We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely 2 bedroom condo”

Review of Rainbow Coral

Pool area, looking toward apartments
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool area, looking toward apartments
Pool area looking toward sea Apartments , from beach
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
58 reviews
Pool area, looking toward apartments
Pool area looking toward sea
Apartments , from beach
Balcony overlooking sea
Master bedroom with king bed
Second bedroom , twin beds
Fully equipped kitchen, breakfast counter
Maxwell Beach - best in Barbados
Sundowner time
Maxwell beach
Living room , early evening
Sunset hour
Porch area
Pool fom apartment balcony
Well equipped kitchen
Dining area on verandah
Entrance to building
Pool area and garden
Apartments across pool
Sea view from garden
Beach from pool
Beach scene
Crowded day at the pool
Beachcomber
Beach and garden
Lush garden area
Master bathroom with tub for two
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Maxwell, Christ Church Parish, Barbados

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Sachabo
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Lovely 2 bedroom condo”
Reviewed April 11, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We stayed at Rainbow Coral for 3 weeks this past March, 2017. We loved this very clean and spacious 2 bedroom villa. 2 of us came from Canada, the other 2 from England. We all thoroughly enjoyed the lovely views from the comfortable and lovely laid out veranda, the white rattan wicker furniture was so comfortable to lounge on, as well as the meals we prepared and were able to eat on the veranda. We never tired of the waves rolling in. This villa didn’t miss a thing, the wifi was superb, filtered water, plenty of linens and towels, laundry facilities came in very useful, plentiful cooking pots and pans, cooler for the beach and the owner was kind enough to loan us his own personal golf clubs to use during our stay. The cleaning staff were very friendly, as was Suzanne and Rene at the front desk. We were sad to learn of Caesar’s departure after our first week stay at Maxwell. Caesar was always there to greet us with his friendly smile and always had a joke for us upon our return from our daily outings. The gardens at Maxwell Villas are kept pristine, walks along Maxwell Beach very relaxing. We spent a fair amount of our beach days at Worthing Beach which is only a short 4 km drive from the villa. Had morning runs on the boardwalk in Rockwell, also only approximately 5 km’s from the villa. Oistins Fish Fry was a 10 minute walk away, as was the Massey Store for groceries, and Surfers Cafe along the way became a regular stop for happy hour and tasty local meals. We rented a car and drove to all the tourist areas, Harrisons Caves, Bathsheba, St. Nicholas Abbey, Flower Pot Caves, Lone Star restaurant, The Fish Pot and Atlantis Hotel, the Beach House and many restaurants in the St. Lawrence Gap. Buying a Mahi Mahi fish and having the local fisherman skin and debone it for us for a measly $40 USD enabled us to have 3 tasty fish dinners in the villa. We would certainly become repeat customers of Rainbow Coral if and when the time permits, as we realize, it is a very well sought after villa so booking early is a must. Thanks for the wonderful memories and can’t wait to create new memories again in the near future.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovely_Ll...
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wonderful home away from home”
Reviewed February 17, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We just returned from a far-too-short stay at Rainbow Coral. My husband and our 3 year old daughter spent 10 days in this wonderfully appointed villa and if I could, I would give this place more than a 5!

The location is superbly situated on the South Coast. For food and dining, it's a short walk to the grocery store, to the Oistins Fish Fry, to numerous veggie/fruit vendors, the fish market, Surfer's Café (where we enjoyed the most delicious morning lattes!)... and even a delicious roti take-out spot is right next door!

For location, in terms of beaches, well the photos say it all! At your doorstep is a beautiful beach that's almost always nearly empty. Just past this beach south along the coast and you'll have another great beach right over the rocks (also accessible by the road) and if you wanted to go over to Miami/Enterprise Beach, you're about a 5 minute ZR bus away (would certainly be walkable, but with a 3-year-old in tow, that walk would have taken us a very long time!). The waters were definitely enjoyable for all ages - our daughter loved playing in the ocean and giggled each time the waves wobbled her around!

As for the unit itself, this is a great place and it's very obvious that Gary has paid attention to the little details... and these are the things that made it feel so easy to get settled, so easy to feel right at home in front of the stunning views. Everything you could possibly need in the kitchen was there (even including Tupperware, plastic wrap, bags clips etc... the little things that making lunches for the beach/pool so simple with a child). From ample plasticware for the beach/deck, to serving platters/bowls - to a lovely ice bucket for chilling drinks outdoor! - everything was not only in very good condition, very clean, but a fair amount of them were actually quite high end products - an unexpected luxury, but well appreciated treat on holidays (including some lovely pieces from Earthworks... what a treat!)! Also nice to see throughout the villa was the artwork; each piece felt thoughtfully chosen and represented local artists from Barbados.

The bedrooms were very well furnished, beds were comfortable, lots of room in the TWO double walk-in closets, very large master bathroom... lots of bathrooms towels, lots of beach towels.

Wi-Fi access was seamless throughout the villa, air conditioning worked perfectly, the ice-maker and water dispenser on the fridge were great and all appliances, furnishings, etc... were well taken care of and super clean!

The only thing that made all of this even better than the best was Gary's superb 'service' (for lack of a better word!). From the moment we began inquiring about this unit, to some last-minute correspondence days before we left, he was always exceptionally courteous, very quick to respond, very open to provide guidance and assistance with other inquiries that were beyond that of the villa... and the greatest touch? He even personally called us when we arrived to welcome us to his place and check in to see if everything was to our satisfaction! Gary - thank you so very much!

As others have already mentioned, Renae was also a true pleasure to work with - she was so helpful (she even helped secure a rental car for us, assist us with our taxi for the ride home, and was always VERY quick to address any questions/comments etc. that we may have had). We were sad to say goodbye to her!

Overall, this was a great villa and we'd highly recommend it to anyone!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coloradoc...
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
“Best vacation ever!”
Reviewed November 27, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

I'm not even sure where to start! My husband and I, plus our son (9) and daughter (7) stayed at Gary's vacation rental the 2nd week of October. What a great rental! We'd stay here again in a heartbeat! Suzanne, the property manager, was amazing help. She always had a smile on her face and was ready to help with anything and everything we may have needed. The unit was very clean and came with everything. I loved having the washer and dryer in the unit, so convenient with children. It was great to have extra beach towels as well, and we used them! We were surprised and delighted when someone came in mid-week while we were out and about and cleaned the unit again. Such great service!
The view is to die for and I was so sad when I had to stop having my coffee on the balcony every morning, just taking in the beautiful ocean and listening to the waves crashing below. The comfy seating out there was abundant and such a blessing.
A must is the Oistens fish fry on Fridays. Take a mini bus there even if you have a car because it will be a pain to park. You could walk it as well. We walked there around 6pm and then took a mini bus home in the dark. That's a great place to pick up local souvenirs as well, lots of great craftsmen have booths there behind the fry by the ocean.
There is a Massey supermarket right by the fish fry, but it isn't a very large one. I suggest if you do have a car you go inland to the much larger Massey. You can find anything and everything you may need there.
We only had a car for 4 of the days we were there and that was sufficient since the condo is very centrally located to so many other things you could either walk to or take a cheap mini bus for a dollar US.
Bring your snorkeling gear. You can easily snorkel right in front of the property on the beach that is feet from the pool gate. The water wasn't too rough and our kids loved it.
You can bring dry goods from the mainland for personal consumption tax free. So take advantage and bring your coffee, oatmeal, cereal, etc if you don't want to have to worry about picking it up right away or paying higher island prices (though it wasn't too bad).
Thanks again to Gary, Suzanne and Caesar (security) for the awesome trip. You guys made all the difference!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location right on the ocean
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trotter70...
Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful waterfront villa in Maxwell, Barbados, ideally situated”
Reviewed April 5, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Just completed a one week stay in Rainbow Coral in Maxwell, Barbados. As this was our first trip to Barbados, we really did not know what to expect. Immediately upon arrival we were met and greeted by Caesar, an incredible gentleman whose welcome extended the entire week - a superb individual who went the extra mile to facilitate us. The villa itself is beautifully situated and appointed - exactly as described. The views are incredible - fishing boats, wind surfers, blue ocean for as far as one can see, etc. The only sound was the rolling surf which lulled us to sleep every evening. During our first day there, we received a call from Gary, the owner, welcoming us to Barbados and asking if everything was in order with the villa, or what he could do to make our stay more enjoyable. From the moment we first enquired about Rainbow Coral to the time we left to return home, Gary was excellent to work with - prompt, efficient, and professional. We hired David (David's Tours) for our taxi service and again he was incredible - inexpensive, always on time, and another wealth of information. For our day excursions, we used the local buses and found the local folks to be engaging, polite, and accommodating - beautiful people who made us feel entirely safe and welcome at all times. There is a Massey's store a short walk from the villa, fully stocked with everything we needed. We alternated between dining out and eating in, as the spirit moved us. Barbados is very reasonably priced with costs approximating those of North America. Because we have travelled extensively, we have had exposure to many different situations which allow us to compare/contrast travelling experiences and one thing we both agree on is Barbados and Rainbow Coral are both worth return visits.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location - quiet, private, easy access to everything (no need to rent a vehicle)
Liked least: Having to leave.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul G
Nova Scotia, Canada
1 review
“Postcard Ocean View”
Reviewed November 10, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

This is our second stay in Rainbow Coral, Maxwell Beach Unit #401 and my second review for the same unit, so I will attempt to differentiate from last years review. We stayed for four weeks. First, the owner is a pleasure to deal with. Secondly, the property management team here is prompt and courteous should there be any issues with the unit or you are in need of information on the island.

The unit is neat and clean with high end touches, such as granite countertops, SS appliances, tiled floors and tiled bathroom walls. The view is incredible, from what I would say is a rather large balcony area with an abundance of seating. The ocean is framed perfectly from the second you enter through the front doors. There is air conditioning in both bedrooms, as well as the living room. Rarely used during the day, as the ocean breeze with the doors open is wonderful. There is a super pool area just off the beach and a nice stretch of beach to walk. Not long, but it's not crowded. There is a bit of surf, more than the west coast, but honestly we prefer the south shore area. There are only 15 units in total, so it's quiet and relaxing if that's what you're looking for.

We had a car rental for our stay and there is ample underground parking. The bus stop is directly in front of the complex and is cheap ($2bb), should you prefer that option. The complex has security 24hr. and they are most helpful as well.

The only negative I can say is that the furniture is not quite as comfortable as I would like. I preface this with the fact I have back problems at the best of times. The bed is a bit too soft and the living room furniture isn't overly comfortable. Having said this, we have secured this same condo for another four weeks next year.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 11, 2015
Thanks for the great review , and look forward to seeing you again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lovethesu...
cincinnati
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Spacious, well-equiped villa in a convenient location”
Reviewed August 18, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Just returned from 10 days at Rainbow Coral on Maxwell Beach. The Villa was fabulous with all the comforts of home but the upgrade of the Caribbean Sea outside our door. Traveled with my husband and two sons who are in their twenties. It was wonderful to have the second bedroom and bath for them. They tended to stay out late at the clubs but the villa is so well built we didn't even hear them when they came home.
It was also great to have the laundry room which allowed us to pack half of what we would normally and only have to have carry-on luggage.
The location was very convenient to Oistens, many restaurants and bars, a grocery store and entertainment district, The Gap. It is also on the route for the reggae buses which cost only $1 and take you all around the island. However, I would recommend renting a car to be able to visit the other many beaches on the island.
We felt very safe on the island but especially so at the villa thanks to the secured entry and our very knowledgeable security guard, Ceasar. The pool area and gardens were lovely.
Rainbow Coral was definitely the best value and most comfortable accommodation we have had in our many Caribbean travels.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Huge balcony overlooking ocean.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B-HomeExc...
London
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great apartment with large balcony overlooking pool and beach”
Reviewed June 1, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We stayed here for a wonderful 7 nights and had a great time. The apartment is to be recommended both for its well appointed and maintained accommodation and its excellent location. I certainly would have no hesitation in staying here again if ever back in Barbados.

We hired a car for 3 days which I would not do again as not surprisingly we got lost and indeed there is no real need to drive around yourself as buses and taxis are a plenty.

If visiting Oistins I would recommend eating there any night apart from Friday to avoid the queues but go there for a drink instead and enjoy the Friday night fun.

Brian - HomeExchange50plus

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing