We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charlie's the man!”

Charlies Bar And Grill
Ranked #2 of 6 Restaurants in Maxwell
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Indian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Near Butterfly Beach Hotel
Fife, Scotland
Level Contributor
189 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Charlie's the man!”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Big old colonial style building along the road from our hotel owned and run by the legend that is Charlie. I think if he ever went home sober his own dog would bite him! He makes the place what it is. We never ate there but spoke to people who highly recommended the food. He is ably assisted at the bar by the lovely Esther, a local. The place is very friendly, very welcoming, very British, very charming. It's Charlie's Bar and Grill (it says so above the door!) and so it's Charlie who decides the music, volume, closing time etc. Eccentric, entertaining, warm and welcoming. We loved the place and returned several times.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank dangerousbryman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    69
    24
    12
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,310 helpful votes
“Will return again and again great value for money”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Used Charlies at least 4 times in 2 weeks, travelled with my grown up son and husband, was never disappointed, Good food great value for money, Ester is a star, Charlie is Charlie, a wee darling, Sunday lunch is fab, you may have to book, evening dinners are great, fish and chips, coconut shrimp salad, lamb chops, cottage pie etc all great prices. Music is set in the 70 and 80 era, with dance along videos, pool table in one corner, this is one of my favourite bars on the Island.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
14 Thank scotlass508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best fish and chips!”
Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Fabulous fish and chips. We went with friends and had a lovely time. Charlie's also plays some great music!
We will go again and I would recommend it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank woodycatherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“excellent hosts”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

for a great meal and drinks, and some good listening music from your host Charlie, close to the Butterfly beach hotel is well worth a visit

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kv1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A real but nice change.”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

This was an informal and reasonably priced venue with really good food and service that was very friendly and efficient. The jerk chicken was super as was the king prawns.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charlies Bar And Grill also viewed

Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
Oistins, Christ Church Parish
 
Dover, Christ Church Parish
Oistins, Christ Church Parish
 
Maxwell, Christ Church Parish
Oistins, Christ Church Parish
 

Been to Charlies Bar And Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing