We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Certificate of Excellence
frome, somerset
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The Perfect Stay”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 11 nights at the end of January and this place is just perfect. Its is located a short walk from St Lawrence Gap and we loved the walk. You really get a great feel of Barbados here, with a great mix of the tourists and the locals. You dont get this experience on the affluent West Coast. Everyone is so friendly.

We stayed on the 2nd floor in one of the 1 bedroom appartments. The appartment was a great place to stay. The bed was very comfortable and the room was very quiet. The bathroom had a fantastic power shower and it was really handy having a small kitchen area. But the best thing was opening up the double doors onto the balcony, looking over the pool and the beach. Stunning!

We were staying on a bed and breafast basis and breakfast was perfect. There was everything that you could possibly want and it varied every day. I especially liked the omlette station and the hotels banana bread!

Now, where to start about the communial areas of this hotel. Everyone at Ocean Two is friendly and helpful. Everyone always speaks and asks if they can help and asks how you are. Its things like this that really make a difference. The reception staff were always happy to make restaurant reservations for us and the staff around the pool always found sun loungers,even if it seemed there werent any available. I must especially mention Shantelle and O'Neil. Shantelle was always asking if we were ok and needed drinks and was always chatty and helpful. O'Neil was just as great, arranging a great trip us on our last morning. The other i noticed about Ocean Two was that it was immaculately clean.

My only criticism is the menu selection at lunch. It is very limited and needs more choice of sandwiches and things like that. Not everyone wants to eat fish and chips and big hamburgers for lunch. Also it didnt change during our stay. Having said that, what they did do, was very nice, it was just limiting.

Ocean Two is a must stay and we can not wait to return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SOMERSET1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanHotelsBarbados, Operations Manager at Ocean Two Resort & Residences, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear SOMERSET1970,

Thank you for taking the time to share this review and many thanks for your glowing remarks with regards to the rooms and our team! At Ocean Two we continuously strive to provide our guests with excellent service and a memorable experience and from your comments it seems as though we hit the mark.

We greatly appreciate your comments with regards to your lunch dining experience as guest satisfaction is of the utmost importance to us. We are currently in the process of reviewing our Lunch menu and new items will be implemented in the near future to provide our guests with a greater variety of options.

Overall it seems as though you had a fantastic stay here with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Ocean Two soon!

Kind Regards,

Paul Collymore
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,030 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,458
    447
    95
    18
    12
See reviews for
475
1,153
47
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (695)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubuque, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We had an amazing week at Ocean Two, Jan. 25- Feb. 1. Everything was immaculate, all the time. The staff were all helpful and polite without being intrusive. The pools were gorgeous, the roof top terrace was fabulous, the beach was stunning. I honestly don't know what more you could ask for! There have been some complaints about the restaurant and I will admit the service is slow. But the food was very good and you can hear the ocean, so what's your hurry? Relax and enjoy a leisurely dinner while you're on vacation! If you have places to be, there are several local delis a half block away.
We did not have a meal plan so I can't comment on that. We bought some staples and had a light breakfast and usually lunch in our apartment. Groceries are outrageously expensive, $6/dozen eggs, $12 for a gallon of canned milk. If we go back I will pack an extra suitcase with food! (Not milk or eggs, obviously.)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KristaLynnB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanHotelsBarbados, Operations Manager at Ocean Two Resort & Residences, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear KristaLynnB,

Thank you for sharing this wonderful review!

From your comments it seems as though we were able to provide you with a truly enjoyable and memorable holiday experience and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Ocean Two in the near future!

Kind Regards,

Paul Collymore
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Amazing Hotel not too big . We were upgraded to the penthouse suite for my daughters 40th birthday .Beach well looked after Nothing too much trouble for the staff evertone was very helpful . Best to have an ocean veiw room its more expensive but well wofth it . Good location easy to get around . Best Hotel I have stayed in

Room Tip: Ocean veiw on a higher floor for the veiws .
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank June R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanHotelsBarbados, Operations Manager at Ocean Two Resort & Residences, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear June R,

Thank you for your brief but glowing review! We are all so delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay here with us and are truly honored to have been named as the best hotel you have stayed in.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Ocean Two soon!

Kind Regards,

Paul Collymore
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

We booked a last minute trip to Barbados from the UK, using trip advisor as a guide on which hotel to stay at. It's very rare to find a hotel that lives up to the star rating on trip advisor, however Ocean Two does not disappoint. From the sea view check-in & welcome cocktails, to the beach peppermint cooling down spray, ocean two surpassed my expectations. For a hotel so young, they have done a great job in providing R&R for its clients.

We stayed on room only basis & very happy with that choice. We made our breakfast every morning, with groceries from the mini-mart across the road. We had lunch there a few times & I would agree with other reviews. The service is a tad bit slow & not much change in menu, so very happy we had the option to eat out.

Great job well done to all Ocean Two & we hope to come back for a repeat visit to your slice of paradise.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank AMC79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanHotelsBarbados, Operations Manager at Ocean Two Resort & Residences, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear AMC79,

Thank you for sharing this review of your recent Ocean Two experience! We truly encourage all guest feedback as it not only allows us to better recognize what we are doing correctly, as well as the areas that may need some improvement, but it also provides an unbiased and honest resource to assist guests such as yourself when planning their dream holiday.

We are all quite thrilled that you had such an enjoyable stay here with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to "Paradise" soon!

Kind Regards,

Paul Collymore
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESSEX
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I didn't stay here as I had not heard of it but I was told about the jazz musicians in the bar on sunday nights so popped along with friends whilst staying nearby .. and was amazed at the standard and quality of the music, what a lovely, talented group! The bar and area was beautiful with lovely lounge chairs, ideal for soaking up the music. Long may it continue, I may even stay there next time I visit the island.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LINALLEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanHotelsBarbados, Operations Manager at Ocean Two Resort & Residences, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear LINALLEN,

Thank you for sharing this review of our Sunday night Jazz entertainment! We hope to welcome you back to Ocean Two, whether it be as a guest for the Jazz or as a guest to the hotel, in the near future!

Kind Regards,

Paul Collymore
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

This hotel certainly lives up to anyone’s expectations. It is located near to the airport and a range of shops, locally known as “the gap”.

We had an apartment which had a kitchen that had everything you can think of in it including a dishwasher, washing machine, and fridge and also tea and coffee are provided.


The staff are very helpful and can’t do enough to assist you, cold water on the beach, a service flag to fetch drinks and snacks and towels and loungers readily available, Sunday is the only day it tends to get busy early on the beach.

The restaurant tends to have the same menu so if you are all inclusive, as we were, you may find it a bit repetitive, they provide silver service, so the waiting time is at least an hour to get your food, but it is cooked beautifully.


The only negative found was with the confusion over the all inclusive and what was included, certain items of the menu are not, like Tapas, Lobster, lamb and Steak, but this is not highlighted anywhere and we were not informed, this also applies to alcohol drinks and certain cocktails, staff were confused as to what was included and it was rather annoying. We were presented with a bill for 1300 dollars, I made contact with the hotel manager and the matter was cleared but was a pain.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
24 Thank DeerUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanHotelsBarbados, Operations Manager at Ocean Two Resort & Residences, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear DeerUk,

Thank you for taking the time to share this review. We sincerely apologize for the lack of communication exhibited and the inconvenience you encountered with regards to the All Inclusive Meal Plan package, as this is not our usual standard. We have addressed these comments with our team and have implemented measures to ensure that this error is not repeated.

We do thank you for your lovely comments about the property and our staff, as it seems as though overall you had quite an enjoyable stay with us!

We hope to welcome you back to Ocean Two in the near future!

Kind Regards,

Paul Collymore
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

You don't often get to say this, but Ocean Two was actually better than the travel brochure made it sound! We booked through Air Canada Vacations and expected to stay in a regular hotel room, but instead were given a one-bedroom ocean front apartment. The hotel is only two years old and it's clear that a lot of money was spent on kitting it out, so the accommodations were excellent. Bedroom is a bit small but the living/dining is more than adequate and the kitchen very well equipped -- even a washer and dryer!

We only used the restaurant for lunch (a la carte most days, buffet once a week) but there are plenty of restaurants not too far away. Note, however, that Ocean Two is at Dover beach, a long way from the busiest part of the gap, so unless you like long walks, you will need to take a taxi from time to time.

Pools are reasonably spacious though not very deep. Beach has been reclaimed and is quite steep once you enter the water -- take note of the warning flags! There are lots of loungers at both beach and pool, and the staff are always happy to move them around for you. Because Ocean Two practically has the beach to itself, there is a welcome absence of vendors.

We have long experience in Barbados (40 years!) so we know that properties can start strong but then fade a bit as maintenance gets scrimped on and the elements take their toll. Would be nice to think that Ocean Two will be able to avoid that fate -- right now it's an excellent addition to the hotel scene in Barbados.

Room Tip: Try for an ocean view. Lower numbers on each floor are further from the bar and restaurant so may b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank jimweibo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanHotelsBarbados, Operations Manager at Ocean Two Resort & Residences, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear jimweibo,

Many thanks for sharing this glowing review! It is always such an esteemed pleasure to receive such high accolades from seasoned visitors of our precious island.

Thank you for highlighting the high quality of accommodations we offer, along with our well maintained pool and beach areas.

We truly hope that after such an excellent stay with us that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Ocean Two in the near future!

Kind Regards,

Paul Collymore
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Lawrence Gap
0.7 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
307 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
3,612 reviews
8.3 mi away
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
8.1 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,049 reviews
8.6 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Two Resort & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Two Resort & Residences

Property: Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Address: Dover Road, St. Lawrence Gap BB15026, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > St. Lawrence Gap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in St. Lawrence Gap
#1 Family Hotel in St. Lawrence Gap
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St. Lawrence Gap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Two Resort & Residences 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Two Resort & Residences is a four diamond, beachfront property located at the far end of St.Lawrence Gap with a wide array of amenities and facilities. It is the ideal location for romantic retreats, family holidays, girlfriend getaway, family reunions/group travel as well as meetings and incentive groups! With its spacious accommodations including Hotel Rooms, One Bedroom & Two Bedroom Suites with genuine, Bajan hospitality, Ocean Two is THE place to stay on the South Coast of Barbados! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Ocean Two Resort & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean 2 Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences Hotel St Lawrence Gap
Ocean Two Resort And Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences Barbados/St. Lawrence Gap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing