We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely resort but has some issues” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Two Resort & Residences

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Certificate of Excellence
Western Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely resort but has some issues”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2011

The resort is nicely furnished and most service staff are really friendly. Our Bay room was overlooked by other resorts balconies. We did not like our room (311 A and B) because of this issue as we have teenage daughters who did not feel comfortable with this. We requested a 2 bed and bath but got joining one bedroom and studio which was not ideal because they were separated by doors which we could not keep open (no magnetic doors) and we had to keep opening with our keys. My main issue was that we were separated on a family vacation. I can't help but feel I did not get what I paid for. I would stay here again one more time to give another chance and make sure I contact the resort direct before arriving to ensure all our needs are met. If you have small children the beach is not smooth and a bit rough and the sand is rocky but has great waves for boarding, surfing etc. The room issue is the reason I scored moderately

Good -
Beach attendants - really attentive, work all the time and offer to look out for children on beach a great example of Bajan friendliness

door service staff - offer to carry groceries, help with luggage to taxi etc

Pam the maid - very friendly and good to talk to

When air conditioner broke down the communication to guests was good and we were offered $50 credit

Free cocktail night on Wednesday

great views from the Roof top pool

Modern furnishings and lovely ocean outlook from ground entrance

Not so Good -
Check in took one hour (although the resort offered free drink and bar food for taking so long most people when arriving from a long flight just want to get to their rooms and settle not wait for an hour or so)

The free food took another hour to arrive

Front desk staff when dealing with our bay room issues - they did not offer any solutions to our bathroom window issue where we could not undress to take a shower or bath in comfort as the windows are overlooked by other resort balconies and the road
Also I requested an ocean view 2 bed and bath room which I never got and was told different stories by reception on why? one story was because I booked thru Interval International I get a cheaper room and the other was because when Interval booked they did not request (which i specifically asked for a ocean view 2 bed and bath rooms when booking this hotel and would of gladly paid the extra to get)

Room Tip: Bay rooms have windows in Bathroom that may be viewed by persons from the road or other resort balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SandgroperWA7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,906 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,375
    417
    90
    15
    9
See reviews for
434
1,090
43
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (666)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lighthouse Point, Florida
Level Contributor
87 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2011

New resort beautiful rooms. We booked an ocean view suite. It was huge with gorgeous furnishings. The view was amazing. The resort has a Miami Vibe to it once you arrive. You can walk to the gap but after a day or so you pretty much covered all the restaurants. We have a suite on the 2nd floor South side of bldg. loud garbage truck with music & load workers at 5am on a Saturday morning. Could not go back to sleep. There are a few big things that need to be fixed right away if they plan on being successful. The bartender in the lobby has no personality which I am shocked since most people on the island are very hospitible. By asking for a drink he was inconvienenced by you. He is snide and rude, no wonder no one was hanging at the cool lobby bar. The restaurant is kinda strange a bit makeshift and the wait was soooo long for food. I was told by someone that the cooks dont get paid much so they take there time. We waited for literally an hour and half for our breakfast. The food is excellent once you get it. No pool or beach beverage/food service, you have to get up and order it yourself. No food menu or room service you have to go to restaurant and order it yourself and they close very early. It was pouring rain outside we had to order a pizza and have it delivered. The front desk was always helpful, Oneil the beach boy was very friendly and always wiling to give tips on where to go. Not much to do in Barbados unless you are into watersports and fine dining at the outrageous restaurants on the island. Plan on bringing lots of cash $20- each way to anywhere on the westside of the island. Met alot of people who have been coming to Barbados for 20-30 years, they are obviously blind not knowing all the other fabulous places they could be visiting in the caribbean as well.

Room Tip: Request an oceanview suite on the higher levels
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shlvallejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2011

The BITTER
My fiancé and I stayed at Ocean Two for the duration of our annual Thanksgiving getaway. We booked the basic hotel room for 6 nights/7 days. The room is pretty small, but doable especially if you plan to spend most of your time out and about and not in your room. The “bitter” part of my review relates to the missing amenities and “special” touches I thought this hotel would have considering all the previous reviews. Our stay was fine and the hotel was beautifully decorated, but unfortunately for us, we found many four star amenities and attributes lacking. We had no slippers/bathrobes in our rooms and had to ask for these 3 times before they were provided. One morning, housekeeping came into our room while we were in the bed (unclothed) because she thought she was entering a different room. The lock to our room was broken and at one point we were locked in our room for an hour. We also did not have an iron and didn’t realize this until we were trying to get ready (and at the same time locked in our room and unable to receive said iron). Our iPod docking station also did not work. These are very small things and I hate to complain (especially about things that go wrong in paradise ☺), however these little things add up and do not make a resort 4 star.

In my opinion, this resort is really not set up to be a hotel. If you are in the hotel room, there should be around the clock options for those who cannot cook. There were no vending machines, ice machines, (you can request an ice bucket and go down to the lobby for ice), mini-refrigerators, or 24 hr room service (restaurant closes at 10pm).

Another frustration was with the knowledgeableness the front staff. Sometimes we would approach the staff for recommendations on where to go and what to do and they seemed unable to give comprehensive advice on restaurants and areas to visit. To be fair, some staff members were more knowledgeable than others, but it got to the point that we stopped asking for guidance and relied on people we met at the resort and Tripadvisor forums and reviews to guide us. It would have been helpful if the staff had a handy “cheat sheet” of some kind to give guests so they could have a starting point of restaurants and what not to choose from.

Lastly, I thought there would be beach flag service…. There was one day that I think I saw a hotel staff member handing out beach flags, but he never gave one to us. Every other day I saw no beach flags...

Also - a note for those who LOVE a sandy beach that you can play in, this may not be the hotel for you if you like to go straight from your lounger to the ocean. The stretch directly in front of the hotel is rocky. We walked a little ways down to Dover beach and found perfect conditions there however.

The SWEET
Trust me, the vacation was not all bad by any means. We really had a blast and loved Barbados. In fact, due to some of the issues mentioned above, we were challenged to be more adventurous and explore the area with a little less hand holding, which turned out to be very fun! We ended up exploring several other beaches and via trial and error (and TA) and lucking up on some tasty eats!

I cannot say enough about the hospitality shown to us by Daniel, the Facilities Manager. Through the whole broken lock/locked in ordeal, he was extremely sincere and calming. Even though the whole situation was less than ideal, he was great in handling it and we appreciate that. Also, Natalie, the Front Office Manager did listen to our concerns and was patient and apologetic. She extended herself to make sure these small things did not get in the way of our vacation. We appreciated having her attention and attempting to remedy the situation.

All in all, we loved Barbados and had a great time. Even though the “bitter” things did not ruin our vacation, they did damper some moments.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Vacayjunkie84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

We stayed for 7 nights in a double room and can thoroughly recommend it, the location is great for the bars and restaurant in St Lawrences Gap. The pool area is amazing with the comfiest sun loungers i have every experienced!
The rooms are really nice and the staff are awesome. We ate outside of the hotel as the restaurant is probably the only weak point to this amazing hotel, but as there are plenty of places within walking distance this wasn't a problem...

I cannot recommend this place enough!

Room Tip: sea view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ELRiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raynham, Massachusetts
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2011

This was a gorgeous property but the next door neighbors not so pretty. We had 2 rooms and neither of them were ocean front. The staff was great even dug a hole for the small children to play on the beach under an umbrella due to the water being to rough for them to swim in.

Room Tip: ask for a high room for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pmferreira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2011

We did a lot of research on Trip Advisor and this Hotel had some great reviews. We had an absolutely amazing time right from our arrival at the hotel. We were greeted by the Front of Desk Manager with a refreshing cocktail and cold towel and then immediately shown to our room (710A). We upgraded to a One Bedroom Apartment and the room was probably the best room we have stayed in across a number of hotels.

The kitchen/Living area was well equipped - full kitchen and huge TV, full dining and sitting area. The bedroom was modern and the was bed large and so comfortable (loads of pillows).

The Bathroom - well what can I say, 2 sinks and the most amazing wet-room/shower.

Our balcony was again a really good size with 2 sun loungers and a table with 4 chairs, with a view of the pool, beach and ocean - waking up each day to the sea was such a peaceful and relaxing way to drink your coffee.

The great thing about the apartment was that you are not limited to breakfast / lunch at a set time, you could buy food from the supermarket over the road as it suited.

The Hotel has both a pool leading to the beach as well as a roof-top pool, which we had to ourselves most days. The only thing missing was someone coming round offering drinks.

We would definitely recommend going room only and trying the local restaurants - Tapas, Pisces, Champers, Harlequin and of course Oistins on Friday (or Saturday) evening. The hotel staff booked restaurants/Taxis etc for us no problem and gave advice.

We couldn’t fault this hotel, the room or the staff and would absolutely recommend. We had a perfect holiday and wouldn't hesitate to go back.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a One Bedroom Apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mharris82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harbeson, Delaware
Level Contributor
149 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

Rooms are wonderfully appointed, help is so friendly and have lots of ideas for places to go and see. Beach is private and close proximity to many places to eat and see within walking distance.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice. Bring your laptop as they don't have a computer/office room available fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TVL4Ever3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Lawrence Gap
3.2 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,364 reviews
8.0 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
0.7 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
10.2 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
0.4 mi away
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
#11 of 49 in Christ Church Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Two Resort & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Two Resort & Residences

Property: Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Address: Dover Road, St. Lawrence Gap BB15026, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > St. Lawrence Gap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in St. Lawrence Gap
#1 Romantic Hotel in St. Lawrence Gap
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St. Lawrence Gap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Two Resort & Residences 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Two Resort & Residences is a brand new, four diamond, beachfront property located at the far end of St.Lawrence Gap with a wide array of amenities and facilities. It is the ideal location for romantic retreats, family holidays, girlfriend getaway, family reunions/group travel as well as meetings and incentive groups! With its spacious accommodations including Hotel Rooms, One Bedroom & Two Bedroom Suites with genuine, Bajan hospitality, Ocean Two is THE place to stay on the South Coast of Barbados! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Kognitiv US Corp, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Kognitiv US Corp, BookIt.com, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Ocean Two Resort & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean 2 Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences Hotel St Lawrence Gap
Ocean Two Resort And Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences Barbados/St. Lawrence Gap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing