

The Shacklock crew had yet another great Christmas and Old Years holiday. The lads meeting up with old friends and hitting the Sugar Lounge big time. Such friendly staff from housekeeping through to Management not forgetting the bar staff and security. Planning on next years already.
When you meet up with people who have been going for many years and now book five and seven week stays that must tell you something about the place!!
Falling asleep to the sounds of the waves with the French windows open all night ZZZzzzzzzz

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sth_yorkshire_lad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The lakes
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I cannot believe the amount of people who are complaining about the noise from Hals Bar across the street. This has been mentioned several times before on this site alone. I picked up on this a long time ago and booked one of the many rooms that dont suffer any noise at all. If it is a last minute decision to stay there then a quick trawl on the internet will show it right in the middle of the noisiest part of the Gap. I would imagine all hotels in the area have some noise problems but this is because of the open air living on the island. If you want silence then maybe you shoud stay in some sealed box like the hilton. Rant over we thought it was a great hotel with very accomodating staff throughout the hotel, a very enjoyable stay in a typical carribean hotel

Room Tip: Junior suites are great value
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Furdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Do not stay in this hotel if you like a good night sleep we stayed in room 311 for 3 nights before it became unbearable and we had to ask to be moved once moved noise levels were better but you could still hear it cleary with all the other hotels we came across they all seemed to be better located than the South Gap Hotel which is located across the road from Hal's Car Park Bar which kicks out Karaoke until the early hours and Sugar nightclub which is an open air venue which closes around 0400 Hours

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JimmyDisco54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Lawrence Gap
0.1 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
307 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rostrevor Hotel
Rostrevor Hotel
#5 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
614 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Infinity on the Beach
2.0 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
0.7 mi away
Dover Beach Hotel
Dover Beach Hotel
#3 of 4 in Dover
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Gap Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Gap Hotel

Property: South Gap Hotel
Address: St. Lawrence Gap | Christ Church, St. Lawrence Gap BB15020, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > St. Lawrence Gap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in St. Lawrence Gap
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. Lawrence Gap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — South Gap Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This delightful three star boutique style hotel is situated on the south coast of Barbados, 7 miles from the airport and only 5 miles from the island's capital, Bridgetown. Located in the very popular and lively St Lawrence Gap, it is within walking distance of the bars, restaurants and nightclubs. Just a few yards away, the stunning Dover Beach offers a serene and peaceful contrast for those wanting to relax during the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, West Indies, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your South Gap Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel South Gap
South Gap Christ Church
South Gap Hotel Barbados/St. Lawrence Gap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing