We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“magical and memorable castle”
Review of CastelBrando

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
CastelBrando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2013

we spent a magical couple of days in castlebrando with a small wide eyed boy and a baby. the setting is stunning and scenery wonderful. it was the end of the christmas season and all the staff there were all most helpful, polite and helped in every way to make our stay there the best possible. the food was delicious and our requests for small things for the children and baby was never a problem for the restaurant staff. you can feel the castle's age and the carefully maintained historical structure, generous external courtyards, gardens, views and interiors make it a great place to stay that is authentic and memorable. we cant wait to go back again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrShaneWalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastelBrando_Treviso, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at CastelBrando, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

we are happy you enjoyed your stay here at CastelBrando.

We hope to see you again soon, and if you come back with all the family we can offer some spacious family rooms and apartments for you and your kids.

Thank you very much for your opinion,

warm regards,
CastelBrando Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (742)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 742 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2013

I spent a week end in Castelbrando with my boyfriend and it was wonderful. It was winter and it rained all the time, very unlucky, we could not take advantage neither outdoor facilities, nor walking and promenades of this beautiful area. Despite that, we did enjoy excellent food, the kindness of the staff, the peaceful spa and its very professional staff. And the fabulous room, really unbelievable! It seemed to live a fairy tale! Strongly recommended! It was really great! I will come back with my kids, it will be fun for them visiting and living in a castle!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gigio S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastelBrando_Treviso, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at CastelBrando, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

we are happy you enjoyed your stay in CastelBrando.

Thank you very much for your opinion.
We hope to see you again soon here, and if you come with your kids we have some spacious family rooms and apartments to let you stay all together.

Warm regards,
CastelBrando Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We went to CastelBrando for a friends wedding. It was a very magical and beautiful place. The perfect choice for a storybook wedding. The staff was very helpful and we found the grounds to be very fun to explore also. Good choice Neide and Dominik!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rcandresen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastelBrando_Treviso, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at CastelBrando, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear rcandresen,

we are glad you had a pleasant stay at CastelBrando.

Thank you for your opinion, we hope to have you soon again as our guest here in the castle.

Warm regards,
CastelBrando Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed for four nights over Christmas.we were part of a gruop, but got lucky and had a junior sweet, perhaps because someone noted it was my wife's birthday on Christmas Day. Other members of our party mentioned their rooms were a bt small and oddly shaped, but no one complained, you dont expect regulation "Holiday Inn" style rooms in a castle.
We enjoyed hosting pre dinner birthday drinks for about 12 of our new chums in our gigantic room, I can say it was not crowded!
We loved the secret passages that we discovered, it was almost like we never took the same route twice when going to the restaurant.
We found the staff helpful and the atmosphere in the La Fucina restaurant to be great. On Christmas Day we experienced a many course lunch, in the local style.
The setting and location of the castle are exceptional and the village below is lovely to stroll around on a chilly Christmas morning. Venice and the Ski resort of Cortina are less than an hour and a half away.
Our only disappointment was the food, nothing was bad just a bit inconsistent and in comparisson to other aspects of the castle a bit uninspired. I appreciate that as a group we were having set mealsa and some dishes were good, but one main course consisted of two slices of overcooked pork and a few boiled potatoes which were undercooked. Having said that, I don't eat cheese, which can be a bit problematic in Italy, but the staff were always happy to find me an alternative.
Our tour was billed as "Christmas in an Italian Castle" and our Castel Brando experience will give us lasting memories.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastelBrando_Treviso, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at CastelBrando, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Dear Guest,
thank you for your review. We take note about the food and we are very grateful that you enjoyed CastelBrando.

Thank you again and we send you our best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Castel Brando was a fabulous place to visit on our trip to Italy! It was snowing when we arrived so it was just magical.
Amazing history and places to explore throughout the Castle. We stayed on a Monday and Tuesday night when they were quiet. Apparently the weekends are much busier and there are tours of the castle which I would have loved to do to find out more about the history.
Unlike others comments we found the staff very pleasant and quite helpful, maybe because it was so quiet, but we happy with the service. Especially Anna Maria in the La Fucina restaurant. She was just wonderful. Our package included lunch and dinner each day in the restaurant and Anna Maria always had our table ready and remembered what we drank and our preferences. Thank you Anna Maria.
Castel Brando is definitely worth the trek out. Only took 1 hour on a train from Venice and then a 20min cab ride from the train station. The accommodation prices were quite reasonable. The standard room and bathroom is quite small but we were very comfortable and the view out our window to the village below was stunning. Free wifi is available throughout the Castle and they did have computers for guests to use, however they were very slow. The day spa was great as it was included in our package, however don't know that we would have paid on top for it if it wasn't. It just needed a great big hot jacuzzi spa then it would have been better!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank EmilyS402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastelBrando_Treviso, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at CastelBrando, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Dear guest,

thank you for your excellent review.
We are between Venice and the Dolomites and it's very easy to reach these locations.

Hoping to see you again, we send you our best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

CastelBrando is situated in a magic surroundings in Cison di Valmarino. I've been there in December to visit my friends. Before the Christmas everything was floating in lights, like the highest pine in Europe. It was wonderful.
The castle and it’s environment is beautiful, the hotel room and the service was excellent.

The evening I’ve spent at Live’r – bar Donatello. This is an unique music pub in an enchanting surroundings among the ancient walls of CastelBrando. I can suggest it to all, who would like to complete his relax with a pleasant evening. Here you can enjoy a Live music at the weekends, during the year you can take part on a several special programme. The bar offers own special drinks and food. The young, dynamic staff insures the friendly atmosphere. It's together like a "favola".
So if you visit it won't be disappointed. You will spend there an enjoyable time with yours.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erika2011000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastelBrando_Treviso, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at CastelBrando, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Dear guest,

thank you for your beautiful comment.
We hope to see you again in our castle and we send you our best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We couldn't figure this place out ! Grand beyond belief , history that makes Windsor Castle look a thing of the 60s , dungeons and attics but TV monitors all over the place promoting it as a conference venue and that you could get 50% off a pizza on a Tuesday !
Whoever is in charge of their promotion and marketing has to have a hard look at their offer and service. What are you trying to achieve other than guest confusion?
Our bedrooms were characterful if not a bit on the small size. Shower etc was tiny. Our windows were very high up so you actually couldnt see out of them which was a bit strange but actually for a castle probably the norm!
The place is incredible and spectacular. History , views , style , location and grand in every way. But if you want a coffee at 10.30 in the morning you have to take a trek through the building ultimately ending up in a Pizza joint. Everything was just that bit of an effort... you were made to feel guilty bothering or asking the staff about anything.

The spa had the ambience to be something very special but the staff were just plain rude and uncaring - it spoilt it. As did the fact that the relaxation room was freezing. Booking in etc was all a bit haphazard and when we arrived we were told to get our dressing gowns etc from the reception. "No you get them" ...which they did to be fair! Sorry next time my wife just wont book you to do a massage and indeed next time we'll bring our own couch with a breathing hole... you physically cannot give a safe shoulder and neck massage without a breathing hole. It was all very amateurish and again pretty uncaring. The brochure photos flatter the spa as the service and ambience failed to deliver.
One of our party was celebrating his birthday. The hotel agreed to lay on a special package for him at the restaurant (...the dreaded pizza joint). The meal was very very average and indeed our waiter got virtually everything wrong that we ordered. Indeed my wife's main course never arrived. I just ordered a pizza which ironically was the best meal out of the supposed four course "banquet".
However , a special mention must go to the Senegalese barman who was just so cheerful and helpful - the one bright service highlight to our stay and what a difference it makes.
So in short an incredible place with the most incredible potential but confused by Pizzahut style promotions , TV monitors everywhere self promoting the facility (..duh we're here already) and staff who think they are 5 star in concept but 2 star in delivery. Frustrating really because it could be really special.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank horsetiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cison Di Valmarino
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Marcello Marinelli
Hotel Villa Marcello Marinelli
#2 of 2 in Cison Di Valmarino
175 reviews
16.7 mi away
Relais Monaco Country Hotel & Spa
1.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Abbazia
Hotel Villa Abbazia
#1 of 3 in Follina
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
ai Cadelach Hotel & Ristorante
3 mi away
Hotel Villaguarda Landscape Experience
4.1 mi away
Villa Soligo Hotel
Villa Soligo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Soligo
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CastelBrando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CastelBrando

Address: Via Brandolini 29, 31030 Cison Di Valmarino, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Treviso > Cison Di Valmarino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cison Di Valmarino
Price Range: $124 - $363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — CastelBrando 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your CastelBrando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castelbrando Hotel Cison Di Valmarino
Castelbrando Hotel Treviso
CastelBrando Italy/Cison Di Valmarino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing