We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Butterfly Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunbay Hotel(Christ Church Parish)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barbados Beach Club(Christ Church Parish)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Bougainvillea Barbados(Christ Church Parish)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sandals Royal Barbados(St. Lawrence Gap)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sandals Barbados(St. Lawrence Gap)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Melbourne Inn @ Car Rentals(Christ Church Parish)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Two Resort & Residences(St. Lawrence Gap)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,815)
Filter reviews
1,815 results
Traveler rating
781
706
231
65
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
781
706
231
65
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsst lawrence gapthe gaphappy hourreggae busesrotisurfers cafeanne mariefish fryfriday nightrum punchisland viewsun deckreef barsuperior studiohired a carlarge supermarketlocal buses
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
995 - 1,000 of 1,815 reviews
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Think before you go is the key motto the security is very poor here we saw a robbery at this hotel and the staff were not helpful with this issue.The beach either side is so tiny you could hardly put a sunbed on it so photos are not true.The staff were misrable .St. lawerence gap most of the places were boarded up or closed and no where to go in the evenings near the hotel, I would not go again as nothing is what its made out to be.

Room Tip: very noisy at night with crickets and frogs from 6pm to 6am all night long
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chaz d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly-Management, General Manager at Butterfly Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear chaz d,

I am sorry to hear you had concerns about your stay in Barbados, but I do need to respond especially to one misconception in your review:

There has been no robbery at the hotel as you seem to be saying, we have security on site 24 hours to prevent such an occurrence and this program is working very well. There was an incident on the public beach nearby, over which we have limited control. There is a difference!

I am sorry that the Gap seemed closed up; this is definitely the case during the day as many establishments only open after dark. We would have been happy to recommend other spots to visit during the day. Since we are right on all the main bus routes it is very easy to get around the island from Butterfly.

And lastly our beach has suffered during the recent spring tide season, but has already started to rebuild. This is a natural cyclical process which contributes to the health of the beach, but can result in some varying beach width throughout the year.

I do hope you enjoyed other aspects of your visit to Barbados (whistling frogs in the garden notwithstanding!); we count ourselves lucky to live on a beautiful island and we love to share it with our guests.

Yours sincerely,
Mark Kent
General Manager
management@butterflybeach.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Just back from 11 nights @ Butterfly beach hotel and loved every minute of my holiday .....all staff so helpful from reception to the ladies who clean the rooms... restaurant staff so helpful and the food excellent can't wait to book again also the weather was hot hot hot

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debbieob_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed at Butterfly Beach between 2nd - 12th May for 9 nights. I read some reviews on here beforehand and got a bit worried about the road noise etc so i emailed the hotel before and requested a room away from the road. We arrived and were given drinks on arrival and shown to room 203. 203 is on the 2nd floor, the balcony backs onto the hotel gardens and it was close enough to see the sea if you looked left. The room was lovely, spacious, good air con etc and cleaned thoroughly every day. It is basic but of a high standard for the price that we paid - if you want luxury then i would recommend you spend more money and go and stay at the crane.

This was our first trip to barbados and we can see why people come back year after year. There were people in our hotel who had stayed there many times, revisiting year on year. We travelled round the island and went exploring and saw other hotels but I have to say that I would come back and stay at Butterfly beach again and again.

The location is excellent. You cant get any better. Its a 10 minute walk to Oistins and on the sea front. St lawrence Gap is about 20 minutes the other way but still walkable (we walked it a few times and got the reggae reggae busses the other times). We felt safe all the time even walking around at night.

The food in the hotel was lovely - i recommend the BBQ night on a thursday. We had it on our first night and it was so good we had it again the next thursday. We were self catering so we tended to have our own breakfast in the room (yoghurt, fruit etc) and then lunched at the hotel and then went out for dinner most nights. There is a mexican restuarant in St lawrence gap called CAFE SOL and that was lovely! The foot at the hotel was very reasonable and cheaper than england prices. Drinks were also cheaper that england - about 14 barbadian dollars for a cocktail which is about 4.50 (You would not get a cocktail anywhere in the UK for £4.50) There are two happy hours throughout the day 12 - 1 and 5 - 6. Both great value. I have nothing bad to say its the only holiday ive ever been on that i couldnt fault.

The weather was lovely, the pool is lovely, the bajan people are lovely and all very friendly. We did the Cool Runnings boat trip (costs about £65 per person in english and well worth it) would recommend to everyone, amazing food and free drink all day and the added experience of swimming with turtles and seeing the island.

We were going to hire a car but didnt see the point in the end we just got the reggae reggae busses everywhere. They take you anywhere on the island for 50p a trip. (2 bbd dollars)

All i can say is that we had the best holiday ever and we will definatly go back to Butterfly hopefully next year. if your going soon look out for the kittens in the hotel there are 4 just that had just been born...

Room Tip: If you have gone for Island view the 201, 202, 203, 204, 205 and 206 are all in a good location away from the road...with views to the sea if you lean over the balcony.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank katiedixon1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Just back from staying at the Butterfly Beach. Lovely little hotel and the staff were very friendly, hotel clean.
I can’t say I had any complaints, which is unusual!
We stayed as "room only" and either ate out or used the hotels beach bar/restaurant. Food at the hotel was generally very good, basic menu but you could eat something different every day.
Alcohol was on par price wise with most hotels but they did have happy hours which seemed very popular, half price on beer and some cocktails, maybe the hotel may look at this and realize they may sell more if their prices were a little less, but hey they have staff to pay.
I can’t say much more about the hotel, it’s a little gem. If you need to organize anything the girl in the hotel shop is outstanding and needs a mention here, thank you

Eating out, well there are restaurants nearby the nearest is across the road from the Butterfly, a Chinese. If you go there don’t be put of by the surroundings, as the food is superb you wont be disappointed. Another 100yards past the Chinese is another venue you must go to “Charlies bar”. They have a good basic menu you can even get “Fish n chips” also does a Sunday roast, but advisable to book at any time. Charlie is English with a sense of humor, also likes the rum!
Oistins “fish fry” is only a short distance in the other direction this is very popular on Friday and Saturday. We went twice and found it better to go through the week, as on Fri and Sat they tended to be just “pushing” customers through and the value was not as good as mid week.
The other places we ate at were at St Lawrence’s just a few miles from the Butterfly we tried a few different restaurants all very similar in prices and quality. There is an excellent Italian “Luigi's” a bit more expensive but well worth it as the food was exceptional

If you take a trip to the famous Crane Beach there is another top restaurant on the main road called “Cutters Deli” open all day food is very good. How to get there; just catch a bus that is going to “Sam Lords” (also recommended on Trip advisor, search Cutters of Barbados: Restaurant reviews)
As I have mentioned please use the buses either the Blue ones yellow ones or the minivan type (we called them Reggae buses as they all seem to be playing reggae) All buses charge 2 B$ per person to any where on the routes.


I will give a word of warning for Barbados in general; there is a lot of opportune crime. One of the guests had a gold chain stolen from around his neck in broad daylight. He was on the beach next to the hotel at the time, the beach is public not private. So my advice is not to wear any jewelry, ladies make sure that your handbags/purses are well secure and only carry the monies that you require. It’s a shame and only small minority committing the crime, just the same as anywhere in the World, be safe and enjoy the Butterfly Beach
Yours, Lord and Lady Elpme

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LordElpme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Where to start? This was my wife and I's second visit to Butterfly Beach and it is just amazing.

Room was immaculate and cleaned daily, we were in room 517 which was the top floor and had brilliant views over the sea and island.

The food was brilliant yet again we couldn't fault anything every meal we had was excellent, breakfast was good as well.
The staff are very welcoming and I must give a special mention to Scholfield a cool dude!!
And the wee security guard who helped me when i thought I had lost my wallet.

We are already planning a return trip asap!!
Keep up the good work Butterfly

Room Tip: Recommend a see view room
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NEIL M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews