We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Didnt want to go home!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Certificate of Excellence
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Didnt want to go home!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

Just spent a week at this hotel and wished we had stayed longer. We were also there for the Crop Over festival which was amazing and brillinat experience to be part of. The food on the street cooked by the local ladies was superb!
The reception staff were really welcoming and check-in was lovely - we felt so looked after. We had a one bedroom ocean front suite that was superb with separate bedroom, lounge and kitchen area. The bathroom was large with two sinks and the walk-in shower was fabulous. Balcony was huge and great to sit and have breakfast everyday - although we did eat in the hotel restaurant for breakfast twice. It works out around £10.00 each. Sunbeds by the pool were so comfortable and very large - almost like lying on a queen size bed! Beach was beautiful and quite secluded as the hotel is last hotel built on the Gap so there are not lots of people walking by all the time. We were disppointed thought that the hotel bar closed so early every night - we went back one night approx 11.pm and all closed up which is disappointing for a five star hotel.
Venturing out at night to restaurants and bars was easy - just turn left and walk. Takes about 15 mins to walk the length and there are plenty of bars and restaurants on the route. It can be a little eery at night in the dark as there are some areas poorly lit and this is where a couple of beggars seem to lurk asking for change but after the first couple of nights it didnt bother us and we felt perfectly safe. Locals can be vocal as you leave the hotel but its all harmless banter. Local food was fantastic and a short walk up the beach at lunchtime and round the headland found us at some of the local beach bars which all serve great food and really cheap. Jerk chicken, fish cakes and rice and peas for lunch and a beer will cost you approximately £5.00. We had lunch and dinner one night at Jimmy Cools Jazz and Blues bar on the beach and this was also great food for about £10.00 a head excluding drinks. Cafe Sol was very popular Mexican bar and restaurant right at the other end of the Gap and we went here twice during our stay as music and atmosphere great from early on. The Gap doesnt get going till 11 ish so it can feel quite quiet until then. Food was great, service not the best but hey thats Barbados and everyone is very relaxed!! Word of warning if you are going out to eat- most places stop serving at 9.30pm - we missed dinner one night as had left the hotel at 8.00 and stopped en route for a couple of drinks; by the time we went to restaurant no-one would serve us kitchen closed!! This seemed to be the case everywhere except Cafe Sol. If you like coffee then turn right out of the hotel and Ocean 15 on the corner has a great coffee bar thats open from 7.00am. Theres a small supermarket as you walk out of the hotel but quite expensive and not a lot of choice but will serve you with all the basics. We hired an open top jeep for the day to see more of the island and this was great day out and good value for money. Bottom Bay is a must to go and see - like a scene from Robinson Crusoe! The half day catamaran cruise was also great value for money and the staff on board were fantastic. We went on the Stiletto Catamaran and Sheldon was amazing and full of knowledge - lunch onboard was superb and the drinks just kept flowing. An absolute must is Oistins Fish Fry on Friday night. Get there early or you wont get a seat or get fed. We arrived about 6.45 and found a seat at Pats Place. Waitress served us and we had an amazing plate of food for about a tenner and then drinks on top. Within an hour the place was packed and people were queuing around the corner. People were sat waiting an hour for food to arrive so we timed it perfectly as all the travel guides had said to go early so take heed!! The fish fry is on every niht but friday is party night and there are lots of market stalls selling giftds and crafts and DJ on stage playing music and everyone dancing - brilliant night out!! 10 days would have been excellent so we really didnt want to come home. Ocean Two Resort was fabulous place to stay in great location and we are definitely going back next year!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank ALB A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,958 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,414
    427
    92
    15
    10
See reviews for
448
1,123
45
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (675)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

We spent two weeks in this lovely hotel and could not find fault with anything. From the welcome at check-in to our reluctant farewell, we really had a wonderful relaxing holiday. We had a two-roomed spacious penthouse with two verandas and a view to die for! What distinguishes this hotel from others is the level of service from all members of staff. Nothing was ever too much trouble and requests were always addressed with charm and a smile. A special mention must go to Shantelle, who kept us well-hydrated on the beach, to Patrick and Eerie who kept us cool and made us laugh, and to Paige and Stefan who looked after us so well in the restaurant. We went for the half-board option which did get a little repetitive in our second week. We broke out and had some great meals out in Pisces and Champers on several nights. Perfect location. We loved it. We will be back! Thank you Ocean 2
The Halligan Family, UK

Room Tip: Go for a penthouse suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol111525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

Just returned from a fantastic holiday at Ocean 2. The hotel may not have a security gate and sweeping drive but is unassumingly situated at Dover Beach at the end of the Gap.
The staff were excellent, friendly and so happy to chat and offer advice. Oneal, Jeffrey, Elsie, Melinda, Kemar, Orlando the list is endless.
The hotel is new and furnished to a very high standard. We stayed in a 2 room ocean front apartment and it was fab. Every item you could need for self catering with the luxury of a top hotel. The sea view was stunning to wake up to.
The only serves food to a very high standard but is limited and so I am glad we did not go All Inclusive. Having said that it is not cheap to eat out and food even from the supermarkets is expensive. Dover Market across from the hotel has good variety and whilst more expensive than the larger suppliers supports the local community. Scottys just down from the Hotel is where the locals eat so you know the food is authentic and good. We were never bothered or harassed walking around and the local Bajan people friendly.
The pool and beach area were never crowded and lots of beds and umbrellas to be had. The sea was quite rough but good for surfing and bogey boarding.
We did Harbour Lights but preferred Bajan Rhythm and Roots for a taste of island entertainment.
The hotel manager was always around, met guests at his weekly party and seemed to genuinely care about the service provided. The roof top plunge pool is a must for great views of Barbados.
On a slightly negative note the Gap felt a little tired, a few closed Hotels and in need of a makeover.
Ocean 2 was however fantastic and we would definitely return, hopefully soon!

Room Tip: Ocean view worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank arizona71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

This has to be one of the most enjoyable holidays and hotels we have stayed in - 11 nights just wasn't long enough! From the very welcoming and friendly staff and emaculate rooms to the glorious setting, everything was just perfect! Rooms had absolutely everything we needed.
All the staff at the hotel were incredibly accommodating and helpful, however some deserve a special mention. Keena and all on front desk for their help, in particular arranging our son's birthday cake and balloons, making his birthday incredibly special (thanks also to the chef who baked an amazing cake!). Jackie & all the hardworking ladies who cleaned our room to perfection! Patrick, Earnie, Shantelle, O'Neal & all at the pool & beach for their warm, friendly smiles, tireless work attending to guests & kept us cool with cold mint spray, ice cold flannels & ice cold water to drink - nothing was too much trouble. There were always enough beach chairs & towels. Wavell & all at the bar served up delicious cocktails daily-not to be missed! And finally, O'neal who during near hurricane winds was seen out at sea doing what can only be described as a brave olympic level performance on his windsurfer - it was amazing to watch! Our children enjoyed their days surfing right on the beach in front of the hotel thanks to a great surf school next door - Barry's surf school.
We only ate at the hotel a few times for lunch & dinner but the food we had was very good. A really excellent jazz band played on Sunday evenings - be good it they played on other nights too as it did add something special.
Although we had one bad storm and it did rain a little on a couple of days, it never detracted from having a fantastic time and the hotel did everything possible to make our stay memorable. This hotel cannot be faulted and we shall definitely return!

Room Tip: 7th Floor - Ocean front rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dcep4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

Sure i could talk about the few minor aspects of the hotel - the lifts and the fact they run out of some ingredients at the bar, etc. but this hotel deserves better than that.

We stayed in 2 different rooms (5nights in a hotel room, 7nights in a Suite) in July/Aug.

For us it was everything we could have wanted from a hotel. Fantastic facilities, modern rooms, friendly and fantastic staff, a good/complimentary wifi service, excellent layout, lovely beach & beautiful sea. Oh my god - the sunbeds are out of this world comfortable!

For me, what sums up a great hotel is the little things. This hotel delivers on that front - ie the poolside service with the cold towels, iced water and aloa Vera spray which is done purely for the guests benefit.

The location is quite close to St Lawrence Gap, with its plenty of restaurants- either on foot or by taxi -so plenty of places to go out to eat. I would recommend heading to Oistins just for dinner in the evening. I would also recommend Happy Days cafe (a little further up towards the Gap) for breakfast and lunch as well Scotty's (yellow little shop/restaurant a couple of doors away). Ocean 15 (across the road) do good coffee and breakfast options.

Don't forget this isn't a resort, this is a hotel with swimming pools that's on the beach. A beautiful beach.  If you are the resort holiday folk that only leave the hotel for day trips on coaches, then this IS NOT for you.

NB - The area outside the hotel probably isn't for a shy retiring type. Local 'businessmen' hangout on the main street near the hotel (out of sight until you leave the hotel) selling various things and try to talk to you every time you walk by. Just ignore them or say 'no thanks' and that's it.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LovinTheGoodStuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

It was my first visit to the Caribbean and I really did have high expectations having travelled Europe and America extensively. I thought the blue seas really wouldn't be as blue as the photos are. I didnt think the hotel really would be on the beach and yet as you enter the lobby, the first thing you set your eyes on is the pool, the beach and the most beautiful Caribbean sea! I was blown away-our apartment, with two king sized beds, two bathrooms (one had the biggest shower I had ever seen) and a spacious kitchen/dining room/living room was also perfect. Without a doubt, pay for a balcony- views are spectacular and we used to see turtles every day poke their heads above the water - a surreal experience.

The staff are first class- Shontelle, Earrie, Patrick, Keena and many more I can't remember the names of, were all exceptional. They really cared and were incredibly polite and always asked how our holiday was going - whether they were security, housekeeping or a painter! Loved them- bajans are so welcoming.

Watch out for turtles laying their eggs on the beach- it was fantastic!

We went to Sandy Lane for the day, to visit the hotel, see what the fuss was about and have some lunch. Yes the old buildings are beautiful and the staff were also helpful. However the beach was a complete disappointment and we did feel that if you'd payed as much as you would have to in order to stay at sandy lane, you'd feel a little disappointed. All in all, it was a lovely day out but we really really really looked forward to getting back to ocean two at the end of it! A lot more hawkers were seen on Sandy Lane beach too which would have irritated us.

Nothing was a problem for the staff- they helped with everything- from delivering complimentary bottles of wine for birthdays/ anniversaries to helping you find the nearest emergency medical clinic at 2am! The cocktail parties are great fun.

We were concerned about what we were going to eat and we did visit a few restaurants around the hotel only to find that we preferred staying in and having room service (only an extra BD$10!) than paying just as much to eat somewhere else. Some items on the lunch menu were also available at dinner.

The weather was a little touch and go- a fair bit of rain didn't spoil the holiday but it occasionally got in the way when relaxing on the beach. Some spectacular rainbows though!!

Overall we will definitely go back. We spent a lot of money on this holiday and had very high expectations (previous hotels included The Ritz) and yet ocean two still delivered and this was our best holiday yet. Thank you, O2.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank EmiliaGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

I am a bit biased as I was born in Barbados. Normally when I visit I usually stay with family. This was my first time staying at a hotel my entire visit. Everything was great, I could not have asked for a better experience. I have had the opportunity to visit three hotels my relatives have stayed at one point or another while I was visiting and Oceans 2 is by far my favorite.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TADGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Lawrence Gap
3.2 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,448 reviews
8.1 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
0.7 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
10.3 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
0.4 mi away
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
#11 of 49 in Christ Church Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Two Resort & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Two Resort & Residences

Property: Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Address: Dover Road, St. Lawrence Gap BB15026, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > St. Lawrence Gap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in St. Lawrence Gap
#1 Romantic Hotel in St. Lawrence Gap
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St. Lawrence Gap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Two Resort & Residences 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Two Resort & Residences is a brand new, four diamond, beachfront property located at the far end of St.Lawrence Gap with a wide array of amenities and facilities. It is the ideal location for romantic retreats, family holidays, girlfriend getaway, family reunions/group travel as well as meetings and incentive groups! With its spacious accommodations including Hotel Rooms, One Bedroom & Two Bedroom Suites with genuine, Bajan hospitality, Ocean Two is THE place to stay on the South Coast of Barbados! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, BookIt.com, seekda GmbH, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ocean Two Resort & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean 2 Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences Hotel St Lawrence Gap
Ocean Two Resort And Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences Barbados/St. Lawrence Gap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing