We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Genuine and charming”
Review of El Carretero

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Caibarien
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
El Carretero
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Genuine and charming”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

The couple who run this are so warm, welcoming and friendly, it is amongst my fondest memories of Cuba. The rooms were clean and comfortable, a high standard for the price. Fernando and his wife gave us great advice on where to eat (a lovely restaurant near the gas station), drew us a map to use, told us of the best entrance to the beaches and even helped find us some bread to make sandwiches when the rest of the town had sold out.
Caibarien isn't a picture perfect colonial town. It's crumbling and poor with little to do, yet the experience you have hear is far more authentic, not the tourist-driven world of places like Trinidad or the resorts. I almost want to keep it secret.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TylerWrites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
12
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
As, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Casa is basic. Don't expect too much, but clean and enough to sleep for one or two nights. Caibarien is not worthy to stay longer than 1 night.
Host is very friendly and didn't make any problem when we asked to leave a day earlier (because of bad weather). He even adviced us a casa in Santa Clara and it was really a very good casa. Breakfast is not so great.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greekvatos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nykoping, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

If you are going to Caibarien you will find that there are hardly any places to stay, we saw two hostels, where El Carretero was one of them. Its ok to stay a day or two, clean, decent and the hosts are good. But thats about it. And if you are there, try to avoid their cooking...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaxExhact
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Very nice hostel...went to go visit family and this was a great alternative to staying at my family's over crowded home. Hot water was good, ac was good, private balcony was good....beds a bit uncomfortable, but by Cuban standards are good. Fernando was very nice and helpful. We will stay there again!

Room Tip: Bring alarm clock if you need to wake up at a certain time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamiel846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2012

I stade for a week. My cubain friend could come and visit. The rooms are fine but remember that it is not a resort. They made great food . Fernando and his wife are wonderfull person. They do not speak english but you can manage to understand each other. The place is safe and they make sur that you are ok. Love caiberien. I will be back. I have post on youtube a publicity for this casa for Fernando.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lalawilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

As we wanted to stay rather in a Casa Particulars than in a hotel in Cayo Santa Maria we decided to choose Caibarién as "base" for a daily trip to the Cayo.
True, when you arrive in Caibarién it doesn't look really inviting but it's probably the "most" Cuban vilage we have been to with only a few tourists.
We stayed in the Hostal Carretero which is situated basically in the middle of the village. There were two rooms both nice and clean plus a terrace for each. The owner - Fernando - is a really nice man who can tell a lot about the Cuban life and gives good advices concerning beaches, restaurnts to go etc. Closest beach was 30 minutes by car.
Definetely a good choice when you want to see Cayo Santa Maria but still want to experience Cuba and avoid the touristy hotel enclaves.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MartinayDoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caibarien
31.8 mi away
Ocean Casa del Mar
Ocean Casa del Mar
#11 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
1,179 reviews
25.6 mi away
Iberostar Ensenachos
Iberostar Ensenachos
#1 of 1 in Cayo Ensenachos
5,284 reviews
29.0 mi away
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
#1 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
3,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.2 mi away
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
#4 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
6,521 reviews
21.1 mi away
Villa Colonial Frank y Arelys
26.2 mi away
Melia Buenavista
Melia Buenavista
#3 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
2,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Carretero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Carretero

Property: El Carretero
Address: Calle 18, #2112, e/21 y 23, Caibarien 52610, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Villa Clara Province > Caibarien
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Caibarien
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
El Carretero Cuba/Caibarien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing