We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget hotel, perfect location for Dover beach!”
Review of Time Out Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Time Out Hotel
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Stayed here 22nd Feb - 4th March 2014. We found the hotel to be great value for money and the staff were lovely, helpful and friendly! One of the waiters even spotted us in the airport when we were leaving (he also worked there) and came to say bye to us! So sweet!
The location is 1 minute walk from Dover beach and 5/10 min walk to the restaurants and bars in Gap. The room had air con, a fridge with a small freezer compartment (great for storing bottles of water), a nice comfy bed, small bathroom with adequate shower, wardrobe, flat screen TV (not that that was watched!), full length mirror (shocked at how many places don't!) and balcony - everything we needed. The pool is nice and peaceful and has sunshine on it all day long.
We went to bed early most nights so that we could get up early and make the most of the days, this was no problem despite the fact the the bar downstairs "the sporting pig" was quite loud, as it didn't stay open late - except for Saturday night but we were out until 12.30 that night anyway and when we came back it had all died down so no probs.
Breakfast - we had continental included, which is the same every day - choice of 2 cereals, fresh croissants with butter/jam, fresh toast and bananas/apples plus tea/coffee and juice. Did the job of filling us til lunch and we can't complain for the price we paid at all!
Hotel is a little dated in terms of decor but who cares, it's somewhere to sleep and get ready! Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank randombrunette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (890)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

724 - 730 of 890 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2014

We stayed at this hotel 15 to 18th February. It was basic but quite clean and everything was in good condition. We had a pool view room on the second floor, so privacy was good and the room quiet. The staff was very helpful and friendly; they gave us advice on traveling to various parts of the country as we were not the type to stay within familiar walls too long. The beach was so close....literally across the road....why pay a high price for a place so near the beach?! If you are a person like my husband and I who really want to 'see' a country and you really just want a place to keep your bags and a nice clean place to sleep, then I would suggest here. Not forgetting an early dip in the pool before the day's activities and after roaming a swim in the blue sea! Don't pack extremely heavy suitcases...there is no lift!

Room Tip: If you literally want to run to the pool from your room then choose such. Rooms away from the road a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank vmb17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

I just got back from amazing holiday in Barbados. Hotel does what it says on the tin. Nice, super clean but the best was the staff working there. Especially the whole team at the front desk is exceptionally helpful and to point out Pierre and Keisha who were extremely friendly in every occasion. Massive thanks to the Arsenal man at the restaurant - which is a sport bar so if you're traveling from the uk you don't miss any action and still got it about 18 secs to get on the Dover Beach.

The location is surrounded by plenty of star rated restaurants and great street food. If you want to spend day or two anywhere else on the island the buses run every minute for very small fees.

To sum up, for the money you pay it's more than a great value.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
5  Thank Karel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

If you are looking for value and location, this is the place to stay. Right in the Gap. We spent 2 nights and 3 days , very grateful for the extra hour on checkout. The staff is extremely pleasant and willing to assist!
However our room was average and the bed was two singles pushed together to make a king. Extremely uncomfortable an the bedding created a small "space" between the beds which was uncomfortable. The AC worked great, but there was a lot of noise, noises and music from outside was heard clearly and even the closing and opening of doors could be heard inside he room. TV channels only included the US News channel, and no movie channels at all, very basic and we did not use the TV at all! There was nothing to see, so walk with your personal devices if you want to watch movies.
The refrigerator in the room was also very noisy and could be heard coming on and off

That being said, I can and would consider this hotel to stay again, the good outweighed the bad!. Breakfast was also included in our room and was good.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anjanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Just back from 2 weeks at this hotel. Very pleasant. Our room on 2nd floor with balcony overlooking street was a good size and kept very clean. 2 very large single beds, fridge, flat screen tv, phone and a/c. Bathroom clean but needs updating. During our stay the hot water pipe burst somewhere so no hot water for 24hours but not a great problem. Staff very friendly especially Pierre on reception. Food in restaurant excellent value for money, but included continental breakfast the same every day - cereal (in small packs), croissants, toast and apples. Sometimes bananas as well. Would have appreciated the odd boiled egg or some cold meats.
Not all rooms have balcony so if this is important to you make sure you request it on booking. Swimming pool is small but kept clean and set in a nice garden and plenty of sun loungers.
The hotel is opposite Dover Beach, but unfortunately directly across the road is a huge apartment building - Sapphire Beach, which completely hides the view of the sea!
Tuesday nights are quiz night which seems to be popular mainly with the ex-pats, and Saturday night was live music with an excellent band. All in all we thought the hotel was good value for money and would recommend it.

Room Tip: The hotel is no smoking throughout,except pool area and courtyard and on balconies. If you want to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PennyCanewdon_Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

just returned from a weeks stay,and what a fab time we had! great location and the hotel very good value for money. do think some people like to moan for the sake of it as couldnt fault the hotel or the staff. sporting pig great and best rum punch on the island. would recommend and will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank snoops2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We spent 3 nights at the hotel last winter (January 2013). The first impression wasn't positive: the reception staff tried to make us pay more than we should have because they were too lazy to convert the currency properly (we had booked the room using euro). The hotel promotes themselves as a budget hotel but we didn't find the prices low, especially taking into consideration the bad customer service, poor breakfast (only white toast with marmalade and sugary cereals) and an okay room (it was spacious, but beds were not comfy). In general the staff seemed lazy, bored and arrogant.

The location was great, there was a pretty beach with white sand and turquoise water right across the street. There was a pool area at the hotel but we prefered the beach. There were restaurants and bars within a short walking distance.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Noora H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AliciaFarmer, General Manager at Time Out Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear Noora_H,

Your review is appreciated and we are sorry to hear of the problems you received at check-in and that the complimentary breakfast that was provided for all the guests at the hotel while the restaurant was under renovations, back in January 2013, was not satisfactory. I am happy to advice, that since February 2013 we have a fabulous restaurant in full operation open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

We offer very competitive rates and are constantly seeking to provide our guests with warm, friendly customer service. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kindest Regards,
Alicia Farmer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Lawrence Gap
0.1 mi away
Infinity on the Beach
0.3 mi away
Dover Beach Hotel
Dover Beach Hotel
#3 of 4 in Dover
720 reviews
0.6 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rostrevor Hotel
Rostrevor Hotel
#5 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
664 reviews
0.4 mi away
South Gap Hotel
South Gap Hotel
#7 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
37 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Palm Garden Hotel
The Palm Garden Hotel
#3 of 3 in Worthing
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Time Out Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Time Out Hotel

Address: St. Lawrence Gap | Dover Beach, St. Lawrence Gap, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > St. Lawrence Gap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in St. Lawrence Gap
Price Range: $91 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Time Out Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Time Out Hotel is ideally located on the South Coast of Barbados, in the St. Lawrence Gap area, across the road from the beautiful Dover Beach and next to Dover playing field. The hotel is situated near restaurants, nightclubs, supermarkets, and casinos. Time Out Hotel consists of 76 rooms divided into Standard rooms, Superior rooms, Pool View rooms and Deluxe/Family suites. In addition, we have a bar and restaurant on property, a pool and our very own wedding coordinator! Whether travelling to Barbados on business or pleasure, we offer you comfortable accommodation, friendly service, and genuine island warmth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, West Indies, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Time Out Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Time Out At The Gap Hotel St Lawrence Gap
Time Out Gap Barbados
Time Out Hotel Barbados/St. Lawrence Gap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing