We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BEAUTIFUL FOOD” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harlequin Restaurant

Harlequin Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL FOOD”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

I went here on my last night and had a barracuda meal. it was absolutely delicious and well worth the $$. It is situated in the heart of the GAP and you will hear karaoke from a neighbouring bar if you go late into the evening. Great atmosphere and fantastic service.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mixrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,909 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,135
    529
    201
    31
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Uk
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent in Every Respect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We ate at The Harlequin twice during our week in Barbados and were very impressed. The seafood was the best we have had in a very long time, if ever and the service was outstanding, being friendly but not over the top and attentive without being in your face.

As others have said, the wine list was small but full of good and reasonably priced wines. The Harlequin is also very tastefully decorated and provides a real sanctuary from the bustle of The Gap.

Finally, value for money, in addition to all the other attributes of The Harlequin was fantastic and we can't wait to visit again when we return to Barbados.

In case you hadn't realised, we quite liked it!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lightmyfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Place to Eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Fantastic food, friendly and considerate staff. We booked in for my 55th birthday and on arrival they had put up balloons and even made me a birthday card. When bringing our sweet out, the lights went out and music started playing, we thought they had a band starting up but it was the waitress bringing out the lime pie with a sparkler in it. Everyone in the whole place sang 'happy birthday', what a lovely thoughtful surprise. Thank you to all at the Harlequin for making my birthday a special evening.
The food was excellent and very reasonably priced. It is obviously very popular because there weren't many vacant tables, advise booking for that special occasion.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sunshinekini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgetown, Barbados
Level Contributor
163 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Ticks most boxes in Barbados”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Service is excellent and staff very friendly. Food is always amazing and cooked to perfection. The prices are very reasonable, the wine list isn't extensive but it caters for most average demand I am sure. It's rare to find a fine-dining restaurant in Barbados that doesn't make you feel like you've been raped as you leave! The lack of sea view here is more than made up for with everything else and I can't wait to return there every time I am in Barbados.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicholas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

The food was first class and the service was excellent! Would definitely recommend! We ate there 4 times!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Nixx79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harlequin Restaurant also viewed

St. Lawrence Gap, Christ Church Parish
St. Lawrence Gap, Christ Church Parish
 
St. Lawrence Gap, Christ Church Parish
St. Lawrence Gap, Christ Church Parish
 

Been to Harlequin Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing