We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon from July 6 - July 14 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We are still on our honeymoon and have had some good and some bad experiences here.
The resort is lovely, the rooms are exceptional. We have had some problems with housekeeping. Namely we had a condensation problem with moisture on the floors which was resolved by maintenance. We did not have coffee replaced on a daily basis and the tea bags were not replaced. We did have a tropical storm threaten one day and had no room serivce that day.
In general the staff is remarkable but I think that for the price there could be some additional service. Namely there could be coffee and tea available in the lobby for no charge.
The managers cocktail party was a little tacky with vendors selling jewelry and the one man band selling his CDs. We are here for a few more days and will try to express our concerns with the management and see how they respond.

Also there are drug and aloe dealers who confront you when you go to the local market. They seem harmless but can get to be annoying.

Steve Corry

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stevec33045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanHotelsBarbados, Operations Manager at Ocean Two Resort & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear stevec33045,

Thank you for sharing this review. We sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you may have experienced thus far, as we truly wish for all our guests to have an exceptional holiday experience whilst here with us. Thank you for sharing this review. Our Housekeeping Manager has also addressed this stark error in service with the entire Housekeeping team to ensure that this is an isolated incident and certainly not repeated in the future.

We appreciate that all of our guests may not venture off-property to explore our beautiful island, therefore our weekly Managers Cocktail Party provides a relaxed and social atmosphere where complimentary beverages and canapés are provided, as well as a display of authentic Barbadian culture, arts & crafts, entertainment and talent, all in an effort to enhance our guests overall holiday experience.

We certainly thank you for your kind comments regarding our excellent suites and your constructive comments. We trust that you were able to enjoy the rest of your stay here with us.

Although this trip may not have exceeded your expectations, we truly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Ocean Two Resort & Residences in the future!

Kind Regards,

Paul Collymore
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,603 - 1,609 of 2,122 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2013

I really wish I could take this hotel and the staff on every holiday I go on. Arriving was amazing, so many smiles from reception and the welcome drink and a cold towel in the lobby while we waited for the room. The room was just perfect and the view is breathtaking, we self catered for most of our stay, the kitchen really has everything you need. Use the Super Centres (Waitrose) for shopping if you can, as the local shop is a little pricey. On our first evening we took a taxi (Jahson from reception) to Oistins and on that short journey he told us just about everything we needed to know about getting around in Barbados using ZR taxis and buses.
The staff are great, so well trained and friendly from reception to the beach (via the bars) the smiles and service were incredible. Stefon is great, always smiling and chatting and so helpful, he encoraged us to go to the sunset bar on the roof which was a great way of meeting other guests to drink and chat with. Jeffrey in the pool bar was excellent, drinks and laughs just kept on coming. We had an ongoing joke with Wavell and we even made Rudolph smile. Earrie, Andre and Roggick from the pool/beach area always helpful and take time to talk and make sure you have everything you need to lie in the sun and relax or go out in the sea on one of the watery activities they offer. Non-stop fresh towels with none of this signing them out and back in that we have seen at other (supposedly better) hotels. I could go on all day.. Barbados was just a distraction compared to the hotel, there are enough things to do to fill a couple of weeks, but we mainly spent our days out on the west coast snorkelling in places like Mullins Bay and picking up fishcake sandwiches for lunch from the roadside while we were out (yummy). Try the local "Pudding and Souse" on a Saturday, but don't look at it, just eat it, it tastes great!

We also met some amazing guests on our trip, from the US and the UK - I blame the hotel for creating the environment where people just want to talk to each other (firstly about how great the place is). I have the feeling we will see some of them again soon.

Don't forget Manager's cocktails on Wednesday evenings - it's FREE and the socialising starts here (if not before)

So after all this - I just want to go back, mainly for the people and the Hotel - as I've said - move this hotel and it's people anywhere and we'll be there! See you soon I hope.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarcyPants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanHotelsBarbados, Operations Manager at Ocean Two Resort & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear MarcyPants,

A warm thank you for sharing this review of your recent Ocean Two experience!
It is such a great pleasure to know that you thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us.
At Ocean Two we place a strong emphasis on training and development, therefore it gives us great pride when guests such as yourself comment on the stellar service they received from our excellent team.

Your lovely comments have been relayed to all team members mentioned and certainly to the entire O2 team. We hope to welcome you back to Ocean Two Resort & Residences in the near future!

Kind Regards,

Paul Collymore
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

My husband and I just got back from Ocean Two and we loved it! Right when you walk into the lobby you can see the ocean in the background! It was stunning! Then they sit you down and give you a complimentary drink while you are being checked in. We were asked to put down a deposit of $100 per day per person on a credit card while checking in. We really didn't like doing this although I guess I can understand why they did this. They already had our credit card info and could have just charged it if there were any problems. We felt better when they said they wouldn't remove the extra money from our bank account unless there was something we broke, damaged, etc. All the staff were super friendly and helpful. We asked the ladies at the desk tons of questions everyday about restaurants, attractions, and various other things and they always had great recommendations! The beach was wonderful as well. Although the waves got a little big a couple of the days it was nothing we couldn't handle. You could walk down to the rest of Dover beach too which was nice but slightly more packed with people. I loved watching the kids surfing and the students at the surf school next door. The rooms were very nice as well and always kept very clean. We would love to stay here again but wish we could get a better deal. It seems slightly overpriced. Especially the restaurant food. We only dined once and the menu was limited and the prices for lunch were very similar and didn't seem worth it. I understand that Ocean Two is still new but the restaurant menu could use an improvement. My only other complaints would be the vendors on the beach and the street. I know they are trying to make money/might be homeless but I wish the maybe the beach attendant at the resort would have tried to keep some of them away instead of chatting with them like buddies. I wish the area outside the resort was a little nicer as well. There were way too many vendors who would not leave you alone. Especially at night. I felt uncomfortable walking the short walk back from dinner with my husband. As time went on I got used to it though. Overall, I would definitely recommend Ocean Two! A great spot for splurging or a honeymoon! (and definitely pay extra for the ocean view rooms!)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheljowo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanHotelsBarbados, Operations Manager at Ocean Two Resort & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear sheljowo,

Many thanks for sharing this review of your recent Ocean Two experience. We are all so pleased that you chose to celebrate such a momentous occasion with us !

We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences that occurred during your stay. At Ocean Two, the safety of our guests is of grave importance to us. As such, we have addressed your concerns with the Pool & Beach team, as we are dedicated to ensuring our guests’ comfort and satisfaction.

Overall, it seems as though you had a lovely stay here with us and we thank you for your kind remarks with regards to our relaxed check in services , our suites and amazing ocean views. We also greatly appreciate your comments with regards to your lunch dining experience, as it helps us to recognize any improvements that need to be made. We truly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Ocean Two Resort & Residences in the future.

Kind Regards,

Paul Collymore
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I have visited Barbados numerous times. Stayed everywhere from the Crane, Hilton, Accra, Courtyard Marriott, etc. nothing compares to Ocean 2. The rooms are impeccable. Had a 2 bedroom garden view. Although not Ocean front, the unit more than compensated for it. There was still plenty of sea to view from the two balconies. Plus you can not beat this location. The beach, the Dover market, walking distance to Gap, I can go on and on.

The staff was exemplary. Khadijah was so helpful in planning excursions for me and the kids. Her and I were skype-ing numerous times and her timely and professional help really made for a great holiday. The rest of the staff were excellent as well. Candace was out orientation person and did an excellent job. The guys on the beach were the bomb. Special shout out to Oneil and Errie. I apologize for not getting the names of more employees. They were all so helpful.

Can't wait to return. Missing both O2 and Barbados!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank altace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanHotelsBarbados, Operations Manager at Ocean Two Resort & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear altace,

Many thanks for sharing this review! It was indeed our pleasure to have you as our guests and we are all truly delighted to know that your stay with us was enjoyable and memorable for the entire family.

We are all quite proud that such a seasoned visitor to Barbados has ranked us as such an incomparable property! Your glowing comments have been relayed to all team members mentioned and certainly to the entire Ocean Two team! We truly hope to welcome you back to Ocean Two soon!

Kind Regards,

Paul Collymore
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The location in Barbados of Ocean Two is very well located, just near Dover Beach and down the road from Oistin's fish fry and St Lawrence Gap area which has a whole lot of restaurants and night life to choose from. It's a very newly refurbished complex which has been very tastefully done but sadly our room was a bit too small on the cupboard space. The bed was large, the bathroom a very good size with a lovely shower. We had a partial view of the sea from the side of the building. We didn't take the all inclusive or breakfast option so ate out for breakfast and dinner but there are a lot of options nearby.

Pros:
* Everyone is very friendly in the hotel and very helpful
* Location
* Large rooms amazing, small rooms reasonable
* Very clean
* Very quiet

Cons:
* When raising issues about the room, for example, a missing Do not disturb sign, it took 3 days to be brought up with multiple request. This happened with 2 other incidents but they weren't large issues
* Probably a little expensive compared to other options nearby
* Facilities a little limited
-- Kayak
-- Windsurfer
-- Boogey board

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank popLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanHotelsBarbados, Operations Manager at Ocean Two Resort & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear popLondon,

Thank you for sharing this review of your recent Ocean Two holiday experience. At Ocean Two we are dedicated to providing our guests with excellent service; as such we greatly appreciate all feedback as it helps us to recognize any areas that we may need to improve upon to ensure the highest level of guest satisfaction.

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced whilst here with us. Your comments have been addressed with the entire team to ensure that we maintain the high level of customer service of which is our usual standard.

Overall it appears as though you had an enjoyable stay with us and we truly look forward to welcoming you back to Ocean Two Resort & Residences soon!

Kind Regards,

Paul Collymore
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights and had a great time, the rooms were really modern with great views, if you wanted self catering this is the place to stay, there was everything you needed with supermarkets nearby or you could just walk ten minutes down the road and you have the all the bars and restaurants you need in St Lawrence Gap. The only disappointment was we were unable to swim in the sea as it was to rough. Staff were really friendly and helped with Anything you asked for.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carolw59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanHotelsBarbados, Operations Manager at Ocean Two Resort & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear carolw59,

Thank you for sharing this brief but glowing review! In just a few short lines you were able to highlight all of those aspects of which we take great pride, specifically our luxurious suites, spectacular views and the stellar service provided by our commendable team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Ocean Two in the near future!

Kind Regards,

Paul Collymore
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We travelled in June 13.The service was faultless,the staff were very friendly and helpful,giving us advice on what to see and how to get around.The hotel was new and very well kept The suite we had was large and very well appointed.We were all inclusive, but i think if we went again we would do B&B to sample other restaurants locally. The food we had was excellent,everything freshly cooked and plenty of choice.The beach is good with plenty of large sun beds and umbrellas same with the pool area ,2/ 3 staff on duty for drinks and look after you, the cold hand towels they bring round is a nice touch.
This is small hotel , about 80 rooms , so is quiet and relaxing.There are always plenty of staff to look after you 24/7.they are always smiling and talking to you,nothing was too much trouble.I would go back to this hotel and recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DavidM1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanHotelsBarbados, Operations Manager at Ocean Two Resort & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear DavidM1953,

A warm thank you for sharing this wonderful review of your recent stay with us! We are all truly delighted that we were able to provide you with an enjoyable and memorable holiday experience which exceeded expectations, as this is what we continuously strive to achieve.

Thank you for highlighting our luxurious, well-appointed suites and your excellent dining experience, as well as the stellar service provided by our team. We look forward to welcoming you back to Ocean Two soon!

Kind Regards,

Paul Collymore
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Lawrence Gap
0.7 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
353 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 6 in Bridgetown
3,783 reviews
8.0 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Coral Sands Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Infinity on the Beach
8.6 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Two Resort & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Two Resort & Residences

Address: Dover Road, St. Lawrence Gap BB15026, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > St. Lawrence Gap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in St. Lawrence Gap
#1 Family Hotel in St. Lawrence Gap
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St. Lawrence Gap
Price Range: $217 - $618 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Two Resort & Residences 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Two Resort & Residences is a four diamond, beachfront property located at the far end of St.Lawrence Gap with a wide array of amenities and facilities. It is the ideal location for romantic retreats, family holidays, girlfriend getaway, family reunions/group travel as well as meetings and incentive groups! With its spacious accommodations including Hotel Rooms, One Bedroom & Two Bedroom Suites with genuine, Bajan hospitality, Ocean Two is THE place to stay on the South Coast of Barbados! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, West Indies, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Ocean Two Resort & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Two Resort And Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences Hotel St Lawrence Gap
Ocean 2 Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences Barbados/St. Lawrence Gap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing