We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach Bum”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beach Bum”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Stayed in Antigua the week and the hotel in comparison was a revelation. Beautiful setting, everything about the place was immaculate. My only grumble was the breakfast was very basic compared to the quality of the hotel. Location was spot on, beach setting amazing and plenty of room to lay wherever you wanted.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Legmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanHotelsBarbados, Operations Manager at Ocean Two Resort & Residences, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Legmeister,

Many thanks for sharing this review of your recent holiday experience at Ocean Two Resort & Residences! It is truly a pleasure to know that you had such a wonderful holiday experience, as we strive to provide this to all of our guests.

Guest satisfaction is of the utmost importance to us. We thank you for your constructive comments regarding your breakfast dining experience and they have been addressed with the Food & Beverage team.

Overall it appears as though you had an enjoyable and memorable holiday experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Ocean Two in the future!

Kind Regards,

Paul Collymore
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,013 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,447
    441
    95
    18
    12
See reviews for
466
1,148
46
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (691)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is an absolute gem in Barbados!! The hotel itself is fab. The staff are excellent and the most pleasant staff I've ever come across in a Barbados hotel!! Location perfect!! Poolside sunbeds are the best I've ever seen! Our 1 bed suite is superb! Love the place so much that on our 2nd day of being here we have already booked to return in January!
The owner and manager have certainly done there homework here and are providing an excellent service with lots of little extras that go such a long way!
Any faults?? We can't think of any at all! Actually the only fault is the ignorant people who insist on reserving a sun bed then disappear for an hour or 2! However the staff did sometimes tell people they can only leave them for 1/2 hour! But this was only sometimes whereas they should be telling people every day!
Apart from that ocean 2 is perfect!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Sammyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanHotelsBarbados, Operations Manager at Ocean Two Resort & Residences, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Sammyan,

Thank you for sharing this wonderful review of your recent Ocean Two Resort & Residences holiday experience. It was indeed our pleasure to have you as our guests and we are all truly delighted to know that your stay with us was enjoyable and memorable!

At Ocean Two we place a strong emphasis on the training and development of our team, therefore it gives us great pride when guests such as yourself comment on the stellar service they received!
We do thank you for your constructive comments, and these have been addressed with the Pool & Beach team to ensure that we maintain the high level of service of which is our usual standard.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Ocean Two soon!

Kind Regards,

Paul Collymore
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

My wife and I enjoyed a week here. The hotel is located on a street where there are plenty of restaurants to check out. The staff at the hotel are extremely friendly and helpful. The cleaning staff do a fantastic job keeping our room clean especially after we drag in sand from the beach. The hotel's beach is conveniently located right next to Barry's Surf School so it was real easy to walk next door and get some great surf lessons! Our room was very spacious and we enjoyed the kitchen area to make some quick snacks during the day. Our only issue we had our entire trip was getting harassed by drug dealers every night walking back from dinner. There are drug dealers that stand around close to the hotel but we just ignored them and they left us alone.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CLRF93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanHotelsBarbados, Operations Manager at Ocean Two Resort & Residences, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear CLRF93,

Many thanks for taking the time to share this review! It is an absolute pleasure to know that you had such a fantastic time here with us, particularly enjoying our luxurious, well-appointed suites and our commendable staff!

At Ocean Two, the safety of our guests is of grave importance to us. We have a highly qualified 24 hour security team, and the St. Lawrence area where we are located is heavily monitored by Closed Circuit Television. We appreciate your comments regarding your off property experience and we have notified the law enforcement tourism liaison officer of your concerns.

Overall it appears as though you had a lovely holiday at Ocean Two and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind Regards,

Paul Collymore
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

After travelling from Antigua, and having a pleasant experience my wife and I were hoping for something a little extra - and wow we got exactly that. Having read reviews before booking, we thought we would book an ocean front suite and it was a great choice. From arriving to leaving, everything was fantastic. The check in seemed to consist of an orientation of the hotel and demonstration of the rooms facilities and a welcome punch. But to be honest we were settled in the room before we realised we had been checked in. Room was what we expected and more. The view from the room was fantastic. We had a couple of minor issues in the room and these were dealt with immediately - battery needed replacing in the safe and no hairdryer (this comment is about the responsiveness not the issues itself). We have been fortunate to stop in some fantastic hotels around the world and Ocean 2 has got it spot on, from the friendly and professional staff, the music, the food, the setting, cleanliness, style through to its location. Yes it is a ten minute walk to the gap, but that means it is far enough away to not be disturbed by noise/music and means you can do a little bar crawl before dinner if you choose the gap for food. We tend not to go back to the same place twice, however we have already priced up Ocean 2 for a return later this year. If we go back to Barbados we would not consider anywhere else. Thanks to all at the hotel for the experience.

Room Tip: Ocean front suite, we'll worth the little extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank k-c-burnley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanHotelsBarbados, Operations Manager at Ocean Two Resort & Residences, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear k-c-burnley,

Many thanks for sharing this wonderful review of your recent holiday experience here with us! We truly encourage feedback from all of our guests as it gives an unbiased and honest representation of their stay which in turn is beneficial to guests such as yourself when planning their dream holiday.

You have certainly highlighted those amazing features and qualities that together create the unique and memorable Ocean Two holiday experience, such as our welcoming check in process, our luxurious suites, the fantastic amenities, spectacular views and our excellent team!
The satisfaction of our guests is of the utmost importance to us, and we thank you for highlighting the efficient manner in which we respond to and resolve any concerns communicated by our guests.

We truly look forward to welcoming you back to Ocean Two Resort & Residences soon!

Kind Regards,

Paul Collymore
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

we stayed here recently and decided that we were both a little underwhelmed.

the good points:
probably the most comfortable sun loungers in the world ( the pool loungers). The loungers on the beach are just normal ones.
The location of the hotel is good for nightlife and restaurants.
the shower room is huge
the staff are friendly and very helpful
the pool temperature is lovely and warm
the chambermaids kept our room spotlessly clean
the beds are comfortable
the hospitality room that is available is excellent


the not so good points:
there is hot water for approximately two minutes of the shower and then it becomes lukewarm, this happened every day
the coffee is outrageously expensive and not very good. ( i went over the road to ocean 15s coffee bar every morning- they open at 6.30am and have a huge range of coffee choices, at half the price of ocean two)
the air con in our room didnt work properly, even after a member of staff looked at it and tried to fix it.
the wifi didnt work 80% of the time ( its best to stand at the reception desk to get a good signal)
the cocktails are awful, very artificial tasting
the television didnt work very well for most of the week

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank geoffbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanHotelsBarbados, Operations Manager at Ocean Two Resort & Residences, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear geoffbl,

Thank you for sharing this review of your recent stay here with us at Ocean Two Resort & Residences. We are quite disappointed to know that you did not thoroughly enjoy your stay here with us, as we truly wish for all of our guests to have an exceptional holiday experience.

We greatly appreciate the opportunity to remedy any issue or inconvenience while our guests are with us and wish that you had raised your concerns while on property. We are truly pleased that you enjoyed our immaculately maintained property and the genuine hospitality provided by our team.

Although this trip may not have exceeded your expectations, we truly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future as we are confident that we can provide you with the true Ocean Two experience!

Kind Regards,

Paul Collymore
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We arrived at the hotel and were welcomed by an extremely friendly staff member. We were sat down in the foyer and were given cold towels followed by complimentary drink. The check in process didn't take long at all and were soon taken to our room.

We stayed in the pent house appartment which was amazing, lovely shower room, bedroom, a big lounge and a great view of the Ocean. We had the breakfast included in the deal and there was a great choice daily.

The hotel is located in a good spot, the Dover supermarket is two mins walk from the hotel and its very handy if you need to grab a few bits. There is also an ATM right by the hotel

St Lawrence's gap is a 10-15min walk down the street and this place is always lively and has some great bars and restaurants.

Overall the stay at Oceans two was very pleasant, myself and my wife cannot fault anything about the hotel or the staff, we loved every minute of it and we were very sad to be coming back home. We will definitely book this hotel again the next time we fly out to Barbados

The staff at the hotel printed me off a receipe for making the lethal rum punch and we fell in love with the fish cakes so we got the receipe for these too

I would recommend this hotel to all my friends and family and if you are reading this review I would highly recommend that you check this place out

Thanks Oceans two and thank you to all the staff for making this holiday one to remember

Room Tip: PH9 - Sea View! Paradise, its like having your own appartment in Barbados!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Roopesh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanHotelsBarbados, Operations Manager at Ocean Two Resort & Residences, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Roopesh D,

A warm thank you for sharing this wonderful review of your recent stay here with us! At Ocean Two we continuously strive to provide our guests with an exceptional holiday experience that exceeds their expectations and we are quite proud to know that we were able to provide this experience for you.

We thank you for your kind remarks regarding our well-appointed suites, favorable location and your lovely breakfast dining experience. I join you in commending all team members for the consistently excellent service they provide to all guests!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Ocean Two Resort & Residences in the near future!

Kind Regards,

Paul Collymore
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmdel, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Just arrived home from our stay at Ocean 2. On the positive side the hotel grounds and rooms were very clean and the staff very accommodating and courteous. The bathrooms have a beautiful rain shower and are decorated in marble and granite which was very nice. The location was perfect in regards to restaurants and night life in walking distance. The food in the hotel restaurant was prepared nicely and very fresh. On the flip side the hotel and its property are very small. We were not greeted with a complimentary drink. The room was extremely sparse with only a bed and a desk. There was no dressing mirror. There was a small wardrobe which was relatively useless besides it allowing you to hang up a few of your things, and it contained a safe for your valuables. We asked for an additional luggage rack to keep our suitcases on so not to leave them on the bed, and lived out of them for the 4 days we spent there. We were unable to unpack any of our clothes for our stay because the room did not even have a dresser, and was quite cramped. The air conditioner did not work properly. The staff tried to repair it but ultimately moved us into another room in which the A/C did not work well there either. We had to make due with the ceiling fan. The remote for the T.V. did not work. There are no ice machines on any of the 7 floors available for use, and our room did not even have an ice bucket. The beach is to rough to swim in and full of rocks and the pool is very small. Thankfully we were able to take a short walk around the bend and swim in the beach area that was in front of another hotel facility. I would suggest replacing the useless desk with something more conventional like a dresser and a few other basic necessities to allow for a more comfortable stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Toni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanHotelsBarbados, Operations Manager at Ocean Two Resort & Residences, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Toni M,

Thank you for sharing this detailed review of your recent Ocean Two Resort & Residences holiday experience. We are very pleased that you enjoyed the excellent service you received from our team, as well as our favorable location and your lovely dining experience!

We are quite disappointed to know that you did not thoroughly enjoy your stay here with us and we sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. Although the Hotel Room which you booked did not meet your expectations, perhaps, a One Bedroom Ocean Front Suite may have been a more appropriate choice for your needs.

We truly hope to have the opportunity to have you stay with us in the future as we are confident that we can provide you with the true Ocean Two experience!

Kind Regards,

Paul Collymore
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Lawrence Gap
3.2 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
3,563 reviews
0.7 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
293 reviews
8.1 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
8.3 mi away
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
8.6 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Two Resort & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Two Resort & Residences

Property: Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Address: Dover Road, St. Lawrence Gap BB15026, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > St. Lawrence Gap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in St. Lawrence Gap
#1 Romantic Hotel in St. Lawrence Gap
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St. Lawrence Gap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Two Resort & Residences 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Two Resort & Residences is a four diamond, beachfront property located at the far end of St.Lawrence Gap with a wide array of amenities and facilities. It is the ideal location for romantic retreats, family holidays, girlfriend getaway, family reunions/group travel as well as meetings and incentive groups! With its spacious accommodations including Hotel Rooms, One Bedroom & Two Bedroom Suites with genuine, Bajan hospitality, Ocean Two is THE place to stay on the South Coast of Barbados! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, seekda GmbH, TravelUp, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ocean Two Resort & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean 2 Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort And Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences Hotel St Lawrence Gap
Ocean Two Resort & Residences Barbados/St. Lawrence Gap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing