We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views. Lovely hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The SoCo Hotel-Adults Only All Inclusive
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Hastings
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We grabbed a quick week here and had the most fabulous, relaxing holiday in this small boutique hotel. The rooms are large and modern with huge comfy beds. The view from my bed was miles and miles of ocean! The view from the balcony was of the ocean and the perfect beach. If you want a huge buffet style restaurant or 'entertainment' every evening, then this isn't the place for you. It is quiet, romantic and relaxing.

We really enjoyed the food: there is plenty of choice and it is all cooked to order and served by proper waiting staff. The inclusive wine and beer are fine, although we did buy a couple of bottles of better wine, which was reasonably priced. We don't go in for cocktails, but everyone else seemed to. We do think that the bi fold doors to the restaurant should be opened as we were all competing to get the outside tables. British people LOVE to eat outside and it is a big part of their holiday as we only get about five days a year at home where we can do this. A little subtle atmospheric background music would make a big difference too.

People are a bit silly about leaving towels on beds on the beach and round the pool. We were forced to put our towels on beds on the beach or we would have spent the week perched on rocks!!! If people moved them when they went to eat or rest, then everyone would get chance to use them!

We loved the mile long board walk and walked, jogged and people watched. We also went to Blakeys, which is a good lively bar, which also does food. We had a fabulous meal at the Japanese restaurant further along the boardwalk. We thoroughly enjoyed the jeep safari, which takes you all over the island and includes rum punch, lunch and very entertaining guides. The lovely Michelle will organise it for you.

Special mentions must go to Erlene, Shannon, Michelle, Hendrix, Kendrick, Dexter and the senior managers, who seemed genuinely to listen at the Monday evening cocktail party. The staff here are fab, although Michael does let them down. He is not suited to this work and he spoils the atmosphere when he is on duty, having zero warmth, humour or empathy.

We would definitely consider going back to this hotel, mainly due to the location, but also for the small size of it, the hard working staff and for the great food.

Thank you Soco. We had a fabulous holiday!

Room Tip: We were in 301 and it was great. There are two rooms that look out on the pool level, which is fine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank x111sar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dexter C, Assisstant Manager at The SoCo Hotel-Adults Only All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear x111sar,
We would like to sincerely thank you for this fantastic review. By all account you had a fabulous vacation, enjoying the location, food, beverage, staff and service of The Soco Hotel. We join you in commending the staff you mentioned (Erlene, Shannah, Michelle and Kendrick) who all contributed to your wonderful holidays through their dedication and hard work.

We have addressed the issue of non-resident guests using the sun beds on the beach which alleviate the issue regarding sun.

Thanks again for your review and we are delighted that you are considering to return, as such we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Dexter Cummings
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (746)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

592 - 598 of 746 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2014

Returned yesterday, on a delayed flight, to a frozen up car and traffic delays. Right , that's one bad bit out of the way.!!!
Second bad bit, is, I do not know how a grown up man can be force fed, wonderful food, three times a day, by lovely ladies, and made to wash it down by very drinkable red or white wine. Then , when you try to relax and digest, certain people, who will not be named,decide you need to be kept topped up with wonderful fattening cocktails.Me ,being of a very weak willed nature, found it hard to resist all this pressure. I did try hard not to give in, but sadly,!!!!!!!!!!!

But, apart from all of that, if you want a top class place to relax, with top class facilities and staff, do not hesitate to go to the So/Co. Lovely big clean rooms,all with superb views.Wonderful beds and fittings. No wristbands or signing for drinks. Hot plates with all your cooked food,( a must ).Good attention to detail and nothing to much to do when asked, this is the place for you.

The only thing that did spoil it ,was, having taken lovely photos of all the staff, so I would not have to remember all their names,( old age memory loss,) I ruined the film on the last day, so the pictures will not be sent back to the hotel. It seems the only way to redress this,is to go back, suffer all the " hardships " again and take some pictures.

Seriously though, I must thank all the staff for a superb holiday, even some of the other guests who tolerated me. You made an old man very happy. Thanks.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

My friend and I returned last week from enjoying 10 wonderful days at the Soco Hotel and wish we were back there.
The hotel is very well run and the staff really friendly, genuine and helpful. The food was excellent and a real bonus was a la carte breakfast, lunch and dinner, all served in a professional but friendly manner.
The rooms were comfortable and the sea view stunning, just a few steps away from the beach.
Whilst we were there the guests were mainly couples and as two single ladies we would have liked a bit more going on in the evenings but the staff advised us of places to go for a bit more entertainment. All in all, a wonderful holiday- can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Third floor, central location- good sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank susan l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

My husband and I booked a week at the SoCo after reading about it in the Sunday Times Travel Supplement and we were delighted with all aspects of our holiday. Our room had wonderful views and was cool ,sophisticated with plenty of space and we slept well in a great bed.
The staff at the SoCo could not have been more helpful and friendly, really taking the trouble to make us feel welcome all through the day. Our only regret was that our week ended too quickly, just as we were getting the hang of it all! We felt we had excellent value for money and would love to return for a longer stay. Every single member of staff should be congratulated for the care they take to make the SoCo experience so unique.

Room Tip: We had Room 308, which was amazing ! I would say that all rooms are good and face the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Just spent 10 days at the lovely SoCo hotel which were extremely enjoyable in every way. Wonderful location and very relaxing.
We would like to say that the staff in the restaurant, bar, reception and housekeeping were wonderful. Everybody made you feel so welcome that it was more like being a house guest than staying in an hotel. The only negative to our stay was Michael, the restaurant manager, who could be rude and upsetting not only to ourselves and other guests but to the lovely staff as well. His whole attitude was wrong and definitely not an asset to your hotel.
Do not let this put you off as everything good you read about the SoCo is true. We definitely want to return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bajanfan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We upgraded our room, but would say this is not really necessary, the views from all the rooms apart from the two on ground floor are stunning. The rooms are tastefully furnished and modern. The noise from the road is not terrible but it is constant, however this would not put us off from visiting again to the Soco Hotel. All of the staff are friendly, efficient, helpful and they definitely have a 'Can Do Attitude', which makes this a perfect hotel in so many ways. We would love to mention some of the staff like Michelle, Ian Brown, Shannon, all of the lovely waiting staff, Dexter, Christine and actually anyone else we may have missed with a special mention. They all go the extra mile to make sure your stay is great, Michelle even sourced some special coffee we were after, nothing is too much trouble. It is at the end of the boardwalk, directly on the beach, so you do get the best of both worlds if you wish to get out and about, there is a bus stop outside the front door. So you can sunbathe, snorkel, walk or get around the island very easily. The food is excellent and it is the only fully inclusive we have stayed in where there are no buffets, all meals are waitress served. choices are good, menu is changed every three days. The bar is adequate, however it would be nice to maybe offer some more premium brands - like Tia Maria. The house wines red and white are acceptable and quite easy to drink,it may be an idea to introduce Rose as well. I would suggest this is a hotel for couples who are looking for a quiet holiday, there is no entertainment at all, it was Valentines Day when we were there and nothing was arranged to make this special. However, for us this not a problem and we would seriously consider returning.

Room Tip: Do not feel you need to upgrade your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

My partner and i held our wedding at the So-co hotel and i have to say it was amazing and everything we hoped it would be, the location is very beautiful and we got some stunning photographs.
The hotel itself is surrounded by some not very nice looking buildings but once you are inside it is lovely and the beach area is beautiful. The rooms are very spacious, the hotel is very clean and most of the staff are very helpful and the service great with the exception of the restaurant manager Michael who is very grumpy, rude n doesn't fit with the rest of the staff who are amazing especially Michelle!! Star of the hotel!
Do not go to this hotel is you want anything to do in the evening, there is nothing other than to sit that the bar and totally chill n relax, which for us being on honeymoon was ok for majority of nights but if was any other holiday we would have ventured out of the hotel every night.
One must is to go to the cliff restaurant in Barbados, amazing!
I would recommend this hotel as its lovely but being in the age group of 25-30 we were the youngest couple there by quite alot!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AnnieVarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hastings
1.7 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
340 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,093 reviews
10.7 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sugar Bay Barbados
Sugar Bay Barbados
#3 of 9 in Hastings
679 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sandals Barbados
Sandals Barbados
#4 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,538 reviews
8.2 mi away
Mango Bay All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The SoCo Hotel-Adults Only All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The SoCo Hotel-Adults Only All Inclusive

Address: South Coast Boardwalk, Hastings BB15156, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range: $339 - $723 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The SoCo Hotel-Adults Only All Inclusive 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SoCo Hotel, located in the heart of Barbados’ south coast, offers an adult all-inclusive holiday in a boutique environment. Ideal for the discerning traveller looking for a modern, high quality hotel facility, The SoCo Hotel provides an uncluttered, chic holiday. Great food and drinks, friendly service, and one of the best views in Barbados are all part of The SoCo Hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The SoCo Hotel-Adults Only All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The SoCo Hotel-Adults Only All Inclusive Barbados/Hastings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing