We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and Simple ”
Review of Time Out Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Time Out Hotel
porto alegre
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good and Simple ”
Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

not for the sophisticated who likes resorts . It has great advantages.. near beatiful and crystal water Dover beach .. great pool .. large rooms ... yes , the stairs or the bathrooms are a bit old or " dirty " like others have said here , but who cares? friendly staff especially the Sporting Pig Pub connected with hotel entrance and great fish and Beer. Friendly staff .. basic but good breakfast . Sure , I would come back

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank CesarBimbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    340
    143
    38
    17
See reviews for
111
384
62
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Just returned to the UK after a 14 night stay at Time Out Hotel. On arrival I was a little bit dissapointed that our room did not have a balcony and the telephone was broken. Other than that, clean, spacious room, good daily maid service. Hotel staff ok on the whole. They are a bit mean with the beach towel policy (only swap every 2 days) which can be a problem if you havent got a balcony to dry the towels overnight. We had to pay an extra B$12 to change our towels on consecutive days. Wi-Fi patchy in our room but fine in ground floor communal areas (including pool terrace).
Staff at the Sporting Pig (not part of the hotel, they lease the bar/restaurant as a seperate entiity) are much more friendly and welcoming. The breakfast was more than acceptable (after some 'fine-tuning'). Happy hour every day 5-7pm. The main thing about this hotel is the location. Literally 30 second walk from Dover Beach and 5 min walk to the bars, clubs and restarurant of The Gap.
would recommend staying here if you are looking for a nice friendly, clean hotel in an excellent location.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a balcony if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
105 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

I'd read some really damning reviews of this hotel just before we arrived at the end of December. Either those reviewers were plain unlucky or just looking for a fight. Everything about this hotel is good. The rooms are spacious and serviced efficiently. Security is excellent. Breakfast perfectly adequate (get the inclusive continental). It's 30 seconds from one of the best beaches on the island and located minutes from the shops and restaurants in the Gap. The staff are super helpful and always cheery. The pool is large, quiet and with loads of sunbeds. There's a daily happy hour from 5-7, the food is good (we ate there twice), a great band on Saturdays and a silly, fun (slightly cliquey) quiz night on Tuesdays. We had a great time staying here and would unreservedly recommend it and definitely would stay again. It's not a resort, it's not the Marriott, the Hilton or one of those palatial 5* complexes...don't expect that. What it is, is a friendly, functional excellent hotel with more than enough luxury for a beach holiday. Enjoy.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank harryzac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

I travel all over the world in my line of work. I've stayed in roach motels and real 5 star hotels across the globe.

The good: Location near Dover beach and St Lawrence Gaps is great. Staff are very nice, also in the restaurant.

The bad: Shady area at night, I walked out to get something the first night and within 5 minutes two different people tried to sell me drugs.

The bathrooms and mouldy/rusy and generally feel dirty (it does not matter how much chlorine is used, it still feels dirty.

The room feels really really run down, linnens were clean although the general state of the room made everything feel dirty.

The Continental breakfast was ONE slice of toast, and muffin and some jam and two slices of fruit. One glass of juice and tea.

You had pay a cash deposit of USD100 at the time of registration. Cleaning was not done daily and fresh towels every day cost extra. The pool was also dirty upon arrival.

You get what you pay for! We decided that the hotel was nothing for us and paid an additional 25% of the total trip cost and changed hotels.

I would recommend this hotel if you are going there with a friend to party and really don't care where you stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A_Sam80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AliciaFarmer, General Manager at Time Out Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear A_Sammy83,

I would firstly like to thank you for your review. We are appreciative of all comments and understand we fell short in certain areas during your stay and we very sorry about this. I am happy to hear that the general comments regarding our team’s friendliness and helpfulness was up to par and the location and service of the rooms were also good. However I do understand that parts of the hotel/rooms you were not happy with and we would do our best to see where we can improve.

We had taken this property over from its previous owners in 2012 and completed renovations to the property to make it an inviting, comfortable and clean property for our guests. We are located in the St. Lawrence Gap, opposite Dover Beach and we are sorry you had two unfavorable experiences outside of our doors and we would do our best to take your comments about this to the police department.

We are a value property, so I am also sorry to hear about the review on the continental breakfast, however please note that this is the basic breakfast which is included in your room rate, and for a small fee you can upgrade to a full breakfast with eggs, sausages, bacon, toast, coffee/tea and juice, there is also French Toast and Pancake options as well. We would certainly do our best to work on the areas we fell short and thank you once again for your comments.

Kind Regards,
Alicia Farmer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

This hotel is good value for money. Pleasant rooms, attractive pool, near a pleasant beach and close to good restaurants. Free WIFI and computer use. The staff were on the whole helpful.. We would recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

The hotel is situated in a perfect spot. Across the street is the beach and a few open air restaurant bars. The continental breakfast consists of 2 slices of fruit and a croissant or muffin with tea or coffee.

The rooms are average. The bathrooms are dingy and Mouldy.
The location is great. 10-15 min walk to the clubs.
I would not stay here again.

The staff where extremely nice and accommodating. If you are looking for cheap place to stay with great accessibility this is the place for you.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DP07pd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

OMG!!! This Hotel was the best stay I've ever had. Its in such a great location, it has the best staff, and its the best value for the money. Everyone was so polite and you have many great bars and restaurants near by. The free wifi was everything and the feel was so homely. I loved it. My room was great, right near the pool and was very clean. Again, the staff was amazing. They were like a family and so polite. I never had any problems asking for anything. They were always on point and they help in anyway that is needed. It was great! It was like i was home and I was very comfortable. I can't say a bad word because my stay was everything!

Room Tip: The first floor rooms are the best hands down!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cherie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Lawrence Gap
0.9 mi away
Butterfly Beach Hotel
2.4 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
0.5 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rostrevor Hotel
Rostrevor Hotel
#5 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
613 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,011 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dover Beach Hotel
Dover Beach Hotel
#3 of 4 in Dover
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Time Out Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Time Out Hotel

Property: Time Out Hotel
Address: St. Lawrence Gap | Dover Beach, St. Lawrence Gap, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > St. Lawrence Gap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in St. Lawrence Gap
#6 Family Hotel in St. Lawrence Gap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Time Out Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Time Out Hotel is ideally located on the South Coast of Barbados, in the St. Lawrence Gap area, across the road from the beautiful Dover Beach and next to Dover playing field. The hotel is situated near restaurants, nightclubs, supermarkets, and casinos. Time Out Hotel consists of 76 rooms divided into Standard rooms, Superior rooms, Pool View rooms and Deluxe/Family suites. In addition, we have a bar and restaurant on property, a pool and our very own wedding coordinator! Whether travelling to Barbados on business or pleasure, we offer you comfortable accommodation, friendly service, and genuine island warmth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, West Indies, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Time Out Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Time Out At The Gap Hotel St Lawrence Gap
Time Out Gap Barbados
Time Out Hotel Barbados/St. Lawrence Gap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing