We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,363)
Filter reviews
2,363 results
Traveler rating
1,652
553
113
28
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,652
553
113
28
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsice lolliesbeach attendantsthe gapcold towelsone bedroom suitewashing machine and dryerrainfall showerrooftop poolfull kitchentapasliving areadover marketamazing hotelwelcome drinklarge bathroompool staffsun loungers
Filter
Updating list...
1,819 - 1,824 of 2,363 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed here for three weeks and I never wanted to leave . From the moment you arrive it is perfect . Dee who picked us up at the airport was fantastic and we really enjoyed the tour of the island we had with him . Top tip go to the Animal Flower Caves and have a swim its a great experience .
The rooms are great , big and clean and the beds are so comfortable ( thank you Roxann ) . They have everything you need.
The staff are as this is titled are simply the best . Thank you Jeffrey , Wavell, Charles , Darien and of course Robyn ( this is the fantasy lady ) for the lovely cocktails and all the other restaurant staff who were great . We loved the Ocean Two burgers and the great fish salads .
ONeill , Eaarie , Patrick and Rojerick ( sorry think I have spelt that wrong ) were fantastic around the beach and pool . Try the jet skiing and sailing. Would highly recommend going with Roger ( ask the beach guys ) to swim around the wreck and with the turtles , it was great to be just us and the fish sandwiches at Cuzs were fantastic ( we had two !). So much better than the huge tours with lots of people , and there was also Rum punch .
The festival evening was spectacular and yes you should do it again.
We also had trips to Oistins which was great , Uncle George's , Pats and Fred's place were all good.
Thank you to Adrian who also took us about he was great , especially when we went to the cricket in Bridgetown .
Paul and ( Miss Marshall ) you and your staff were simply the best it was the best and most relaxing holiday we have had for a while . Hope we can come back one day ( and maybe you can find me a job )
Thank you .

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheWhites16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanHotelsBarbados, Operations Manager at Ocean Two Resort & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear TheWhites16,

A warm thank you for sharing this review of your recent Ocean Two experience! It is such a great pleasure to know that you thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us.

At Ocean Two we place a strong emphasis on training; therefore it gives us great pride when guests such as yourself comment on the stellar service they received. Your lovely comments have been relayed to all team members mentioned.

We look forward to welcome you back to Ocean Two in the near future!

Kind Regards,

Paul Collymore
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I arrived in Barbados and booked another hotel against my better judgement as a hotel executive!! Having previously stayed at Oceans 2, I should have stuck with class, excellence and great customer service. Thank you to Allison and Paul for saving the day and by extension Shenica. Yes, the reviews and pics are real and correct, it's well maintained , right on the beach with fantastic condo style rooms. Stay....you will not be disappointed!!

Room Tip: Full condo type amenities, priceless
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ian672013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanHotelsBarbados, Operations Manager at Ocean Two Resort & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear ian672013,

Thank you for taking the time to share this lovely review of Ocean Two Resort & Residences! At Ocean Two we continuously strive to provide our guests with an exceptional and memorable holiday experience which exceeds their expectations, and it is such a pleasure to know that we were able to provide you with this wonderful experience on numerous occasions.

We look forward to welcoming you back to your home away from home soon!

Kind Regards,

Paul Collymore
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Ocean Two Resort is a great hotel in St.Lawrence Gap. The hotel is very pretty, the staff is extremely helpful and friendly, and the food served at the restaurant is very good. The room we stayed in was extremely spacious and very clean. Also,the pool and beach areas are lovely.The hotel is in a good location for enjoying the Gap, but also in a good location to explore both the west and east coasts of the island.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HolmesnShizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanHotelsBarbados, Operations Manager at Ocean Two Resort & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear HolmesnShizz,

Thank you for sharing this brief but lovely review! We are truly delighted to know that you thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of your stay here with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Ocean Two Resort & Residences soon!

Kind Regards,

Paul Collymore
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

My husband, 15 year old daughter, 13 year old son, and I spent a week here in July. We were very impressed with the physical property. The lobby, pool area, beach, and rooms all look just like the pictures. We had a very spacious 2 bedroom ocean front suite. Room cleanliness and overall condition of the rooms are some of the most important factors for me in choosing a hotel, and I was very pleased with our rooms. The housekeeping staff did a terrific job. The bathrooms are beautiful with clean, spacious, showers with great water pressure. Having the in room washer/dryer was a big help. The kitchen was well-stocked with a large fridge, utensils, dishes, and appliances.

We were also impressed with the beach staff who were very helpful in setting up chaise lounges and umbrellas for us in just the right spots. The pool and beach environment were very relaxing. We never had to worry about the availability of a chaise lounge or umbrella, and the pool was never too crowded. Though the beach straight out from the pool has only a narrow access area, directly to the right is a great swimming area that is still in a very reasonable vicinity to where our beach loungers were.

My only complaint would be my great surprise in how difficult it was to get a frozen strawberry daiquiri or margarita - something that I had thought would be a basic provision at a tropical resort. On Sunday afternoon we were told that the bar was all out of the strawberry mix, so we tried again Tuesday afternoon. It was a huge disappointment to hear that they still could not make a frozen strawberry drink. (I'm not a big drinker, but was really looking forward to relaxing on a Caribbean beach with my favorite frozen cocktail.) After expressing my disappointment, the bartender was able to scrounge up some mix from the kitchen. I still don't get this!

Suggestions for improvement:
- bathroom exhaust fans (even if not required by building code)
- MORE wooden hangers in closets (There is no drawer space- other than night stands and desk - in master bedroom, so the only way to unpack clothing was to hang it in the closet)
- Though the balcony furniture is very attractive, it is not comfortable or practical. When the kids would lean on the dining table while standing up, it would tip over, spilling everything on top. The chaise lounges have bars that you can feel through the cushions - not nearly as comfortable as the ones at the pool.
- Take the vendors (and pressure) out of the Wednesday cocktail party. We had enough opportunities to deal with them every time we walked out of the hotel.

Speaking of vendors.... In prior reviews a few people complained about the "drug dealers" outside the hotel on the main road going through St. Lawrence Gap. Whenever we were out as a family we were approached only to look at jewelry or to buy a coconut ("no charge to look"). When my husband was out alone once, he was asked if he "needed anything". All you need to do is politely say no thank you, and they will leave you alone. Most vendors are not pushy, but beware of one sneaky guy on the beach trying to sell his beaded necklaces. He started chatting us up and before we knew it, was "giving" our children necklaces (warning sign - when he asks them what their favorite color is) that we then fell pressured to purchase.

We felt very safe walking around outside the hotel property. We would walk up to the main road to catch the buses to Holetown or Oistins, and would walk up and down the road through the Gap with all the restaurants. (Cafe Sol all the way at the north end of the road was our favorite.) We walked to the fish fry in Oistins on Friday night and took the local bus back. Another night we took a bus to Holetown (look for the Speightstown buses) for dinner. There were some great choices at the Lime Grove shopping center there. Some times we ended up on the non-government privately owned white buses (look like passenger vans that say "taxi"). They follow the same routes and charge the same rate, but are a fun crazy experience - riding in a van WAY overpacked with people (locals and tourists), local music blasting, windows open, and seeing how many more people they try to squeeze in.

There are many restaurant choices within walking distance to the hotel. We bought some groceries to keep in the suite for breakfast and snacks. The convenience store right outside the hotel has some basics, but we found it better to go to the big grocery store chain for more selection. The prices are outrageously high at either, so be prepared for that initial shock. You can take a southbound bus to the Super Center in Oistins or a northbound bus a mile or so up to another Super Center. (That one is about a block off the main street, but the bus driver can direct you and drop you at the right stop.)

There are many things to do outside the resort. The front desk helped us book a catamaran snorkel lunch cruise that we would highly recommend. We got to swim with pretty fish at a coral reef and amazing sea turtles further up the coast. On 2 different days we hired a taxi driver to take us around for about 5 hours to see the sights (especially on the Atlantic side) that were not so easy to get to by bus. Each time we gave them a list of particular stops and asked them to throw in anything along the way that they thought was worthwhile. It was worth the trip to see some awesome sights: Barclay's Park, Bathsheba Beach, Crane Beach, St. John's Church, St. Nicholas Abbey (and the hill top view right before entering that property). Also interesting were Harrison's Cave, Sunbury Plantation, and the Gun Hill Signal Station.

Overall our stay at Ocean Two was pretty good! It was nice to come home to a bright, clean home base and beautiful beach and pool after exploring the rest of the island.

Room Tip: Ocean view was definitely worth the premium!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank househunters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanHotelsBarbados, Operations Manager at Ocean Two Resort & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Dear househunters,

Thank you for sharing this review of your recent Ocean Two holiday experience. At Ocean Two we are dedicated to providing our guests with excellent service; as such we greatly appreciate all feedback as it helps us to recognize any areas that we may need to improve upon to ensure the highest level of guest satisfaction.

We sincerely apologize for the unfortunate experience you encountered with regards to your beverage order, as this is certainly not our usual standard. We have taken your remarks very seriously and remedial action has been taken. Your comments have also been addressed with the entire Food and Beverage team to ensure that this stark error in service is an isolated incident and certainly not repeated in the future and also to ensure that we maintain the high level of service excellence of which is our usual standard.

Overall it appears as though you had an enjoyable stay here with us, particularly appreciating our immaculately kept property, well-appointed suites and our commendable team.

We truly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Ocean Two Resort & Residences in the future!

Kind Regards,

Paul Collymore
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We have just returned from a 14 night stay with our three daughters (10, 7 and 5). We had an absolutely fantastic stay at this hotel. The rooms were spacious and clean with fantastic views over the ocean. The pool and beach areas were lovely. We were very well looked after by the staff who are all, without exception, very attentive and made our holiday a wonderful experience. Special mentions to Stefon, Earrie, Darrien and Oneal - thank you for spoiling us! We hope to return one day to Ocean Two. Look no further holiday makers - Ocean Two is the perfect spot.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rhona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanHotelsBarbados, Operations Manager at Ocean Two Resort & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Dear Rhona S,

Thank you for sharing this wonderful review of your Ocean Two Resort & Residences holiday experience. It was indeed our pleasure to have you as our guests and we are all truly delighted to know that your stay with us was enjoyable and memorable for the entire family.

Stefon, Earrie, Darrien and O’neal are sure to be thrilled by their special mentions and your lovely comments have been relayed to the entire O2 team. We look forward to welcoming you back to Ocean Two in the near future!

Kind Regards,

Paul Collymore
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews