We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely loved it.”
other traveler has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Maxwell, Christ Church Parish, Barbados

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
KateWagst...
Burton-upon-Trent, null, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Absolutely loved it.”
Reviewed March 8, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Recently returned from a two week stay at Shelsea and we really did not want to leave.
The house is beautiful, the garden is a delight....so peaceful. Everywhere is so well kept, inside and outside. We spent many hours just sitting on the veranda watching the wildlife.
Inside of the house is so lovely, the beds are really good, plenty of clean linen, loads of beach towels. The kitchen is very well stocked with good quality pots and pans, no problem to whip up a meal for the 6 of us.
From arrival to leaving we were looked after really well by Lou and housekeeper Yvonne.
The location of Shelsea is great, very handy for beaches, eateries, supermarkets.
We hired a vehicle for our stay as we like the freedom of our own transport but you can quite easily get about on public transport.
Also communications with the owner was first class.
We will definitely return to Shelsea.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudburylo...
Sudbury, Ontario
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to stay and enjoy Barbados' beaches and sunshine!”
Reviewed April 5, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

A wonderful place to stay and enjoy Barbados' beaches and sunshine!
Shelsea was the perfect escape for our family of five. The house offers all the conveniences of home, a lightening quick walk to the beach, close proximity to the bank, grocery store and Oistin's fish market. Thank you to Sheila and Lou for ensuring we had a wonderful holiday!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona R
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed April 3, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

This is the most amazing getaway. Great location tucked away but with easy access to Maxwell beach and various amenities in Oistens. Going to start saving to go back soon. ☀️

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susant310...
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic family friendly villa”
Reviewed February 18, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The location is amazing, only 2 minutes walk from a stunning beach with white sand and turquoise sea. 2 friendly local bars are also a couple of minutes walk with a small friendly mini market next door to one of the bars. Oistins and a large supermarket are a 15 minutes stroll away.
The villa itself easily sleeps 6 with 3 good sized bedrooms all air conditioned.
The kitchen is so well equipped, everything you could possibly need to self cater has been provided. There's a lovely covered veranda overlooking the garden where we saw humming birds whilst enjoying a pre supper drink. there is also the large living room and also a tv room. One word to describe Shelsea - fantastic.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruth J
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing accommodations and service!”
Reviewed December 6, 2016 for a stay in November 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Right from our first inquiry, the service Sheila provided was fantastic!

We were prompty welcomed and given a thorough tour with a full book of information and instructions should we have any questions. The property is just as lovely as the pictures and there was more than enough room for the five of us! We didn't even use the living room and tv room, choosing to sit outside on the covered porch instead to enjoy the beautiful breeze and listen to the sea.

Shelsea has everything you need to enjoy your vacation in Barbados. The kitchen is well organized and fully equipped with every convenience. The bedrooms are bright, comfortable, spacious and very clean. The cleaning service provided was immaculate, with plenty of bath and beach towels and laundry on site.

It was so easy to keep in contact with our family as the Internet connection was reliable the entire time, even with all of us using separate devices. A home phone was a,so available for local calls.

This was our first stay in the Maxwell area and it was a great location! It was approximately a 15 minute walk to Oistins and not much farther to the St. Lawrence Gap. Breezers Bar (formerly Charlie's) is right around the corner and has the best burgers and homemade fries.

The garden is beautiful and the property so well cared for, with a private drive, gate and alarm system. We were so comfortable in the neighbourhood and truly enjoyed our stay.

We would recommend Shelsea for anyone looking for a quiet area with ease of access to beaches, shopping, bars and restaurants.

Thanks to Sheila, Lou, Yvonne and Amanda for everything you did to make our vacation wonderful!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The privacy of the property and amenities provided.
Liked least: Everything was great!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula E
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Shelsea is a little piece of heaven”
Reviewed February 11, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Shelsea is a little piece of heaven. Even though it’s not on the beach don’t let that change your mind about staying here. It’s on a quiet lane with a 1 minute walk to one of the most beautiful beaches on the south coast & from the porch & yard you can hear the waves crashing.
The beautifully kept gardens attract all kinds of birds & we saw humming birds every day. The house has all the comforts of home including a fully stocked kitchen with all modern appliances. This was great for me since I love cooking & picking up fresh fish from the Oistins fish market which is 10 minute walk from the house. We were 6 total staying in the house including 2 grandparents & 2 young children & everyone had their own space which is just what we needed.
Our holiday was just perfect & we can’t wait to return to Shelsea.
Paula

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 11, 2016
Thank you Paula! We feel honoured to achieve such a wonderful review from someone who has visited Barbados many times. We will continue to strive to make our guests feel welcome and happy and we hope you return to Shelsea one day soon!
Sheila Jacobs
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis N
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Could not Have Found a Better Place”
Reviewed March 27, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We have stayed in Barbados villas before, but we found Shelsea a cut above most. It is spacious, comfortable, and above all, well located. The garden provides a delightful place to enjoy breakfast with the company of hummingbirds and mourning doves. The proximity to the beach was delightful, allowing time for a morning swim after breakfast and plenty of time to explore the island the rest of the day. Evening cocktails on the sheltered veranda were a great way to relax at the end the day. The Oistens location places you in a position to easily travel around the island by rental car or bus. The Oistens outdoor fish market is a great place to get just-caught fish for a late afternoon barbecue back at the house. Will be returning to Shelsea.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing