We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sunset dreams”
Review of Southern Palms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Southern Palms
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2013

brilliant. Visited the island for the 12th time but our first stay at the Southern Palms. This visit our daughter and her family came and was very well received and looked after. Our grandchidren aged 3 and 6 had a fab time, the staff were really friendly and made sure they enjoyed themselves. Jonathan aged 6 loved playing mini golf and would have played all day and night if allowed the man in the sports hut really looked after him.our grandaughter who is 3 was looked after by a great guy who put out the sun parasols and bed mats by filling up her paddling pool every morning. I know you must think its crazy taking a paddling pool but we knew she would be safe and it kept her cool. The only downside was the cost of breakfast and other beverages in the hotel. Why they add on a service charge to everything you buy from the bar area is a new one on me. I could understand if we was a visitor to the hotel but not a guest. This was mentioned to the food and drink manager at the managers rum punch party.

Room Tip: our room was great with a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank juekeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,016)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

599 - 605 of 1,016 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2013

Four of us stayed at The Southern Palms in January 2011 for a week before going on a weeks cruise and we all found the hotel to be great.
The rooms are not palacial but are clean and ours had a fantastic view of the pool/beach with a ridiculously big balcony complete with a fridge which was nice.
The staff were great and happy to chat about the island and all the best places to go.
The hotel was not all inclusive but did have a nice restaurant with the food very good and reasonably priced.
The best thing about the hotel was the location though. When i say right on the beach (Dover Beach) i mean one step from the bar and your on the beach and it is a picture perfect carribean beach with white sands, water sports etc etc and all scuba diving equipment is free to hire from the water sports shack. It is also only about a 5 minute walk from all the bars, clubs & restaurants at St Lawrence gap and seemed to be in a nice safe area of the Island.

Good points
Room is great
Location is fantastic
Staff are very friendly
Restaurant is good
Very sensible price to stay

Bad Points
Gym is woeful in fact its so bad its funny!
The stairwells to the rooms and other areas need some TLC for sure!

Basically The Southern Palms is a lovely place to stay located on a superb beach and at the end of St Lawrence gap strip so easy to get to the nightlife should you want it.

Would i stay there again........... WITHOUT DOUBT !!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank taggy1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Had another fantastic ttrip to Barbados this August. Staying at Southern Palms Beach Club for the ninth time was, yet again a fantastic choice.

We recieved a freindl welcome from the staff and guests. Unfortunately there were no parrot sounds as Koko had passed away earlier in the year.

A fantastic room was offered to us and we only had 20 paces to the beach - fantastic.

The first night was celebrated by watching a turtle laying her eggs! The rest of the stay was set around sitting by the pool, on the beach or the odd walk to watch the local cricket team.

We had a great rep from Virgin. We went on the #island tour which was very entertaining.

We would always recommend Southern Palms as your location whilst staying in Barbados.

A hidden gem - cant wait for our next trip.

Room Tip: if you are in a superior ocean view the room 126
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ian2966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Southern Palms is one of the longer established beachfront resorts on the Southern coast, with good facilities and friendly staff. The location is excellent, being a short walk from both St Lawrence Gap and Dover, with plenty of choices for entertainment and dining.
The suite we stayed in was adjacent to the beach and had plenty of space inside and on the verandah outside. 50 metres from bed to the sea!

Even off season (we visited the last week in September) the resort had a reasonable entertainment programme on and a full restaurant and bar menu.

A tip, visit the wetland bird sanctuary just 250m outside St Lawrence Gap towards Bridgetown. The centre is nominally closed to visitors, but is being immaculately maintained and there is an excellent cafe open 9.30-5.00 where you can get a good selection of food and drinks and wander out to eat on the lawns. A bit of wandering will get you views of flamingoes and other colourful birds.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank welsht0ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

'Postcardesque' is the first word, OK not actually a word, that springs to mind. Setting and service first class and friendly. The only spoiler was that there are no elevators/lifts which, since everybody has luggage, is a bit of a bummer if you're not on the ground floor. But that's the only flaw I can think of.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sdHensley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We booked to go Barbados for my girlfriend's 30th birthday. We had never been but heard St Lawrence's Gap was a good spot for relaxing days and something to do on the night too. We also wanted to try different restaurants and go out and about at night so we decided to go for a room only hotel. After reading reviews we decided on Southern Palms - a great decision.

As soon as we arrived we couldn't believe the location. When they say Beach Resort it literally is! The reception area is open plan so as you check in you can see the white sand and the beautiful sea.

Our room was on the 3rd floor, which is what I wanted. But note there are no lifts for people that struggle with stairs. You entered the room from a balcony which had a fridge and coffee/tea making facilities, but the main thing it featured was the amazing view. The turquoise sea, white sands and the softly lit pink hotel and pool. A great first impression. Inside the room was light and airey. Although fairly basic and not modern it had everything you would need and I was perfectly happy with it. It had a big tv on the wall, dressing table and mirror, safe, iron, hair dryer and air con. The main is the bed however which was huge and very comfortable.The bathroom was small especially the shower and there was no bath which is my only complaint but it was a powerful hot shower so it was fine. The great thing about this hotel is the little touches. For instances there was complimentary bottle of Rum and coke mixer. Also in Barbados you can drink the tap water, so the hotel had left a refillable water bottle in the fridge (full) ready for your arrival. Also the books and folders in the room were genuinely informative rather than just selling local excursions and shops that I have found in other hotels.

Another nice touch was the Monday Night Managers Rum Party. It's not a huge thing but a great way of meeting people from the hotel and other guests. Straightaway you feel welcome and it was great to see the General Manager there who spoke to everyone. It really felt welcoming and that the management of the hotel cared that every guests stay was good. Also you got to learn about what's good to do, see and eat at here. Worth attending.

If your a stay in the hotel kind of holiday maker this may not be the hotel for you. There isn't a lot of evening entertainment but there's plenty of bars bars and restaurants within 5-10min walk. There is a restaurant at the hotel which is nice and ideal for days on the beach but if you go to Barbados you have to eat out. Food is delicious here, I didn't have a bad meal. It is pricey but that's all of Barbados. Food is imported mostly so costs more. We were fairly lax so we averaged evening meals with drinks for two at $100 US dollars. The meals are so nice you don't mind paying the premium. I am sure you can do it cheaper if you shop about. Personal highlights that I recommend in The Gap: Rush, Apsara Samdra, Happy House Cafe, Harlequinn's and The Sporting Pig. All the service is impeccable and people are just so friendly. We never felt uneasy walking up and down The Gap even very late at night.

For my girlfriends Birthday I had ordered flowers as part of the gift. I emailed the hotel in advance to let them know and spoke to Jenni at the front desk. Jenni is a credit to the Hotel. She was very helpful in our emails back and forth and made sure the flowers were displayed beautifully in our room. She also arranged a complimentary bottle of champagne, beautifully presented with flowers and a message from the hotel. Absolutely fanatastic. My girlfriend loved it! I can't thank her enough and it genuinely is amazing to see this level of customer service! Another great little touch. All the staff are great and we were always greeted with a smile.

The beach here is the show stealer for me. At this time of year it was a little quieter which meant you got a little section of the beach to yourself. Although it is the rainy season the weather was still in the thirties. We did have occasional rain and cloud but it cleared quickly and went to glorious sunshine again. The water is warm and crystal clear. It is waves and string swimmers may not want to go to far out. The best thing is at around 5pm you get the sea turtles just metres from the shore and you can see them off the beach clearly or even swim quite close. Another lovely touch from the hotel is that as it was breeding season for the turtles you can see the baby turtles that they find on the beach being integrated back into the sea. The front desk just gives you a call if you request it, to come down when the local conservation students come in. Note this is done very late at night/early morning.

We also did 2 excursions, the Island Safari and the Virgin Ahoy trip (Tiami cruises)! Both are fantastic way of seeing this gorgeous island and it's seas. We had a great time on both and would highly recommend! Also DO NOT miss the Friday Night Fish Fry at Oistins!

Overall this was the best beach holiday I have ever had - you won't be disappointed! Barbados is so easy to fall in love with and you just want to stay forever! This hotel was a lovely base to explore the island and I will definitely be returning and recommending to friends and family.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
12  Thank Anish P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Me and my husband came ere love it room only there is restaurant in the hotel little over prized there where numerous cafe and restaurants around the area bar just as you step out of the hotel same with Chinese or fast foods cooked on the streets loved definitely go back watch the locals at football or cricket ins night

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vonnie920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Lawrence Gap
0.4 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
363 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,141 reviews
0.1 mi away
Infinity on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 6 in Bridgetown
3,814 reviews
7.8 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,106 reviews
2.3 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Palms

Address: St. Lawrence Gap, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > St. Lawrence Gap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in St. Lawrence Gap
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St. Lawrence Gap
Price Range: $182 - $588 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Southern Palms 3.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Southern Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Palms Hotel St Lawrence Gap
Southern Palms Christ Church
Southern Palms Barbados/St. Lawrence Gap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing