We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good upscale restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Waterside Restaurant - CLOSED

Waterside Restaurant
Price range: $48 - $105
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good upscale restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

The food was good as were the cocktails. Service was fine..No complaints but it is just a nice restaurant

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank roseelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    84
    40
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
“Darrian and Jabari worked perfectly. Splendid service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

We came in on the 12 of February and had a reservation for the 13. On entry of the restaurant the hostess made sure we was given ample notice of how long we would of been waiting to be seated.

My wife and I had some lovely cocktails from the bar while waiting, where the bartender shared some wonderful conversation and acts about both the island and restaurant.. It was just lovely.

After waiting close to 25 mins we were seated and brought our bread. Jabari, the assistant waiter was very helpful and professional and at the same time possessed a charm about him, his likeness was very kind and he had a smile that made me think he was after more than good service, but not the less a spectacular guy! And darrian seemed very cunning and out spoken.

The ambience and setting "beach side island life" like aaa to die for, our table was close to the front but we could imagine the tranquil waves like they were right in front of us. Only issue was the background music, hated those dreadful elevator type songs.

The food was presented on a timely manner and was simply delicious! I would recommend to anyone.. try the New Orleans chowder. It is to die for! And the deep fried chocolate baileys cheese cake! Oh my, as Jabari recommended to my wife and me..Decadent!! I think he said "try this, it's an instant panty dropper" haha.

All in all a great experience, would definitely visit again one we return to Barbados in the fall season.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Happytravels0923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“What a pleasant surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our experience at the Waterside restaurant last Wednesday night. We had a fantastic table by the railing, and right from the start, the wait staff treated us extremely well - alerting us the the fact that a large party was coming in after us, and suggesting we place our orders early to avoid the rush. The food was exquisite, and the chef was kind enough to come to speak to us after our meal - her personality is as delightful as her food. In her biographical notes on the website she says "food is love" and this sentiment definitely shines through in her food. I highly recommend this restaurant in the gap - it was a great replacement for Pisces, our regular haunt during its closure for renovations. What a pleasant surprise!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gagnon-Mullen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
159 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Perfectly fine”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

We visited here due to good reviews and also when walking past it looked a nice setting.
The setting was indeed lovely we were seated right by the sea front which was very nice.
The service was fine but a little robotic.
We mainly came for the food however and this was fine not amazing but nice all the same. It was well cooked and well presented but lacked that something special.
A nice restaurant for a romantic evening but not as exceptional as I had hoped.

Helpful?
Thank Pinkfizz31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nothing stood out”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

We booked a couple of days ahead and on arriving were taken to our table promptly at 7.30 The waiting staff were friendly and professional. Apart from that our whole experience was just average... Nothing really wrong except the risotto which was very overcooked, sticky and needed lots more seasoning. Everything was ok but nothing memorable except the location....table overlooking the beach and ocean. Will be returning to Barbados for the 4th time next year but alas not to this restaurant.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank 46Bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterside Restaurant also viewed

St. Lawrence Gap, Christ Church Parish
St. Lawrence Gap, Christ Church Parish
 
St. Lawrence Gap, Christ Church Parish
Christ Church Parish, Barbados
 
St. Lawrence Gap, Christ Church Parish
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing