We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our first stay at Villa Maria Barbados”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villa Riana Barbados
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2013

My wife and i just returned from our first trip to Barbados. We were ecstatic . Best vacation yet. The villa was like new, very clean and tidy. We had the one bedroom on the lower level, just steps to the pool which was also very clean and well maintained. We were greeted by Jonathan and Sonya, they were very informative on things to do and anything we needed they were just a phone call away. The house keeper Samoan is a sweetheart if you needed towels, pillows, bedding, she is your girl. Now outside the Villa we traveled the east coast, west coast enjoying a lot of beautiful beaches and karaoke in Oistens, and Hole town, caves, overall great vacation and great villa. Thanks again Jonathan and Sonya . To Rick and Angie you have an excellent staff that work very hard to keep all your guests very happy. We will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnlorettahearn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick L, Owner at Villa Riana Barbados, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Hi guys thanks for your review and we hope to see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 64 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2013

We just returned from our first trip to Barbados, the villa met our needs just perfectly. We have small children and it was very helpful that the hosts Angie and Rick had set up a playpen and highchair for us to use. The villa was spacious and clean. We did have an issue with hot water but in all fairness it occurred during the Easter weekend so we had to wait a few days to have it fixed.

The area is very quiet and residential. We felt very safe walking around. When in doubt we just hopped In a taxi ( one nght when at the grocery store the area was very quiet and we felt a little uneasy) We went to Oistins quite a few nights for dinner (pats and uncle George's were fabulous). The grocery store is about a ten-fifteen minute walk (along main road right beside Oistins). There is also a bank, gas station and a chefettes in that area. We also walked to Miami Beach (which was one of our favourite beaches) within 15-20 mins with the kids. Maxwell beach was very close, the water was beautiful but too rough to swim with the kids, so unfortunately we needed to go to beaches that were further away. We did see the monkeys next to the Bougainvillea! The kids loved it!

We took taxis when doing day trip to other areas (rockley, worthing, the gap, carlisle, etc). All were approx.10-15$ us each way (we were 8 people). the bus was very close but with babies in strollers, the taxis were much more convenient.

We enjoyed the pool and the BBQ very much. the wifi came in handy!

My only suggestions:
-for the hosts to put together a little information book- highlighting where the main beaches are on a map and how to get to them, any shortcuts, where the grocery store is, etc.. We figured it all out but did get lost a few times! This info would be helpful to first time visitors.
-to post the phone number of the villa somewhere. We never did know what the phone number was :) a few taxi drivers and excursion companies had asked for it to get in contact with us.

I would recommend to friends and family and would stay at villa Maria in the future.

Room Tip: Our only issue with the room was the back bedroom had curtains that were thin and there is a backlig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank canada514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick L, Owner at Villa Riana Barbados, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Thanks so much guys for your review and we hope you visit us again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed at Villa Maria in March with our two teens and it suited us perfectly. The owner, Rick, was is very personable and responsive to our needs. Any issues that came up were minor and were taken care of right away. It was wonderful to be in a quiet area and yet close to everything. The South part of the island has wonderful beaches and great restaurants. We took full advantage of the facilities, using the pool daily and the barbeque a few time during the week and appreciated having both. The common areas and the pool were kept very clean. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again and would recommend it to friends traveling to Barbados, especially those with children.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KerryD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick L, Owner at Villa Riana Barbados, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Thanks for your review guys we hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

From Brian, Joyce, Betty and Gordon - We stayed at Villa Maria for 10 days in February 2013. Villa Maria in our opinion is a 5 star + Hosts Rick Laine and his wife Angie are most accommodating. The villa is clean, bright, comfortable, spacious and tastefully decorated. There is a pool, barb-b-q and the Villa is a 3 minute walk to the beach.
The Perfect home away from Home. We would definitely recommend to others and would return.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gambogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick L, Owner at Villa Riana Barbados, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Thanks guys hope to see you on your return to Barbados at villa Maria Barbados

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed at Villa Maria for a week in Jan2013 with our two children (11 and 9yrs) and it was fantastic. We stayed in the executive suite and it is beautiful - the pictures don't come close to doing it justice! Rick and Angie were wonderful hosts, made us feel very at home and when our flight home was delayed by 5 hours made sure we were not put out on the curb but rather invited us to continue to use the facilities and gave us a place to freshen up before we finally went to the airport. The location is ideal - a short walk to Oistins and the yummy fish market, the dock at Oistins is a great place to see the sea turtles and a short walk to 3+ beaches - one where we saw monkeys several times!!! Barbados is definitely our favorite Caribbean destination and we highly recommend Villa Maria!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kelleyb23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick L, Owner at Villa Riana Barbados, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Thanks so much guys hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Stayed at villa Maria for a week, Rick the owner was an excellent guy. The villa is spectacular by comparison to many other similar places. Definitely preferred this over an all inclusive. Oistins was walking distance (recommend pats for the fish!) and the gap only a short distance away! (Don't miss chez max!) overall very impressed with the accommodations and location! Would stay here again.

-Jason

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jasonobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick L, Owner at Villa Riana Barbados, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Thanks guys for a great review from all of us at villa Maria Barbados

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I found this place to be much better than the pictures describe. The decor of the unit is truly warm and made us feel very comfortable and at home. The unit was all self contained. It was a brand new unit so I was the first to enjoy it. The premesis is spotless and well maintained. The owners were terrific. We spoke with them prior to booking and they followed-up afterwards. They wanted to make sure our stay was truly enjoyable at the Villa and Barbados.

There is a pool and a BBQ for the convenience of the guests.
The beach is only a 5 minute walk away and can be seen from the top balcony.
All amenities are a short walk, bus or drive away or a taxi can be arranged very easily. The airport is also very close about a 10- 15 drive away.

I truly enjoyed the dinner show at the Sugar Plantation - I recommend this to all who visit Barbados - being there gave a true insight to their way of life and moreso their foods. Oistens was beyond terrific -- especially on Friday - which is their "fish day". The freshness of the foods from the different vendors is truly an experience. The fish cakes are a must! The chicken at Chefetts - another must! I really enjoyed walking the boardwak at Oistens enjoying a bag of fish cakes in my hand.

I have already recommended this to all my friends and relatives - being that Mexico is not as safe as it used to be -- Barbados has to be the safest.

Room Tip: Place is brand new.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick L, Owner at Villa Riana Barbados, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Thanks guys from all of us at villa Maria Barbados

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maxwell
0.3 mi away
Butterfly Beach Hotel
1 mi away
Infinity on the Beach
3.4 mi away
Ocean Spray Beach Apartments
Ocean Spray Beach Apartments
#27 of 50 in Christ Church Parish
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,147 reviews
2 mi away
The Palm Garden Hotel
The Palm Garden Hotel
#3 of 3 in Worthing
125 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Riana Barbados? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Riana Barbados

Address: 3rd Avenue Fairholme Gardens, Maxwell, Barbados (Formerly Villa Maria Barbados)
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Maxwell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Maxwell
Price Range: $100 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Riana Barbados 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Home Away from Home!Villa Riana Barbados Formally villa Maria Barbados - Discover Barbados at your own leisure here at your home away from home!Nestled on beautiful grounds surrounded by lush tropical plants & flowers, Villa Riana Barbados awaits your arrival.Boasting a total of 4 Villas each unit is fully furnished and provides all the comforts of home. Imagine enjoying your morning coffee sitting on your own private balcony!Every convenience desirable is only minutes away, either by walking or a short taxi ride.This tropical gem is ideal for weddings, family reunions, corporate rewards or your own personal get away from the every day! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Villa Riana Barbados reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Riana Barbados Maxwell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing