We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“We will be back again” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of South Gap Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
South Gap Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
down south
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We will be back again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

The Shacklock crew had yet another great Christmas and Old Years holiday. The lads meeting up with old friends and hitting the Sugar Lounge big time. Such friendly staff from housekeeping through to Management not forgetting the bar staff and security. Planning on next years already.
When you meet up with people who have been going for many years and now book five and seven week stays that must tell you something about the place!!
Falling asleep to the sounds of the waves with the French windows open all night ZZZzzzzzzz

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sth_yorkshire_lad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    272
    82
    28
    13
See reviews for
73
341
62
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The lakes
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

I cannot believe the amount of people who are complaining about the noise from Hals Bar across the street. This has been mentioned several times before on this site alone. I picked up on this a long time ago and booked one of the many rooms that dont suffer any noise at all. If it is a last minute decision to stay there then a quick trawl on the internet will show it right in the middle of the noisiest part of the Gap. I would imagine all hotels in the area have some noise problems but this is because of the open air living on the island. If you want silence then maybe you shoud stay in some sealed box like the hilton. Rant over we thought it was a great hotel with very accomodating staff throughout the hotel, a very enjoyable stay in a typical carribean hotel

Room Tip: Junior suites are great value
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Furdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Do not stay in this hotel if you like a good night sleep we stayed in room 311 for 3 nights before it became unbearable and we had to ask to be moved once moved noise levels were better but you could still hear it cleary with all the other hotels we came across they all seemed to be better located than the South Gap Hotel which is located across the road from Hal's Car Park Bar which kicks out Karaoke until the early hours and Sugar nightclub which is an open air venue which closes around 0400 Hours

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JimmyDisco54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Stayed 9 nights at the South Gap. Basic but really perfect just to relax and no frills beautiful sea views and gorgeous to swim in the sea. Good situation for bars and restaurants loved it. Tiami Catamaran cruise worth going on.

Bar staff and cleaners very friendly but front desk very disappointing. We were two females on holiday and were greeted with disdain and on arrival after a long flight the receptionist could barely raise a smile and getting info was like blood from a stone. We were not sure if we were being treated like this as we heard while we were out there some of the women think that all British women are after their men (not the case)Talking to other guests who were older and couples they received very good front desk service. we got most of our tourist info from other guests!!! Apart from this was an amazing holiday and would definitely go back to Barbados!!

Room Tip: Ask for room on 1st floor as very noisy but ear plugs did the trick for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarah j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southgap, Manager at South Gap Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am very happy that you loved our location and views but I am terribly sorry about your experience with our front desk staff. To be honest we have a lot of young British ladies travelling together to our hotel during the summer and we have never received this complaint. Our receptionists are generally very friendly and are always willing to provide information to all of our guests.
Nevertheless, I will certainly speak to them about your experience as poor service will not be accepted by the hotel. I do hope hope that you will consider South Gap Hotel for your next visit to the island.

Sincerely,

Cecile Harewood
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

We overnighted here in transit to another island. We would have had more sleep at the airport. The hotel is charming if shabby, and the verandah on our 2nd floor room gave us a perfect, private view of the ocean. However, you can't stay at the hotel without also experiencing the kareoke bar across the narrow street, which starts up at 10 pm (just as these weary travellers were going to sleep) and wraps up between 3 and 4. My husband will never feel the same about Neil Diamond's "Sweet Caroline," after hearing it belted out as a drunken, off-key duet at 3 am. If we'd been 20 years younger, we might have given up and joined in. Only stay here if you're under 30 and/or like to stay up all night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank juviall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southgap, Manager at South Gap Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am so pleased that you loved our hotel and our wonderful view. I just wanted to let you know that you can stay at our hotel without experiencing the karaoke bar across the street. Our first floor rooms are located behind the reception and the office walls and are therefore not noisy at all. In addition, we have Junior Suites which are tucked away on the ground floor and offer a serene contrast to the lively St. Lawrence Gap.

We have a number of retired repeat guests who stay with us every year, some even stay in our top floor rooms, so I do hope that you and your husband will give our hotel another try.

We hope to hear from you soon.

Sincerely,

Cecile Harewood
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

We chose the South Gap because of its fantastic location right on the sea, and in the heart of the action in the Gap - we were not disappointed. If you like your hotels to be over-furnished, look like something out of a design magazine, impersonal over-polite service and so on, then maybe this wouldn't be for you. But if you like real people, with a warm welcoming smile, time to talk to you and a slow easy pace, then this is perfect.

From the moment of our arrival to the time we left we had nothing but friendliness and warmth. We also met some other great guests and had a few wonderful evenings with some lovely bar staff to help things go well. The view from our room and the sound of the sea at night and in the early morning was superb, as was sitting on our balcony watching the sunrise or later on, the sunset.

We will definitely be going back and I know we'll get the same lovely welcome.

Many thanks and lots of love to South Gap and staff!

Room Tip: All rooms have sea fview, so no problem anyway
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Words to describe this place, loud, uncomfortable,dated, rude, and not a nice place to stay at all - I was passing through Barbados for one night only, staying in this place was a huge mistake it would be preferable to sleep on the floor in the airport to be totally honest.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank khan z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Lawrence Gap
0.1 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rostrevor Hotel
Rostrevor Hotel
#6 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Dover Beach Hotel
Dover Beach Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dover
4.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
2.0 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
1.4 mi away
Butterfly Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Gap Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Gap Hotel

Property: South Gap Hotel
Address: St. Lawrence Gap | Christ Church, St. Lawrence Gap BB15020, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > St. Lawrence Gap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in St. Lawrence Gap
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. Lawrence Gap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — South Gap Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This delightful three star boutique style hotel is situated on the south coast of Barbados, 7 miles from the airport and only 5 miles from the island's capital, Bridgetown. Located in the very popular and lively St Lawrence Gap, it is within walking distance of the bars, restaurants and nightclubs. Just a few yards away, the stunning Dover Beach offers a serene and peaceful contrast for those wanting to relax during the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and West Indies so you can book your South Gap Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel South Gap
South Gap Christ Church
South Gap Hotel Barbados/St. Lawrence Gap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing