We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waterside”
Review of Waterside Restaurant - CLOSED

Waterside Restaurant
Price range: $48 - $105
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Waterside”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We also visited it a couple of times, listening to the ocean while having your meal is very relaxing, and the staff were lovely as per usual

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RoseAnn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    84
    40
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“I Love This Place But ...”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

... Its in need of some serious marketing to survive. It is too tucked-away on the St Lawrence Gap; and you can easily pass it by. Many of the other restaurants on the 'Gap' has 1 or 2 staff members outside selling the benefits of eating inside their own eateries - Waterside must now do the same!

I have eaten in many of the restaurants in Barbados, and Waterside is in my top 5 (the food fare is so much better than the local Pisces restaurant, and the ever so pretentious - and expensive - Cin Cin).

I booked a table for 2 for a wedding anniversary celebration, with an outstanding view overlooking the sea. The ambience was cool, calm and charming.

Despite a shortage of staff, the members who turned up for work that day, pulled out all the stops to provide a memorable occasion for my wife & I. I started with an delicious flying fish & capers starters, followed by a chicken ginger stew, with a full flavoured basmati rice main meal. My dessert was - again - the 'infamous' rum-based bread & butter pudding.

There was only one other group of diners when we visited.

I really hope that this wonderful, but isolated restaurant survives, and they take on board my suggestion for bringing in more clientele to the Waterside. Hopefully, this review will help this wonderful restaurant!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SARASOTA
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Condescending”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

It is a lovely setting and should be a joy to visit but I found the staff to act superior and condescending.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RDT3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Went here twice was great lovely blackened fish and great setting by the water . Good after shopping .

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TheWhites16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Bad”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Fish was dry and tasteless The chef apologized and comped the dessert I would rather have a good dinner in such a beautiful restarant

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerrie B, Manager at Waterside Restaurant, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
I sincerely hope you enjoyed your dessert, but I must say I am so very sorry that your fish meal was not up to our usual standard and yours, I am sure. Thank you for visiting us and I hope we are given the chance to improve, on what should of been a lovely meal for you.
Waterside hopes that you will return on your next visit so that we can redeem ourselves with our usually outstanding menu offered by our Chef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterside Restaurant also viewed

St. Lawrence Gap, Christ Church Parish
Christ Church Parish, Barbados
 
St. Lawrence Gap, Christ Church Parish
St. Lawrence Gap, Christ Church Parish
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing