We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location for the Gap”
Review of Southern Palms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Southern Palms
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect Location for the Gap”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We always stay on the West coast for a week but then to Southern Palms for the second week as its the perfect location to visit al the bars & restaurants in the Gap. the hotel has one of the best beaches on the island and the staff are mostly really friendly - it also has great entertainment and good views.The pool is spotless and my only negative is although our ocean room view was large the bathroom needs urgently updating !

Room Tip: Opt for a garden view overlooking the main pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JacquelineBoudier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

989 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    533
    329
    82
    31
    14
See reviews for
188
518
21
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Just arrived back and really enjoyed our stay at Southern Palms. If you are looking for a hotel right on the beach with friendly staff, good standard of accommodation, look no further. We stayed in room 203 overlooking the small pool and out over the beach - fantastic. A couple of nice touches - afternoon tea and a piece of cake (lovely) local newspaper delivered free every day - see what is going on in Barbados. Food in the hotel is good even if they do forget your order from time to time. lots of places to eat off site, some over rated and over priced, some expensive but good quality. Go to the local sports ground in an evening (just down the road) there is always a local football or even better a cricket match going on. Barbados has suffered through the economic crisis and I have to say on our trips out it definitely showed. If they are to recapture past glories then they need to do a lot to catch up with other Caribbean islands.

Room Tip: Definitely go for a sea view if you can afford the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chesterwelshman_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

My wife and I just spent 16 days at Southern Palms, and loved every minute of it. We are beach bums and Southern Palms was the spot for us. Loved all the staff and really loved the other guests. It seemed like they only gave rooms to very friendly people. Its location is outstanding, the beach is really great. We cant wait to be back with friends. Love to turn my friend on to great places

Room Tip: try to get a beach front
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theog13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

This hotel really is in a wonderful location right on a glorious length of beach which although not private (none are in Barbados) is only used by the hotel guests. South facing providing wonderful sunsets. Hotel itself is not a modern glossy one and might not be to everyone's 4 star standards since it is built in Colonial style with a mixture of buildings and décor is perhaps as plush as you might expect. It is however very clean and peaceful with very friendly and amiable staff. The speed of service could be better in the bar/ restaurant but it is Barbados and many other establishments are the same as well! Food however is very good and reasonably priced compared with offsite. Easy walking distance to The Gap but far enough to not hear any noise of bars etc. A great place to have a really relaxing holiday and I can see why they have so many returning guests.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays

Helpful?
2 Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Hotel lovely and staff brilliant. Not too busy while we were there beach always empty shame sea rougher than we expected but pool always empty, once again may have been time of year.

Food in restaurant very nice especially a la carte we were there for a week and had 3 buffet nights which could have been less, didn't mind the Carribbean one when steel band played but not impressed with others! one being English pub food which we don't go to Barbados for!!

The staff in the restaurant for all meals were great and very friendly, the reception staff were helpful too.

Had a great time and hotel not too far from town so could go out and have drinks before coming back for meal.

Linda & Ken - Sheffield

Room Tip: Had a standard room with seaview from Balcony - the room had everything we needed so fine with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda And Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Just stayed at S.P. for a week.Lovely room overlooking sea and pool.BIG BED,very comfortable and air con that actually works. Very good Breakfast,plenty of choice,lunches and evening meals excellent.Friendly and helpful staff nothing too much trouble.
Good entertainment,steel band with sunday lunch in 28*c.
Special mention for the band Syndicyt who play Saturday night,they were excellent and better than anyband weve heard on cruises.
If going here,"lucky you" ,you will enjoy.

Room Tip: All rooms are good any where starting with a 3 had sea and /or pool views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John_P186424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Virgin holidays give this hotel 4 stars, we do not. It is 3 if your lucky. The hotel is tired and in need of modernisation and decoration. It's alright if you only want three star. On our arrival we were greeted with you need to pay for the safe in your room, if you lose a towel it will cost you 50 dollars and not very welcoming. We changed rooms as the first one (242) was dark, the view was the main road which we did not pay for. It had two double beds both of which were smaller than the one at home. The balcony felt like a cupboard. They did move us and the balcony was nicer but the room a lot smaller but at least the bed was bigger. Not going back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Lawrence Gap
0.4 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
319 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,049 reviews
0.1 mi away
Infinity on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rostrevor Hotel
Rostrevor Hotel
#5 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
618 reviews
2.3 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
0.7 mi away
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
#10 of 51 in Christ Church Parish
1,978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Palms

Property: Southern Palms
Address: St. Lawrence Gap, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > St. Lawrence Gap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in St. Lawrence Gap
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St. Lawrence Gap
#3 Romantic Hotel in St. Lawrence Gap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Southern Palms 3.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Southern Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Palms Hotel St Lawrence Gap
Southern Palms Christ Church
Southern Palms Barbados/St. Lawrence Gap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing