We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just go!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The SoCo Hotel-All Inclusive
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Hastings
Certificate of Excellence
Tunbridge Wells
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Just go!”
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

What a fab, friendly little hotel. Everything already said about the staff is true. Incredibly friendly and attentive without being intrusive, working long hours, but are always ready for a laugh and banter with guests.

Food was just amazing quality for all-inclusive, all prepared a la carte. We ate at Sandy Lane one night, had seared tuna, then tried it the following night at Soco - just as good! My taste buds were in heaven the whole stay and I had no problem with the portions - a three course meal is ample in this tropical heat! Even though only one house white and red on offer, it was of good quality. We didn't suffer a single sore head despite sampling lots of alcoholic delights on offer. Went along to Blakeys bar a couple of times and yes the alcohol was stronger but frankly I would rather do without the hangover while lying on a hot beach...

There is a nice buzz from the boardwalk, fishermen, locals and others staying in gorgeous traditional Bajan houses right next to Soco. The hotel beach beds are perfect if you don't want to squeeze in round the pool. Great small reef, saw a range of colourful fish just by the barrier rocks.
Accra beach along the boardwalk is an easy stroll, with soft white sand and gentle rollers.

Garrison Savannah racecourse Saturday from early Feb - an easy stroll and thoroughly recommend if you want to soak up local atmosphere. Buses anywhere for $2 - easy, friendly, no hassle.

Soco has a simple modern decor with a nice clean feel to it. Any repair issues seem to be in hand: all walls, paintwork and our room were sparkling clean (although balcony is peeling in places so must need a repaint every year or so) When a scuff appeared on stairwell it was gone the next day. Lights all on in pool toilets. Agree hotel could do with a small changing room and shower for checkout guests to use on transfer day. Perhaps a laundry string you can pull out in the shower too...
The bed was super-comfortable, we slept like babies, take foam earplugs if traffic disturbs you. Just soak up the sound of the sea and the view!
Thanks Soco for a great 10 days,
Sarah & Dave


Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lassiecomehome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    505
    135
    42
    12
    6
See reviews for
63
476
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

Let's start with the excellent ;

The location , the rooms , the quality of the food , the beach , the hard working staff and most of all the star of the hotel , Michelle.

However you get the feeling that the business plan is based on very tight margins so food portions are adequate but not generous.The wine that is poured is a third of a glass and trying to gets refill takes time.During our stay the bar ran out of tequila , mint , tomato juice mango and banana's.So think cocktails and you have problems.In addition it took time to get replacements , I some cases days rather than hours.

The SoCo is very good particularly at the current prices but it could be better and the fault lies with the Managers not the hard working staff. hopefully with reviews like this and guests making the points they will learn and it will become the place it deserves to be.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank StevieBCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We have just returned from a short (1 week) break at SoCo. This was literally a break as I was unfortunate enough to break my wrist the morning of our first day there. Despite this problem, we both enjoyed our stay at SoCo immensely. The Hotel and location are just as described and it is ideal for a quiet relaxing time.

It is a small boutique hotel, but the intimate atmosphere that creates only works if the staff make you feel part of the family. In this regard the staff at SoCo emphatically do so. They really make this hotel, from Andrew's first welcome to Michelle's big smile when serving our first cocktail. Dexter too, was great, arranging for that special reservation at the Gazebo for dinner, but especially in getting the taxi to take me to the clinic where we spent most of our first day (my birthday!) and calling ahead to make sure they knew we were coming. Service like this at most hotels is rare, but at SoCo this seems to be the norm. We didn't get all the names of all the staff but without exception, they are great.

Food was really good, as was the house wine until the last day when the white wine was changed to a spanish wine which was not very good.

A couple of suggestions, many of which have been noted by other reviewers too: if you have a rule about not leaving towels on unoccupied sun beds for hours, enforce it or otherwise don't make the rule! Extend the roof of the bar to provide shade or protection from the rain (think this is in hand), see if you can find space for a shower room for people to use who have checked out of their room and who have late flights home; maybe charge less to keep the room on for a few extra hours.

Despite these suggestions, I think you can take it as given that we were very impressed by SoCo and it's management and staff team. Barbados certainly has a jewel in this special place on the south coast!

Room Tip: higher floors have the best sea view. we were in 304 and it was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank spider49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Great hotel the staff are just fantastic recommend a visit.The food was very good more than enough to eat.The best place in Hastings to stay. We stayed for two weeks had a bit of liquid sunshine but the sun always came back.Could do with some sort of bar lounge area that is under cover from the rain because there is nowhere to go and sit when its wet, that would be my only minus point. Thanks for looking after us we had a great time!!

Room Tip: Normal size rooms are more than adequate no need for a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Many thanks to both Andrews, Benita, Dexter, Erleen, Frank, Francine, Ian, Karin, Kendrick, Melanie, Michelle, Michael, Ralph, Sandra, Senorita, Shannon, Tina, Victoria, William and all those behind the scenes who made our holiday memorable with their cheerful service and support. All went out of their way to add to our enjoyment and as a consequence we had 3 brilliant weeks. Food was lovely, house wine selections perfectly acceptable, cocktails varied, location beautiful and convenient for outings.
Before our return more coathangers and bathroom washingline would be good. Keith&Chris, Hants.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kreeff43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Just returned from a fantastic holiday at the Soco. What a lovely hotel with wonderful staff. The food was marvellous, we particularly enjoyed the fact that it was all waiter service and the wine served with the all inclusive package was good.

The hotel is well located - easy to get into Bridgetown and the rest of the South Coast. We can thoroughly recommend the catamaran trip which included swimming with turtles. Yes, sometimes the road behind the hotel is noisy, but we got used to this very quickly and it wasn't a problem.

The sea was rather rough whilst we were there, which made swimming in it rather tricky, but there's nothing the hotel can do about that. I think we were just unlucky. When we did get into the sea the snorkelling was good.

Only a couple of small comments.
Most guests preferred to eat outside rather than in the restaurant, but there weren't enough outside table to accommodate this very easily. Many of the guests were in couples and to eat outside they were taking up tables for four. I would suggest having smaller tables for two outside and two lines of them so that more people can be accommodated. When four people want to eat outside it is easy enough to push two smaller tables together.
At times there seemed to be three maître d's which caused confusion!

But that's the only negative I can think of - otherwise it was perfect.The staff are great, Dexter, Andrew, Christine, Michelle, Erlene, Neil, Shannon and all the others just help to make the Soco what it is, and I recommend it as a wonderful holiday destination

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrianRosie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

This was our first time in the Caribbean and we are so pleased we spent in at The SoCo Hotel. This is a small, boutique hotel right on the boardwalk by the beach. There are just 24 guest rooms over 4 floors, all sea facing (apart from rooms 101 and 102 where the view is interrupted by the pool bar). Our room was on the top floor which was just perfect. The room was very tastefully furnished with a sumptuous king size bed, two units (which looked like limed oak) flat screen TV and couch with glass doors to the balcony which was furnished with a table and two chairs. There is a generously sized shower room/toilet. We have stayed in 4 and 5 star hotels in the past and always took shampoo/conditioner and shower gel with us but on this occasion we decided not to bother which was a mistake because the only toiletries provided were one small container of shampoo and one of body lotion + two small bars of soap. When we were shown to our room I did ask the young man about this and he said he would come back to me but never did. So, we had to find a local supermarket to stock up. It is a small criticism and only one of two I can make about this hotel.

A short walk from the hotel there is a small shopping centre where the supermarket is located and a wonderful Hagen Daaz ice cream parlour where we occasionally stopped to cool off. In the opposite direction, a short walk away, is a racecourse and George Washington's House which is well worth a visit. Also, if you are interested, they hold a candlelit dinner there every Monday where you can "dine with George Washington". If we had known about this, we would certainly have booked. Bridgetown is a short bus journey away and, again, is worth a visit, especially for the duty free shopping but remember to take your passport and evidence of your return flight. There is a bus stop right outside the hotel and it only costs US$1 or BD$2 (both currencies accepted everywhere, but if you pay by US$ you are given change in BD$).

The staff were all most attentive, particularly Michelle who was such a character. Always smiling and ready to help with any problems we had and encouraging us to sample the local alcoholic offerings. She really helped to make the holiday the success it was. Richard also offered great service, particularly in the restaurant and at the time of departure when I got a big farewell hug - it made me feel more like a member of their small family rather than a guest.

The hotel has only one restaurant where breakfast, lunch and dinner is served by the staff. I was expecting a buffet for breakfast and lunch with formal dining in the evening but it was all waitress service. There was a good choice of food with the menu changing every 3-4 days. Afternoon tea was served on the terrace every afternoon which I found rather disappointing - one choice of sandwich filling and one type of cake with a selection of tea/coffee (my second crticism).

Once a week there is a "meet the staff" event at the pool bar prior to dinner where we enjoyed some lovely canapes while chatting to the owner and senior management, as well as welcoming the opportunity to meet our fellow guests.

All in all, we had a wonderful holiday and want to say a big "thank you" to everyone at The SoCo Hotel for making it so enjoyable, from senior management to room attendants.

Room Tip: Request a room on floors 2, 3 or 4 which will give you unrestricted sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EejayWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hastings
2.4 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,982 reviews
6.4 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
4.3 mi away
Little Arches Boutique Hotel
Little Arches Boutique Hotel
#1 of 50 in Christ Church Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,511 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sugar Bay Barbados
Sugar Bay Barbados
#2 of 9 in Hastings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
10.7 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The SoCo Hotel-All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The SoCo Hotel-All Inclusive

Property: The SoCo Hotel-All Inclusive
Address: South Coast Boardwalk, Hastings BB15156, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The SoCo Hotel-All Inclusive 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SoCo Hotel, located in the heart of Barbados’ south coast, offers an adult all-inclusive holiday in a boutique environment. Ideal for the discerning traveller looking for a modern, high quality hotel facility, The SoCo Hotel provides an uncluttered, chic holiday. Great food and drinks, friendly service, and one of the best views in Barbados are all part of The SoCo Hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Kognitiv US Corp, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The SoCo Hotel-All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The SoCo Hotel-All Inclusive Barbados/Hastings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing