We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Southern Palms
Nearby Hotels
Ocean Two Resort & Residences(St. Lawrence Gap)(Great Value!)
$303
$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yellow Bird Hotel(St. Lawrence Gap)(Great Value!)
$195
$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rostrevor Hotel(St. Lawrence Gap)(Great Value!)
$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Time Out Hotel(St. Lawrence Gap)(Great Value!)
$111
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
South Gap Hotel(St. Lawrence Gap)(Great Value!)
$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Divi Southwinds Beach Resort(Christ Church Parish)
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sandals Royal Barbados(St. Lawrence Gap)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sandals Barbados(St. Lawrence Gap)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,080)
Filter reviews
1,080 results
Traveler rating
594
348
91
32
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
594
348
91
32
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteel bandcrazy golfthe gapdover beachsuper saver roomrum punch partysunday lunchtimehappy daysa garden view roomshuffle boardbeach hotelbaby turtlesbeautiful beachthis lovely hotelhappy hourboogie boardsbars and restaurants
Filter
Updating list...
957 - 962 of 1,080 reviews
Reviewed January 23, 2007

We have just returned from a three week vacation in Barbados, the 3rd week being spent at Southern Palms. It was by far the nicest in every way, even though the other hotels had a higher rating with Virgn Hols. Location is peaceful, beautiful beach, watersports if required by lovely, friendly non harassing guys.
We had a one bed suite, very spacious, clean and comfortable. The only thing I could advise anyone to do if you do not have the preferred view you want, is to do what the Americans do, be firm but polite, and request rather than demand. Anyone who knows "Bajans" knows that they do not respond to rude demands. As for resident cockroaches, this is to be expected in the caribbean.
The bar is nice to start off the evening, friendly staff, easy to access local restaurants etc.
All inall Ido not see howit could be faulted.
Also, good security staff. Very friendly and definately take their job seriously. Try it, but remember" Chill" its the caribbean!

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank ladyjoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2007

Hotel was ok,great location,great beach.Went on honeymoon,booked an ocean view suite through Virgin(wanted to suprise my wife on our honeymoon)ended up with a suite with a garden view and a resident Cockroach.Tip-be very careful booking these suites as you probably won't get an ocean view-the americans will be allocated them!Very disappointed with this,although after a complaint we were moved to an ocean view.Staff ok,go elsewhere for food,Harlequins very good,Ship Inn and McBrides more than adequete.Not many good self catering places in the Gap,this one probably the best for what you pay for.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank ncccc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2007

Been here 3 times now for two weeks at a time. Simply fantastic. It is simple, but what more do you need? Super location smack on the beach. 5 mins walk down to St Lawrence Gap for restaurants and bars. Food at the hotel is simple bajan cuisine but excellent. Friendly staff, clean, large basic rooms. Don't go for the half board option. Nothing wrong with the food at all but so many good places to eat nearby. Personal favourite is Cafe Sol 5 mins walk away for great value mexican dishes. Harlequins Restaurant (formerly Masquerade) is also very good for a more a la carte meal. A must do is Oistins Fish-Fry on a Friday night. BBQ'd fish, chicken, rice & peas!
Pop into Divi Southwinds' (hotel next door) beach bar at 5pm for happy hour. Then to Southern Palms beach bar happy hour 6-7.
If you're there for 2 Fridays then do Bubbas. It's a sportsbar in Worthing $2BDS bus trip or $10BDS taxi. Great food and Friday night 5-8 is 241 on all drinks.
Go! Now! Book it! Take me!

  • Stayed: June 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank tripawayagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2007

This was the third of four hotels we stayed at in Barbados. It was unplanned and spontaneous because the one we had booked, the Divi Southwinds, turned out to be a dive. The Southern Palms was right next door and the grounds looked nice and they had a room available. It was our kids favorite hotel on our trip (we also stayed at another in St Lucia). The hotel has a parrot, fish and lots of resident cats. In addition the water sporst center has sand toys, floaty toys, balls and boogie boards for kids. THere is miniture golf and a lovely beach. The beach is frequented by turtles, and my husband and son managed to snorkel with them one morning when the water was calm. This beach does tend to have larger surf than Rockley or the West Coast beaches. The room itself was pretty basic, although large. The paint was sloppy and furnishings spartan, but the balcony was great. THe location on the beach and on the St Lawrence Gap was excellent. Good restaurants nearby were Harlequin and if you're up for an expensive meal the Restaurant at the South Seas was top notch.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2006

We have just returned from our 7th or 8th 16 day stay at Southern Palms and have already booked next year's trip. It is located on the BEST beach in the island and we love everything about Southern Palms. I have read some reviews that talk of it being very pricey for meals we don't find that to be the case. we stay in a suite which allows us to do self catering but even with that we don't find it pricey. While there are a couple of room locations that wouldn't suit us, we love the building where we stay and we love the privacy the patio balcony provides. Staff are super, we see many of the same guests year after year and I could go on and on! In fact, when paying the final bill on our departure day, my husband asked if I had made a payment prior to arriving. He couldn't believe the total for our stay as it was so reasonable.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank tidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews