We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed at Ocean Two, Dover Beach area of Barbados from 8/31/13 to 9/04/13. We had an amazing time there and would have stayed longer except for a medical issue that cut our time there short. We were greeted at the door and escorted to a lounge area. We were given a cold island fruit drink and wet cloth to refresh ourselves with while we signed in (always a good start), Our room was an ocean front full suite. The bedroom consisted of a comfortable king size bed, dresser, two night stands, closet, easy to use safe, etc.. There was a full size kitchen complete with utensils, appliances, washer, dryer, and nice table that seated 4. There was a sofa and side club chair and television. The bathroom was spacious with a double sink and a fabulous huge shower! The balcony held a wicker comfortable 4 chairs and table, plus two great padded chaises. The staff was unfailingly friendly. I even had a beach helper refuse an additional tip! I had given him a nice tip for setting up a beach umbel,a for me. When he later bright me a drink, he refused a second tip!

The beach was perfect, heavenly, amazing!!! This was an 'off season' visit so this might change during high season. The beach was big and empty! No wondering where to put your chair or blanket! Pure white soft sand, crystal clear water, and the water was wonderfully warm! There are several pools, one long one, another smaller one, and another that links to the bar.

There is a restaurant, just one. The food is okey! Nothing special. But you can eat and look at the ocean while the sea breeze surrounds you!

There are a few cons: the utilitarian marble floor was nice to see, but very very slippery (especially if you get some sand or water on it)! There needed to be more than the two bath towels. And my pet hotel peeve... They could have been thicker and softer! The bedroom can be a bit cramped if you need to keep your suitcases handy. If you are the type that likes a variety of restaurants or stores near you, there are none here. You would need to go into the city. And this is not the hotels fault, but the pan handlers that try to sell you things while you are relaxing on the beach can be annoying!

Overall, I hated to leave! I've been to many places, including the Caymens and all the Hawaiin Islands; but this was as close to paradise as I have ever been! I would go back to this hotel and the beach there in a flash!

Room Tip: Ocean front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChelsiVienna_VA_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanHotelsBarbados, Operations Manager at Ocean Two Resort & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear ChelsiVienna_VA_USA,

A warm thank you for sharing this review of your recent stay here with us at Ocean Two Resort & Residences! At Ocean Two we continuously strive to provide our guests with an exceptional and memorable holiday experience which exceeds their expectations, as such, it gives us great pleasure to know that we were able to provide you with such an experience.

We thank you for your kind remarks regarding the high quality features and amenities of our suites, our fantastic beach, and the stellar service provided by our excellent team. We also thank you for your constructive comments, as this helps us to better recognize those areas that we may need to improve upon to ensure guest satisfaction.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Ocean Two soon!

Kind Regards,

Paul Collymore
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,096)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,547 - 1,553 of 2,096 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

Firstly, Ocean Two was not our first choice hotel, solely because the Virgin brochure didn’t really ‘Sell It’. We were upgraded when we realised that there was issues with our first choice hotel, and what a result we had….

We stayed for two weeks in a one bedroom ocean view deluxe apartment, and it was exactly that. It was spacious & we had everything there that we needed, including washing machine & tumble dryer.
The rooms & general areas of the hotel were always kept clean & tidy, as were the pool & beach.
Food at the restaurant was great with a great variety, even for children.

The hotel staff were so friendly & helpful, & always spent the extra time to talk to us & our nine year old daughter.
A special mention to the following who made our stay so memorable, Rudolph, Jeffrey & Orlando in the bar areas – Great cocktails guys. Stephon, Stefen, Sabrina, Shantelle & Nakita at the restaurant, also to Candice in reception, we won’t forget your infectious laugh.

Location is also great & it’s very easy to get around. St Lawerance Gap is just far away enough that you don’t get disturbed by any noise or other tourists, but near enough to walk to it you want a meal out (approx. 15 minutes walk). The West Coast is approx. ½ hour away and cost around £20 in a taxi, so not too bad.

We really was sad to leave, but hope to go back again soon.

This hotel really is a must.

Room Tip: Ocean View rooms are a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ksey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanHotelsBarbados, Operations Manager at Ocean Two Resort & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear ksey,

Thank you for taking the time to share this lovely, detailed review of your stay here with us! It is truly a pleasure to know that you had such a wonderful holiday experience, as we strive to provide this to all of our guests.

We thank you for your kind remarks regarding our luxurious suites, modern amenities, favorable location and the stellar service you received from our team. Rest assured, your glowing comments have been relayed to all team members mentioned and certainly to the entire Ocean Two team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Ocean Two Resort & Residences soon!

Kind Regards,

Paul Collymore
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

A big thank you to the staff and management!

At the end of our holiday we were unable to travel home as a family and husband ended up staying 4 extra nights here on his own. We were lucky he found this hotel - he checked in (and out) every day for 4 days - staff were very understanding and held the room (and the room rate). Wished we had stayed here for the familt holiday!

Room was brilliant and had everything you need. Recommended as far nicer than other hotels along this stretch of beach!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jane186460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanHotelsBarbados, Operations Manager at Ocean Two Resort & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Jane186460,

Thank you for sharing this review! I join you in commending all staff members for the continuously outstanding service they provide and we hope to welcome the entire family back to Ocean Two Resort & Residences soon!

Kind Regards,

Paul Collymore
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We were looking for a location in Barbados to relax, just simply lay back and soak up the rays, swim, eat and relax some more. After reading all the reviews and doing quite some research online about hotels in Barbados, everything and everyone seem to lead to ocean2.
The room on the fifth level was like awesome, it's kinda like an apartment, but as you walk into the living room area, you see the blue green sea and it kinda makes you feel that you re right on top of it, like its your front-yard, i swear!!
The bed is comfy as hell, the pillows also. The kitchen had everything inside from fridge to stove top, microwave, chiller, washer, dryer etc. the terrace view was exceptional.
Adding to this tranquility, is the staff, Candace their very own concierge, was lovely. She was helpful in getting a few dinner reservations done for us with added surprises :) thank you Candace. Corey and Andre from the beach dept were incredibly helpful, Karen from reservations was extremely helpful and easy to talk with. She listened to what I wanted and got me exactly that! .....
Over all the hotel is exquisite, great location, friendly staff etc. I will be definitely going back there next year!

Muchas gracias ocean2!

Room Tip: Get the ocean front suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanHotelsBarbados, Operations Manager at Ocean Two Resort & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear Karen C,

A warm thank you for sharing this lovely review! We are all so pleased that you had such a fantastic stay here with us and that you thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of your stay, particularly the attentive and splendid service provided by our staff, as well our excellent location and amazing views.

Candace, Corey and Andre are sure to be thrilled by their special mentions. We look forward to welcoming you back to Ocean Two in the near future!

Kind Regards,

Paul Collymore
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my wife on our honeymoon and it was the best holiday we have ever experienced. From the moment we arrived at the hotel, cold towels and fresh drinks were waiting for us, while our suitcases were taken up to our room. I would advise an upgrade to the oceanfront suite, amazing rooms with every utility you could possibly want on your stay. The king size beds are the most comfortable i have ever slept in. The staff cannot help enough and always have a smile, are so welcoming and really add to the atmosphere and vibrancy of the hotel. Breakfast and lunch have very good options, dinner was a little lacking. Beautiful turquoise seas and okay, they can be a little wavey, but this only adds to the adventure of having a dip in the warm waters of the carribean. About a 10min walk to the bars and restaurants, which dont really pick up until around 12am. Dont go out too early as ull be dissappointed as there is no atmosphere until late into the night. Would recommend this hotel to anyone as it ticked every box available, and much more. This classy, clean and top quality hotel comes very highly recommended and will meet anyones expectations. Whether you are travelling with young children, couples young and old or groups of friends looking to party, this will be right up your street.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ABTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanHotelsBarbados, Operations Manager at Ocean Two Resort & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear ABTW,

Thank you for taking the time to share this review! At Ocean Two we continuously strive to provide our guests with excellent service and a memorable experience and from your comments it seems as though we hit the mark!

Many thanks for your glowing comments with regards to our relaxed and welcoming check-in services, well-appointed suites, and your lovely breakfast and lunch dining experience. Thank you for choosing us to celebrate such a momentous occasion and we look forward to welcoming you back to Ocean Two soon!

Kind Regards,

Paul Collymore
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Have just returned from a 2 week holiday at the ocean 2 hotel barbados. It was the best hotel ever. From the moment you arrive you are greeted with the friendliest of staff, always there with a nice smile, really friendly and they will try their upmost to please. A ship is only as good as the crew, and I hope the management take this on board. The rooms were very spacious and nicely decorated, cleaned every day and the view from our 1 bedroomed suite was amazing!!!! beautiful beach and surrounding areas. We chose bed and breakfast deal. I am pleased we did because the surrounding restaurants in the gap area were really good and it is nice to try different places. Am a golf widow at home!! and my husband had two rounds of golf at the barbados golf club, prices were very reasonable and an awesome club and 18 holer.
Took a trip on a cattamaran cruise which was brill, and hired a driver for 7 hours to take us to our places of interest. The price was very reasonable if you shop around. We paid 200 american dollars between 4 of us.
The only thing I could complain about is the price the hotel charges for families with late flights.
In our case the room had to be vacated by noon, our pickup time was 17.15. When we asked if we could keep our room until then, we were quoted 200 us dollars, which we all thought was disgraceful, other families agreed. We have stayed all over the world and have never paid such high prices. We decided to opt for the hospitality room on the second floor, and this was just for half an hour!!!.
But we however, would not hesistate to return.
Janette Henderson

Room Tip: Opt for a suite which are allocated overlooking the pool area and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Janette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This place is fabulous. We stayed for a week in July and were so happy with our choice. The hotel is stunning. Only two years old and every amenity was thought of from beautiful well appointed suites to the beautiful view of the ocean that's visible as soon as you walk into the hotel. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly as well.
The pool and beach were perfect. They have really nice cushioned lounge chair and umbrellas and the beach and pool and there's plenty for all the guests.
What's really nice is it's location to restaurants. We walked out every night to one of the local restaurants. It's also the safest island we've been too. Not much haggling from the locals.
Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank axel723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanHotelsBarbados, Operations Manager at Ocean Two Resort & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear axel723,

Many thanks for sharing such wonderful comments of your stay here with us and for your high recommendation! At Ocean Two we always strive to exceed guest expectations and to provide exceptional customer service and from your comments it seems safe to say that we have succeeded. Your kind remarks have been relayed to the entire O2 team!

Thank you for choosing us to celebrate such a momentous occasion and we look forward to welcoming you back to Ocean Two soon!

Kind Regards,

Paul Collymore
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Lawrence Gap
0.7 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
341 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 6 in Bridgetown
3,743 reviews
8.3 mi away
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
8.6 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,583 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
#11 of 51 in Christ Church Parish
1,989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Two Resort & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Two Resort & Residences

Address: Dover Road, St. Lawrence Gap BB15026, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > St. Lawrence Gap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in St. Lawrence Gap
#1 Romantic Hotel in St. Lawrence Gap
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St. Lawrence Gap
Price Range: $192 - $524 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Two Resort & Residences 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Two Resort & Residences is a four diamond, beachfront property located at the far end of St.Lawrence Gap with a wide array of amenities and facilities. It is the ideal location for romantic retreats, family holidays, girlfriend getaway, family reunions/group travel as well as meetings and incentive groups! With its spacious accommodations including Hotel Rooms, One Bedroom & Two Bedroom Suites with genuine, Bajan hospitality, Ocean Two is THE place to stay on the South Coast of Barbados! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with West Indies, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Ocean Two Resort & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean 2 Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort And Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences Hotel St Lawrence Gap
Ocean Two Resort & Residences Barbados/St. Lawrence Gap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing