We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Honest Review”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Southern Palms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Southern Palms
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Honest Review”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Southern Palms is situated on one of the best beaches on the island, an uncrowded wide expanse of beach where we didn't get overly pestered by hawkers. Our room was clean, in my opinion the air conditioning could have been more powerful which would have in turn made our stay more comfortable. Only ate in the restaurant once for breakfast and was not overly impressed by the omlettes which we found rubbery.

The restaurant and bar areas need an overhaul , they are in a prime location but are bland to say the least, maybe some decking and plants to make a more convivial atmosphere. We ate and drank out as a consequence of the lack of atmosphere, fortunately the Gap has plenty to offer in that department

All the staff we encountered were friendly, happy and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mudlark74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    315
    79
    30
    14
See reviews for
176
496
21
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bingley,england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We have just returned from what was our eigth visit to Barbados and once again the trip was both fantastic and a total relaxation. We stayed in Southern Palms for the fifth time and it was just as good as when we first stayed there in 1997, in fact some of the staff are still the same and still just as nice and helpful. Southern Palms is situated in a perfect place because if you want to stay away from it all and just have a totally relaxing holiday and not move away from the hotel and fantastic beach (and i mean fantastic) then they have it all on site however if you want to venture out then the lively St Lawrence Gap is a short walk up the road with Bridgetown a $35 barbados dollar taxi ride away. St Lawrence Gap has seen a few changes over the last few years with some being disappointing (The Ship closing) and some for the better (Cafe Sol moving to a better location) however there are some pretty impressive places to eat with Pisces and Harlequin plus Aspara the new curry place being great visits although my favourite once again was the Waterside Resteraunt which was simply the best.

Cooperman & Karen

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cooperman69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

The restaurant at the Southern Palms Beach Club Report is a lovely dining experience. You are treated with wonderful service, especially by Sherryl-Ann and Monique. The food is fantastic and served beautifully. This Pub/Bar/Restaurant is on the beach and has a magnificent view, but only if you want to see the turquoise waters of the Caribbean, the white coral sands, the gently swaying palm trees and an incredible sunset. The entertainment and dancing experience to the steel drums and the western night are a lovely bonus to enhance your enjoyment of this little piece of paradise. Michael and Alison, Oakville, Ontario, Canada

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Returned two weeks ago from a 14 night stay and have been yearning to return more and more as each day passes. We holiday in Barbados each year and love the Island so much, as much for its people and kindness aswell as its obvious beauty and beaches.
Its our first stay at the Southern Palms and all being well not our last.Yes the setting on the Glorious Dover Beach is picture postcard. White sands, water with all the shades of blue and the palms swaying in the breeze. Perfect. However its the staff, our fantastic room and view,(thankyou Steven), thats made it so special. Special mentions to the guys in the bar/resturant. Thank you Jefferson and Anderson for our laughs and chats. Feel like we got to know you as people. Dale, Clifford, Tyrone and the pleasent David oh and June. Infact all the girls.
Everyone was helpful and smiling.
Its a lovely intiment place, not pompus and plastic. Yes i suspect there are more fancy places to stay in Barbados and im sure people yearn to return to them, but this was our experience and all i can say is it was Perfect and we miss you all. Thankyou and see you again.

Mark and Jeanette Cole

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank coleypeaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england gtr manchester
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Just using this hotel as a base but its loverly Anderson is such a nice man if you take time with him clean beach towels every day room cleaned every day hair dryer very powerful iron just like home we go down to daddy's through the day very cheap and my husband loves the chickin harlequins brill food would recommend it and Hals bar across the road is so good for the local talent.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chrisross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Just returned from a weeks stay at this great place. Very welcoming and helpful staff from the front desk throughout ALL areas. Really good room and facilities all in a fabulous location.Would definitely return. Thanks for your hospitality :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robbo19467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paterswolde, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed May 9, 2013

The second time we visit Barbados and the first time "The Southern Palms". A nice hotel with (very) clean rooms. Very friendly people in the breakfast and dining room.The beach was great. Hope to stay again in this hotel an other time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luuk F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Lawrence Gap
0.3 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
1,954 reviews
0.4 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
257 reviews
7.8 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
2.9 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
3,436 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
#11 of 49 in Christ Church Parish
1,922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Palms

Property: Southern Palms
Address: St. Lawrence Gap, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > St. Lawrence Gap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in St. Lawrence Gap
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St. Lawrence Gap
#3 Romantic Hotel in St. Lawrence Gap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Southern Palms 3.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia and getaroom.com so you can book your Southern Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Palms Hotel St Lawrence Gap
Southern Palms Christ Church
Southern Palms Barbados/St. Lawrence Gap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing