We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab location, great hotel!”
Review of Time Out Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Time Out Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fab location, great hotel!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a week in May 2014. The location was great, just across the road from Dover Beach. The staff, in particular, Lisa and Pierre were so very helpful from booking Harbour Lights to arranging to book our hire car! Thanks very much!

The rooms were cleaned to a very good standard and the towels were always clean. The only thing I would say is that our TV did not work.

Everybody was extremely friendly and overall the location was just perfect if you want to be right next to the night life of St Lawrence Gap.

Fab location, great hotel!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Abigail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    334
    141
    35
    16
See reviews for
109
369
62
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
swansea
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

if you want a 4 star hotel then try the turtle beach! but you will pay an extra £1000 or more! we found the time out to be a good 3 star base, to explore barbados! our room was large! 2 queen size beds! and a single! table and chairs! fridge! tv, and good aircon! barthroom was ok! clean and always hot water! towells changed every day! beds clean and comfortable! no noise at night, apart from weekend when music finished about 11.30, payed for room only but hotel gave us continental breakfast! wich was a good start to the day! staff were great! and had a free safe deposite at reception! excellent food at the sporting pig! and drinks much cheaper than any spanish resorts! so very happy with our stay! excellent location! 2 mins away from a nice beach! cheap sunbeds! and parasolls! about £5.00 for the two of us! nice beach bar with great food! and drinks! very safe at night and day! never offered drugs! even that we were two guys! took the local bus to some great beaches ie paynes payne! which was beautiful, and bus fare only about 50p or so! will go back to this hotel! met some great people and the staff were great! dont be put off by some reviews! been to barbados 6 times before, but still had a very nice stay here! also internet connection worked fine! much better than our over night hotel in gatwick! just have a good time, in this very affordable hotel! many thanks for a nice holiday!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank marinafunguys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Just returned from my stay at Time Out. It was a nightmare. Other than the location, (across the road from Dover Beach). Our stay here was as bad as it gets.
To begin with, the water in our shower was cold, once highlighted with Lisa at reception, it turns out the boiler light was not on, which indicates it was never on in the first place. But the handy hand, kindly informed us, no other guests 'complained' about this issue. 'Complained?!', I mean REALLY?
Furthermore, the plug hole in the shower hand seen better days. Bath towels? well just say, you are better off taking your own. Which it just so happens, I did.
We waited to change our room, as the first few nights, we heard doors banging till the early hours of the morning. Being deprived on sleep is NEVER a good thing. Low and behold, once we had changed room and where relocated, workmen started their DRILLING to install plugs on wall, needless to say this did NOT go down to well. As the first morning we where woken by the same of drilling at 8.30am, we decided to write this off. However, the following morning we woke to the same drilling noise. Felt like someone was drilling though our headboard, it was soooo Loud! After discussing this with hotel reception staff, Lisa. She explained work occurs before the lunchtime heat.Had we of know that would be the case, we would NOT of checked into the Time Out hotel. But as Lisa said, unless we brought the drilling and lack of hot water to our attention, the hotel wouldnt be aware there was an issue. At which point, I decided to inform her of the ant infestation we had, in our bathroom around the cracks of the sink area and the window, near the bed. Which was great as I would wake to workmen drilling and see a ants taking a stroll across my bed/pillow. Very Disappointed. Will not be staying here again, ever.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank fiona L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AliciaFarmer, General Manager at Time Out Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Fiona L,

We sincerely apologize for the problems you encountered during your stay with us. Our guest’s feedback is always appreciated but in this instance we are truly sorry that we did not live up to your expectations.

Our hotel is currently going through a few upgrades. We are installing 3-4 additional wall sockets in each room, giving our guests the ability to have their IPads, Phones, Pcs all connected. We have changed Internet providers to improve our internet issues at the hotel and in doing so we did need to do some drilling outside and we have enclosed our front desk so it can be air-conditioned for the comfort of our guests and this too would have contributed to the noise factor. In doing these upgrades we are so sorry we disturbed you during your holiday, as this was certainly not our intention, but to improve our product based on our guest’s feedback.

Once again, we apologize for the inconveniences caused during your stay with us, and even with the complimentary upgrade and complimentary late check-out which we offered in light of the disturbances we are truly sorry that your experience was not satisfactory. We thank you for your review as all feedback is valuable to us. Please feel free to contact me directly, as we would like to have a second opportunity to make your holiday a favourable memory.

Kindest Regards,
Alicia Farmer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Fab location just a couple of minutes from the beach. We had a deluxe room that overlooks the Dover Cricket pitch: the room was a good size with clean, comfy beds. The bathroom was also a decent size with a nice shower. Room also has aircon, fridge & tv.

The staff were very friendly and helpful.

We never ate in the restaurant nor drank in the bar, so I can't comment.

Would stay here again if returning to this part of Barbados.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms overlook the cricket pitch and are quite large rooms. But do lack a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Celia828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Bit delayed in reviewing this budget hotel which we visited in February. Great little hotel. Rooms large, clean,bathroom a little tired but plenty of hot water so no complaints. We had a view over the pool and the cricket pavillion. Care if you like an early night some cricket matches ( and the loud commentary) lasted into the early hours of the morning. Breakfast was cereal, fruit, coissants, toast , fruit juice , tea or coffee. Ideally situated across from Dover Beach, local huts for dining and drinking , walk into the gap with many restaurants or get the boogy buses to different beaches and friday fish fry at Oistens ( not to be missed) Staff on front desk very helpful if we needed anything and bar staff at night were really friendly
This is a cheap hotel but you wont be dissapointed as its a great little hotel in a very nice area near to many lovely beaches.

Room Tip: Rooms at back of hotel over looking cricket pavillion have balconies BUT you have the noise of the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lesli36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

We have just got back from two weeks in Time Out Hotel. We are a 25 and 22 year old couple wanting to have 2 weeks on a budget. We stayed on a room only basis and had room 209.

We had a king size bed (2 beds but one mattress), it had a bathroom, kettle and the tea/coffee was refilled daily. The aircon is fantastic and we also had a working safe.

We had breakfast in 3 places - Lucky Horseshoe, Happy Days and the Sporting Pig all are lovely.

Time Out is lovely - just opposite the beach which is perfect. The pool is great too, but the beach is gorgeous - dont miss out! The towels are refreshed every couple of days which is plenty in my opinion.

Honestly - for a budget hotel in the Caribbean. You cant go wrong. Its located perfectly in the Gap with all the restaurants around 5 minutes walk.

Note - there are locals that try and sell things outside. Taxis, coconuts, bracelets. Buy a bracelet but say no to everything else. Other braclet sellers will ignore you if they see you have a reggae bracelet already!

Overall, great stay and we will be going again!!! Thanks time out!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Georgina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014

I stayed here with my friend the last week of March this year 2014. I have been to Barbados before and wanted somewhere cheap as a base to explore the island. I wasnt expecting much as you do get what you pay for and £205 for a week is superb value! The hotel is very basic however spotlessly clean, the staff are all very friendly and make you feel very welcome.
I was impressed with the room air con was fab! the room was spacious and clean! The shower was pretty rubbish though water just trickles out!!! The breakfast isnt the best however there are loads of places nearby to eat and it's always good to get out and explore the island rather than stay in the hotel. The beach is incredible and the hotel is set at the start of the strip where there are loads of restaurants and bars.
I have an auntie who stays on the west coast and we got a taxi from right outside the hotel we went to some of the posh restaurants like Cin Cin, the lonestar and the Cliff for dinner its only about half an hour away and because the hotel is so cheap you can spend your money on nice restaurants and exploring Barbados!
The people are just so friendly!
Wifi was good! Dover Beach which is just over the road literally a 5 second walk is one of my favourite beaches on the island it is absolutely beautiful!
Will be going again next year and will definitely be staying at the Time Out again!
x

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kirsty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Lawrence Gap
2.4 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
0.9 mi away
Butterfly Beach Hotel
0.2 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rostrevor Hotel
Rostrevor Hotel
#5 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
0.5 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dover Beach Hotel
Dover Beach Hotel
#3 of 4 in Dover
4.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Time Out Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Time Out Hotel

Property: Time Out Hotel
Address: St. Lawrence Gap | Dover Beach, St. Lawrence Gap, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > St. Lawrence Gap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in St. Lawrence Gap
#6 Family Hotel in St. Lawrence Gap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Time Out Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Time Out Hotel is ideally located on the South Coast of Barbados, in the St. Lawrence Gap area, across the road from the beautiful Dover Beach and next to Dover playing field. The hotel is situated near restaurants, nightclubs, supermarkets, and casinos. Time Out Hotel consists of 76 rooms divided into Standard rooms, Superior rooms, Pool View rooms and Deluxe/Family suites. In addition, we have a bar and restaurant on property, a pool and our very own wedding coordinator! Whether travelling to Barbados on business or pleasure, we offer you comfortable accommodation, friendly service, and genuine island warmth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, West Indies, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HRS, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Time Out Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Time Out At The Gap Hotel St Lawrence Gap
Time Out Gap Barbados
Time Out Hotel Barbados/St. Lawrence Gap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing