We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Butterfly Beach Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Golden Sands Hotel(Maxwell)(Great Value!)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ferienwohnung B&B(Maxwell)(Great Value!)
$119
Agoda.com
View Deal
Bougainvillea Barbados(Christ Church Parish)(Great Value!)
$305
$240
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barbados Beach Club(Christ Church Parish)
$254
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$638
$562
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Melbourne Inn @ Car Rentals(Christ Church Parish)
$66
$61
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Sunbay Hotel(Christ Church Parish)
$55
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Monteray Apartment Hotel(Christ Church Parish)(Great Value!)
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
Reviews (1,825)
Filter reviews
1,825 results
Traveler rating
788
708
231
65
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
788
708
231
65
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsst lawrence gapthe gaphappy hourreggae busesrotisurfers cafeanne mariefish fryfriday nightrum punchisland viewsun deckreef barsuperior studiohired a carlarge supermarketlocal buses
Filter
Updating list...
1,125 - 1,130 of 1,825 reviews
Reviewed November 16, 2012

First impressions were good, cold drink on arrival, quick check in and shown to room 405, this backs on to the car park (can be noisy at times due to the main road) The room was a reasonable size, clean, with a little kitchen area which encluded a fridge. Maid service is daily and very efficient. An excellent Breakfast was included in our package, toast, pastries, fresh fruit, cereals, bacon, eggs, sausage, beans, the works, The pool area, jazuzzi area and sun decks are clean and tidy, the beach at either side of the hotel is beautiful great spot for a sea bath. The reef bar and grill is a bit pricey, best stick to happy hour for drinks 12 noon to 1pm then 5pm to 6pm. typical price for 1 beer 5bds . Considering most places are 4 beers for 10bds. The staff I found friendly and helpful, with the odd exception, (this is normal world wide) I was dissapointed with the communication system, I had my 50th birthday there and many people had e-mailed , phoned, and facebooked the hotel, these messages were not passed on. However all in all the Butterfly is good value for money good clean accomodation
perfectly positioned for The Gap,Oistens, & the airport (frequent buses outside hotel), a good 3 star property, I would not hesitate to book again. Hair dryers and Irons are available for loan free of charge from reception. Wifi is available in the lounge, bar, and, in the room.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms towards the front of the hotel these will be quieter
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank scotlass508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful 2 weeks ( 29Oct-12Nov) and we are already saving to go back. We renewed our vows on the beautiful Foul Beach with the help of Clickwedbabados and LeslieStJohn doing the photos. Wonderful setting and the photos are great. We had an upgrade to a room overlooking the pool and the sea every breakfast was spent feeding the birds and my husband trying to get a photo of the resisdent humming bird. Awesome. The most noise was the whistleing frogs that you could hear but not see.

We went on the cool running catamaran, had a wonderful time swiming with the turtles, looking where the other half holiday (Sandy Lane) our beach much nicer. We then hired a car for 3 days and tied to get lost. You cant get lost on the island you just dont always end up where you intended!! We saw he wild life, we saw the orchids, the caves and all the beautiful green country.

The hotel was wonderfully convienient for everything. We were self-catering,which meant we could do as we pleased. Lovely fish in Oistins, best Sunday dinner at Charlies and for something a little special Cafe Luna. Breakfast on the balcony listening to the changing sound of the waves
.
The staff worked in Bajan time (slow!!) But we had a glass of fizz after our
ceremony and Deb in the shop was great for booking trips etc.
We used the little tootoot buses by day ,a squash but an experience not to be missed. The pavements with give health and saftey a nightmare so watch wher ur walking.

WE loved it all and cant wait to go back. Great place, people,weather and new friends.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We had a great stay at the Butterfly beach Hotel. Great location at a reasonable price. Some areas looking a bit tired , but, lets face it, How much time do you really spend in the room ? Most of it you have your eyes closed sleeping.You could pay big money for some flash looking place and not neccisarilly be much better off. All the staff were great , very friendly and helpfull, except one (Lynnette) . We think she is probably the most misserable person we encountered on our whole stay on the Island (no job satisfation there), no smile, abrupt when asked something and just walked away when you approached the bar. The Location is right on the beach and the water is crystal clear and nice and warm with sandy beach areas to the right and left. The pool is just a square pool, but does shape really matter ? It's cool and refreshing when it' really needed. The Reggie buses are a fun cheap way to get up and down the coast and you won't have to wait long for one to come along. Rent a car if you want to see the real barbados and find some other really nice beaches. We spent a day on Foul Bay Beach and we were the only ones there. True Paradise. The locals everywhere are friendly and will help you with directions should you need it. Oistins fish fry on a friday night is a must. Pats Place is one of the bigger ones along the road by the stage area. Your served on a picnic table with paper plates and plastic cutlery. But this was one of the best meals we had and went back three times. the Flying fish is fantastic accompanied with Macaroni pie and a Banks beer, Mmmmm. Great atmophere. Loads of nice places to eat up and down the coast. We took the Cool Runnings catamaran boat trip. We've been on loads of boat trips over the years and this has got to be The or one of the best trips we've been on. Great food and loads of drink, Really nice new looking boats and the crew were fantastic, they couldn't be more helpfull, always topping up your drinks and helping wherever they could with snorkle gear or taking pictures for you. One got in the water when we swam with the turtles. What an experiance that was. They also took us to a ship wreck that was fairly shallow so you could see even when snorkleing. Then they took us to Sandy Lane beach and we had our lunch and you could swim ashore and walk along the beach where the rich and famous stay. Cheapest room $1500 U.S. per night. All this with good tunes playing and a great atmophere. Great trip. All the people we encountered on our stay were repeat visiters to the island or the hotel as we probably will be too. Take some ear plugs to block out the crickets and churping frogs at night . I thought this was going to be a problem sleeping but after the first night or so you hardly notice them. I 100% recommend this place.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the road, it can be a bit noisey.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Ken N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We have been to the island a number of times now and have stayed in different hotels each time. For a 3 star this is a little gem.
You will find that all the 3 stars hotels in Barbados are a little rough around the edges, which in no way detracts from the pleasure and are generally to the same standard decor in the rooms, but not all have the position you find with this one.
It is positioned right on the beach with fantastic views around the bay and out to sea, which for the same views/postion on the west coast, you would pay a premium.
The rooms are basic and cleaned daily but have a bed, TV, bathroom and balcony and as you are staying on a beautiful island, that is all you need for the short time you spend in your room.
A fan and air con are supplied at no extra cost
As has been mentioned by others it also has free Wi-Fi and free use of a computer.
The staff were friendly but did have that resigned look most of us have when going through the motions each day.
There is a swimming pool and 3 jacuzzis which coupled with the beautiful beach and sea next to them make this pretty idyllic. This is also where the restaurant/bar is located.
We found the food to be fine although limited. Beacuse of that, I don't think all inclusive is the way to go if staying here and also there are a variety of restaurants and nightlife available at The Gap and Oistins very close by.
It is on a very busy main road so if you have small children be careful but other than that we found it be be very well worthwhile for the price.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MARK100Herts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for the majority of our stay in Barbados. It's not fancy, but it has a lot of charm. The front desk staff was a little hit-or-miss in terms of friendliness, but they were helpful nonetheless, and being greeted with a delicious glass of fruit juice upon checking in was a wonderful perk. Their concierge, Marie, was fantastic and helped us line up a car rental and a catamaran tour, and gave us plenty of great advice about the Oistins fish fry and things to check out around the island.

Their beach was small, but lovely; it's shared with another hotel, and unfortunately closed at night, but the way the tide came in that seemed to be a sensible precaution. The breakfasts were hearty (not healthy, but very tasty), and the night we ate at the hotel was a nicely bountiful BBQ buffet with steel drum entertainment - good times.

The only thing that keeps us from giving the hotel an excellent is the room - it was generally fine, but the bathroom and shower were very small, and the king bed was two twins put together. The bed and pillows were just not very comfortable, moreover. That said, the full length mirror on the closet was a plus, along with the free internet in the lobby, and the easy access to a main road. Taken in full, a very solid hotel, well worth the cost.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kalijinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews