We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Perfect location, great rooms (we stayed in a one-bedroom suite).
Excellent stuff, very helpful. Excellent beach attendants. Great choice of cocktails.
Good beach, a bit rocky sometimes, but that was not an issue.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Olga K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanHotelsBarbados, Operations Manager at Ocean Two Resort & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear Olga K,

Thank you for sharing this brief but glowing review! We are all truly delighted to know that you had such an excellent stay here with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Ocean Two Resort & Residences in the near future!

Kind Regards,

Paul Collymore
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,082)
There are newer reviews for Ocean Two Resort & Residences
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,688 - 1,694 of 2,082 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2013

This hotel was a choice in a vacation package with our favorite NY based airline and we were so happy we chose it.
When we first got here we were greeted and then seated in the lounge area while the front desk person checked us in. We were handed refreshments and then later eucalyptus infused towels to freshen up and were made to feel very welcome. We were astounded to be so close to the shore. It was right there and the sound was beautiful --- like in a romantic movie --- beautiful ocean waves gently crashing.

We stayed in a one bedroom suite facing the water. The bathroom is amazing and huge, the bedroom is comfortable, the kitchen is super clean and actually looks brand spanking new and the living area was like home (but better, of course, because it was so clutter free) and then, of course, is the view from the balcony. WOW. Amazing. The balcony has two lounge chairs plus table and chairs, by the way. Very relaxing. We used the washer and dryer every day. A BIG plus for us traveling with two kids.

The hotel had a jazz band in the lounge area one night and on Wednesday evening (I think) they had a reception on the hotel roof deck that was lovely. You could mingle with other guests and they served wine and drinks with Rum and, of course, punch for the kids. That was really nice. There was another band playing music and I picked up a cute bracelet from one of the craftspeople there. Very, very lovely evening.

The hotel is near a little market and we bought groceries for breakfast there, but we also ate breakfast in the hotel a few days. The restaurants at the gap are all within a short walking distance, but there are plenty of taxis everywhere... never to worry about getting around in Barbados. The hotel also arranged a cab for us one day because we wanted to see a couple of places that weren't part of a tour. It's a very efficient way to get around - just hire a driver for a few hours. You get to learn a lot about Barbados that way as well. Every taxi driver we encountered was knowledgeable about Barbados - history, culture, economics, etc...

What else? The kids loved the pool. What was amazing to me was that the pool never got crowded. Not counting the rooftop pool, there are three different (smallish) pools and my kids were always in one of them by themselves the whole time. Many guests just enjoyed hanging out in the lounge chairs and soaking up the sun and then maybe because of schedules and so many things to do in Barbados, the families with kids were never at the pool all day. That was the same with us. It was either pool / beach in the morning or afternoon, but the other time exploring Barbados. Pool area was just never crowded and there were always chairs available .. same at the beach ... always chairs and umbrellas available. Great towel service. Oh, the beach / pool attendants were very polite and helpful. Anyway, kids loved the pool. At the beach there were boogie boards, so my son and husband boogie boarded and had an awesome time. My daughter and I, of course, made princess sand castles. It was also fun to watch the surfers. I think next to the hotel is some sort of surfing school and I enjoyed watching someone catch a wave.

To wrap up, O2 is a fantastic hotel with friendly, helpful, polite staff situated with an awesome view in an excellent location.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Weegeewoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanHotelsBarbados, Operations Manager at Ocean Two Resort & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear Weegeewoman,

A warm thank you for sharing this wonderful and highly detailed review of your recent Ocean Two experience. 

Your wrap up gives a great summation of all the wonderful aspects that makes the Ocean Two experience a unique one, our excellent location, spectacular views, our weekly complimentary Manager's cocktail party and our commendable team and the stellar and genuine service they provide.

It is truly such a pleasure to know that we were able to provide you with such a fantastic holiday experience and we hope to welcome you back to Ocean Two soon!

Kind Regards,

Paul Collymore
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

The Hotel

The hotel its self is a very new, modern and clean establishment. . The suite itself was perfect in everyway. Huge, amazingly comfortable bed, large rainfall shower and kitchenette with all the mod cons (inc. a washer dryer.) We would strong advise upgarding to a sea front room as the large balcony had picture perfect views of the beach and ocean. The pool was large enough (and never annoyingly full of children.) and had a swim up bar. There was also a fully equipment air conditioned gym if the need/want arose.

The Service

Housekeeping was amazing, the room was cleaned everyday to a very high standard (including some washing up!). The reception team were very imformative and booked excusions and gave local information advice seemlessly. The bar team were very creative and made some amazing cocktails. (Off Menu). My only citisim was that upon arrival we informed reception (as per the in room information) that we required a gluten free breakfast but this was not acted upon as no alternatives were offered at breakfast time.

The Location

Perfect. Just off the Gap and close to local transport to Bridgetown and Oistins (check out the fish fry on a Friday, but agree your menu price before you eat). There is also a mini supermarket next to the hotel which carries all the stapes (chicken and rum!) for a reasonable price.

All in all, was fanstic holiday and we would certainly reccommend to others (especially if they were on a honeymoon) and would love to return.

Room Tip: Upgrade to an Ocean View Suite Room.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nathan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanHotelsBarbados, Operations Manager at Ocean Two Resort & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear nathan G,

Many thanks for taking the time to share this review. We sincerely apologize for the breakfast dining experience you had at our Taste restaurant with regards to the lack of gluten free breakfast options that were available to you. We at Ocean Two are dedicated and determined when it comes to the satisfaction of our guests, and corrective measures are currently being implemented to ensure that this is not repeated in the future.

We thank you for your lovely remarks regarding our favorable location, immaculately maintained property, the luxuriously modern suites, and our amazing team.Overall it seems as though you had a truly fantastic stay here with us and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Ocean Two in the near future!

Kind Regards,

Paul Collymore
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

What a place! We have travelled significantly over the last 5 years, and can honestly say that we are very truthful in our reviews. This hotel rates as one of the best. It has everything that you could wish for. Brilliant food, brilliant rooms, brilliant location, brilliant beach within 20 steps of the hotel, brilliant staff and on and on.
Nothing was too much for the staff, my only one crticism is that the Bar closed at 11, however being so close to THE GAP, I understand this. Everything is very clean, rooms are huge, even though ours was one of the smaller available. The Beach and Bar staff are great, always responding to questions, bringing cold towels and misting in the hot weather, and providing out of this world cocktails to keep us refreshed! They now have a new recipie also!! We will definately visit again. Well done Ocean 2.

Room Tip: All suites offer sea views, however request front facing for beach view also.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank andrew1969_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanHotelsBarbados, Operations Manager at Ocean Two Resort & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Dear andrew1969_5,

Many thanks for sharing this glowing review of your recent Ocean Two experience! It is an absolute pleasure to know that you had such a “brilliant” holiday here with us, thoroughly enjoying all aspects of your stay.

Your lovely comments have been relayed to the entire O2 team and we look forward to welcoming you back to Ocean Two soon!

Kind Regards,

Paul Collymore
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

This hotel is superb. The apartments are fantastically well appointed and comfortable; the pool area is magic and the beaches nearby are wonderful. All the staff are just brilliant too. It really is a heavenly place to stay and well worth the not inconsiderable outlay. My wife and I opted for accommodation only which was a really good decision as there are plenty of nearby places to eat or we used the room facilities to do a bit of self-catering. In fact the in-house restaurant (Taste), is the least good thing about this hotel so our strong advice is to choose to stay at Ocean Two but give yourself the flexibility to eat locally.

Room Tip: All the rooms overlook the sea but try to get one as high as possible for best sunset views.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gommers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My wife and I just returned from a wonderful 3 week holiday in Barbados and stayed the entire time in an oceanfront one bedroom suite. O2 was exactly what we wanted--bedroom with king bed, large bathroom (huge shower), a living area with kitchen (including washer/dryer), sofas, TV, and a balcony with a view. The daily housekeeping was outstanding, and included washing the few dishes we left! We enjoyed having breakfast on the balcony and watching the view which included turtles one morning. There is a little noise to be heard from your neighbors but it was nothing to complain about.
When we think back to our O2 experience the Pool Bar staff will be first in our thoughts--led by Darrien. Having two Happy Hours a day enabled us to converse with the entire staff who were a great group--Darrien, Wavell, Jocelyn, Robyn, Charles, Jeffrey & Teresa.
We did not have food included but when we had lunch or dinner the food was fine and served in a timely manner. We probably should have had more meals there. Management should post the menus in the elevator or email for events such as St. Valentines Day, for which we booked well in advance elsewhere.
We also were NEVER contacted by the Concierge and failed to connect with her despite many attempts. Surprising to us.
Upon our arrival we were pleased that the pool and beach area were much larger than the website makes them appear. If all you want is a lounger you will love O2. Our one major disappointment is that the ocean in front is rocky and really not good for swimming. You can walk a few blocks to a large, very nice beach at Dover; or taxi/drive to our favorite Accra Beach which connected to the boardwalk.
In summary we loved our time at O2 and would happily return!

Room Tip: Definitely opt for Oceanfront and on higher floors.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IrishFan-80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanHotelsBarbados, Operations Manager at Ocean Two Resort & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear IrishFan-80,

Many thanks for sharing this review! We are all extremely delighted that you had such a lovely time here with us and we thank you for your glowing remarks with regards to our luxurious suites, the amazing views our fantastic location provides, your enjoyable dining experience and our excellent team.

However, we were quite disappointed to read about your experience with our Concierge as this is not our usual standard. Your comments have been addressed with the Concierge team to ensure that this is not repeated in the future.

Overall it seems as though you had a truly lovely time here with us and we hope to welcome you back to Ocean Two soon!

Kind Regards,

Paul Collymore
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

What a lovely hotel. Everything about this hotel is fantastic. The staff are very helpful and are eager to please. The sunbeds are like the Rolls Royce of sunbeds!
This hotel is very well situated, both for the beach and for a lovely walk down the "strip".
I am a sunbather where my husband likes to be "doing". There was plenty for him to walk out and look at and the local beer was very cheap too (£1 a bottle!)
We booked room only and decided to pay for the breakfast which worked out about £15 each. We felt that we didn't need to eat at the hotel any other time as there was plenty of other restaurants to choose from, all very reasonably priced.
We will definitely be going back to this hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DAF1Cumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanHotelsBarbados, Operations Manager at Ocean Two Resort & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear DAF1Cumbria,

Many thanks for taking the time to share this review! It is an absolute pleasure to know that you had such a fantastic time here with us, particularly enjoying our favorable location and commendable staff!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Ocean Two in the near future!

Kind Regards,

Paul Collymore
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Lawrence Gap
0.7 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
331 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 6 in Bridgetown
3,705 reviews
8.3 mi away
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
8.6 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,551 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
#10 of 51 in Christ Church Parish
1,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Two Resort & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Two Resort & Residences

Address: Dover Road, St. Lawrence Gap BB15026, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > St. Lawrence Gap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in St. Lawrence Gap
#1 Romantic Hotel in St. Lawrence Gap
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St. Lawrence Gap
Price Range: $191 - $518 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Two Resort & Residences 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Two Resort & Residences is a four diamond, beachfront property located at the far end of St.Lawrence Gap with a wide array of amenities and facilities. It is the ideal location for romantic retreats, family holidays, girlfriend getaway, family reunions/group travel as well as meetings and incentive groups! With its spacious accommodations including Hotel Rooms, One Bedroom & Two Bedroom Suites with genuine, Bajan hospitality, Ocean Two is THE place to stay on the South Coast of Barbados! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Ocean Two Resort & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Two Resort And Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences Hotel St Lawrence Gap
Ocean 2 Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences Barbados/St. Lawrence Gap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing