We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“worth a stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sweet Potatoes - CLOSED

Sweet Potatoes
Cuisines: Caribbean
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Calgary
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“worth a stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

We found the food here to be very tasty and the wait staff were great at describing the different dishes. The fact the atmosphere was "lacking" as some people mention is all part of the charm. It was one of our best meals in the Gap.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rhona D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    61
    30
    27
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Only authentic food on the Gap ...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

We love Sweet Potatoes ... it is the only authentic Bajan food on the Gap. Sure its a bit rundown and idiosyncratic but personally we love it. The proprietor is friendly and the service is good. I think the other thing you have to put in context is the price. I mean ... they practically give the food away. We go to the Gap every January and eat in all the more fashionable haunts but always make sure we have a couple of visits to Sweet Potatoes. Its a real place.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PaulJohnson999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Strange atmosphere”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

Think we must have visited on an off night looking at all the other reviews for this place. After looking at the menu we were told cash only, then everything we asked for was not available. Ordered drinks at the bar while waiting, very friendly barmaid - but gave us both the wrong drinks. Both of us started to get a bad feeling about the place as it seemed very disorganised, and the owner was "having words" with a couple of Bajan guys who were there to pull people in off the street. Decided to drink up and leave - so cannot comment on the food

  • Visited January 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richsass_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
379 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“A Bajan delight”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

We ate here not quite knowing what to expect. We were pleasantly surprised. The food was true Bajan cooking and very flavoursome. The setting was was excellent and the restaurant was clearly popular. The only niggle was the slow service and unfortunately they forgot my starter. Those aside it is worth a visit.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank IanMac1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food. Atmosphere a bit lacking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

Food was great Bajan cuisine at a good price but atmosphere was a bit lacking. Perhaps the night of the week we went.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ambrose2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweet Potatoes also viewed

St. Lawrence Gap, Christ Church Parish
St. Lawrence Gap, Christ Church Parish
 
St. Lawrence Gap, Christ Church Parish
St. Lawrence Gap, Christ Church Parish
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing