We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful experience!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of South Gap Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
South Gap Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

I loved Barbados and the hotel. the staff is very friendly. Barbados for me was an ideal place to travel alone. people are friendly,i felt safe wherever I went. I love Friday night at Oisten's fish market, where everybody dances.
Swimming with the turtles was another wonderful experience. Going around the island is a lovely experience and enjoying jazz on Saturday or Sunday sunset in St.Lawrence is a wonderful opportunity to met people enjoying the view and the music!!!! Barbados is a worth traveling destination!!!!! =)

Room Tip: No need to use air conditioning, nice to sleep with door open and listening to the sound of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Delfina812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    280
    90
    29
    13
See reviews for
76
355
65
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trinidad
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

As this was my first visit to the island for a birthday celebration for my sister-in law who received from the hotel a bottle of wine for this occasion, this hotel was in the best location- St. Lawrence Gap. Food, drinks, people friendly, night life (superb). The hotel was excellent in everything with very friendly, helpful staff. On a ratio of 1-10 as a visitor to other Caribbean countries I will rate Barbados a 10 (beaches -super great).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CherrieAnn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

I promised my nephew a staycation during the summer vacation. I wanted a hotel that was cosy, comfortable, peaceful and relaxing and at the same time one that my nephew would enjoy. South Gap more than delivered. A poolside room and tv catered to my nephew....as long as he could play in the pool all day, eat and drink he was in heaven. As for me, I loved the tranquility and the service. Staff went out of their way to simply check that we were comfortable. The restaurant was excellent, happy-hours were brilliant and above all the bill was reasonable. And don't be fooled by the location- even though the hotel is in the heart of St. Lawrence Gap, unless you go out to the street you don't even know that loud parties are going on all around you.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fay-Marie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

We chose this hotel as it is in the thick of it!
The hotel itself is based right on St Lawrence Gap which is where all the night life is so can get some noise from the local bars and restaurants, if you don't like meeting locals and enjoying getting out, eating great food don't go! But it would be a great shame if you miss out.
The hotel is possibly in need of some modernisation, it's immaculately kept, has wonderful helpful staff (especially the reception girls) and every room has a balcony looking straight out over the gorgeous Caribean sea. The rooms have a fridge freezer, two ring hob, utensils, iron and board, microwave and hairdryer. There are beach towels and safe available for a small deposit.
There are plenty of taxis around to get around the island and buses at the end of the road for 2 Barbados for any journey.
The pool is nice and there are plenty beds to relax and enjoy the view out to sea, there is a beach a short walk away if that is what you want and the hotel bar is well stocked!
There is a bank opposite for exchanging cash and a church a two minute walk.
In all I would definitely recommend this hotel as a great base to explore this wonderful island, thank you for helping us enjoy our stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank werenotstoppingin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

We decided to spend eight days at the South Gap Hotel before travelling to the tranquility of Antigua & Barbuda. The hotel was equipped with: Air conditioning; a two burner hob; microwave; fridge and cable television.

We choose the South Gap, because it was based in the St Lawrence Gap, which is in close proximity to many nightclubs, local beaches, excellent bars and restaurants. There was also an ATM directly opposite, with a bank across the road.

Once we'd settled in, we decided to have dinner at the hotel's 'Tropical Mist' restaurant. I opted for the Spicey Hot Bajan Wings (that made my eyes water), followed by Mahi Mahi with rice. My partner enjoyed a delicious Caribbean prawn cocktail starter, and a chicken salad for her main.

The only day that we had to stay indoors was when tropical storm 'Bernesco' decided to visit briefly. However, the reservations manageress, Monique Harewood kept all her guests informed (and she even showed us a special room that kept all the hotels emergency provisions).

Our rooms were cleaned on a regular basis, and the towels were virtually changed every day.

The South Gap Hotel is not for you if you want peace and quiet, but for fun, great food, and dancing the night away, then this is a good choice. ... I'll definitely go back again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George's, Grenada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

Though I've visited Barbados many times, this was my first stay at South Gap Hotel. The establishment is fairly small compared to other hotels I've stayed at, but the service is warm and personal. What was striking for me is that your breakfast is made for you - not something from a buffet. I also liked the fact that the hotel is situated in an area (on the GAP) where there is a fair amount of night life, especially on Friday night, but the noise in the streets are filtered before it gets to the room. I had a room on the sea side and I liked falling asleep and waking up to the sound of the waves.

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view (away from the road) are fairly quiet except for the natural, soothing sounds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

First of all I have to say a huge thanks to the staff at South Gap - I was one of those 'annoying' customers who couldn't confirm my travel dates and had to keep changing my plans at a very busy period during the Crop Over festivities. They were all extremely patient and helpful before and during my stay, and despite me being such a nuisance they gave me a free upgrade when I needed to stay an extra night!
I was on a business trip for a conference and was just looking for accommodation on the island to suit my tight budget, so I was very pleasantly surprised by the excellent value for money offered by South Gap. The hotel is in a great location if you want to really be in the middle of things - easy access to both Bridgetown and Oistins and its literally on the doorstep of the clubs, bars and restaurants along St Lawrence Gap (so no taxi fares!)
Its not 5-star accommodation but the rooms have everything you need for self-catering and are kept really clean with a daily maid service.
Noise has never been an issue with me so the 'singing' from the nearby Karaoke bar didn't bother me at all, but it can get very loud at times. Because I had to chop and change so much I stayed in 2 different rooms and the 1-bedroom apartment on the ground floor was actually closer to the noisy area but I couldn't hear it from there so they probably have some sort of sound-proofing on the lower floors.
In a nutshell, South Gap Hotel is a great place to stay and they have a really high standard of customer care which goes a long way in my book. I had a very enjoyable stay there and I shall definitely be returning!

Room Tip: If noise is an issue check with the staff which are the quieter rooms - I tried a ground floor room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RocksteadyB r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Lawrence Gap
0.1 mi away
Rostrevor Hotel
Rostrevor Hotel
#5 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,906 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Dover Beach Hotel
Dover Beach Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dover
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
2.0 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
0.8 mi away
Coral Mist Beach Hotel
Coral Mist Beach Hotel
#1 of 3 in Worthing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Gap Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Gap Hotel

Property: South Gap Hotel
Address: St. Lawrence Gap | Christ Church, St. Lawrence Gap BB15020, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > St. Lawrence Gap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in St. Lawrence Gap
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. Lawrence Gap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — South Gap Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This delightful three star boutique style hotel is situated on the south coast of Barbados, 7 miles from the airport and only 5 miles from the island's capital, Bridgetown. Located in the very popular and lively St Lawrence Gap, it is within walking distance of the bars, restaurants and nightclubs. Just a few yards away, the stunning Dover Beach offers a serene and peaceful contrast for those wanting to relax during the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Kognitiv US Corp, Expedia, seekda GmbH, Hotels.com, Priceline and West Indies so you can book your South Gap Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel South Gap
South Gap Christ Church
South Gap Hotel Barbados/St. Lawrence Gap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing