We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing stood out”
Review of Waterside Restaurant - CLOSED

Waterside Restaurant
Price range: $48 - $105
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nothing stood out”
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

We booked a couple of days ahead and on arriving were taken to our table promptly at 7.30 The waiting staff were friendly and professional. Apart from that our whole experience was just average... Nothing really wrong except the risotto which was very overcooked, sticky and needed lots more seasoning. Everything was ok but nothing memorable except the location....table overlooking the beach and ocean. Will be returning to Barbados for the 4th time next year but alas not to this restaurant.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank 46Bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    84
    40
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portskewett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Fine dining”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Booked atable in advance (booking essential) and were led to a sea front table - lovely.

Excellent food and cocktails - service good if a little slow.

A lovely place for a special occasion meal and right on the Gap. Expensive but not excessively so for the qulaity of the food and the lovely surroundings

Wouldn't hesitate to retuen when I come back to Barbados

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarahms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect night a hidden Gem”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Great food & the jazz singer made our night. We will book again for 2014 if the service is this good again and also the entertainment was brilliant. A hidden Gem.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 705Jules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great first visit”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We go to the Gap every January and this was the first time we have visited the Waterside. It wont be the last. The food was exceptionally good and the setting overlooking the ocean was outstanding. I was very impressed indeed. The only thing preventing five stars was the service. They were very enthusiastic and friendly but need more of a form hand from the maitre d' . White wine came to the table warm and had to be sent back. Also we were puzzled by the staff informing us that "they could only accept tips in cash" ... when there was a service charge automatically added to the bill (C'mon .. !) Regardless, these are just teething troubles we will be back, this is one of the brightest stars on the Gap at the moment.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulJohnson999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice view terrible food”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

This restaurant was a real disappointment a nice view and a crisp white table cloth does not a good restaurant make!
Started with the mussels which were so over cooked the whole texture had changed, along with the pate which was served on burnt bread. For our mains I went for the lobster thermador with chips and wilted greens - this was a big mistake but the chief achieved something quite special the lobster was so over cooked in a sickly cheese sauce but the chips were so hard the fork wouldn't go through them, in the restaurants defence my parter had the shrimp with mango which was lovely however as it didn't come with a sauce the rice was very dry. We tried to pick two bottles of wine which they had neither therefore we were recommended a bin end that was $15 more than the previous bottles. The service was ok not amazing but nothing to complain about. I have to say this would not be somewhere I would recommend.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hn1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterside Restaurant also viewed

St. Lawrence Gap, Christ Church Parish
St. Lawrence Gap, Christ Church Parish
 
Christ Church Parish, Barbados
St. Lawrence Gap, Christ Church Parish
 
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
St. Lawrence Gap, Christ Church Parish
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing