We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The SoCo Hotel-Adults Only All Inclusive
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel PomMarine(Christ Church Parish)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sugar Bay Barbados(Hastings)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Accra Beach Hotel & Spa(Christ Church Parish)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Southern Surf Beach Apartments(Christ Church Parish)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Island Inn Hotel(Bridgetown)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (799)
Filter reviews
799 results
Traveler rating
572
156
47
15
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
572
156
47
15
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmr browna small boutique hotelevery mealother guestsroad noisecatch of the dayrooms have a sea viewbroad walkreggae busesfishsouth coastdeluxe roomsmall beachfourth floorspecial thanksboard walkspecial mention
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
658 - 663 of 799 reviews
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Just returned from a fantastic holiday at the Soco. What a lovely hotel with wonderful staff. The food was marvellous, we particularly enjoyed the fact that it was all waiter service and the wine served with the all inclusive package was good.

The hotel is well located - easy to get into Bridgetown and the rest of the South Coast. We can thoroughly recommend the catamaran trip which included swimming with turtles. Yes, sometimes the road behind the hotel is noisy, but we got used to this very quickly and it wasn't a problem.

The sea was rather rough whilst we were there, which made swimming in it rather tricky, but there's nothing the hotel can do about that. I think we were just unlucky. When we did get into the sea the snorkelling was good.

Only a couple of small comments.
Most guests preferred to eat outside rather than in the restaurant, but there weren't enough outside table to accommodate this very easily. Many of the guests were in couples and to eat outside they were taking up tables for four. I would suggest having smaller tables for two outside and two lines of them so that more people can be accommodated. When four people want to eat outside it is easy enough to push two smaller tables together.
At times there seemed to be three maître d's which caused confusion!

But that's the only negative I can think of - otherwise it was perfect.The staff are great, Dexter, Andrew, Christine, Michelle, Erlene, Neil, Shannon and all the others just help to make the Soco what it is, and I recommend it as a wonderful holiday destination

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrianRosie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

This was our first time in the Caribbean and we are so pleased we spent in at The SoCo Hotel. This is a small, boutique hotel right on the boardwalk by the beach. There are just 24 guest rooms over 4 floors, all sea facing (apart from rooms 101 and 102 where the view is interrupted by the pool bar). Our room was on the top floor which was just perfect. The room was very tastefully furnished with a sumptuous king size bed, two units (which looked like limed oak) flat screen TV and couch with glass doors to the balcony which was furnished with a table and two chairs. There is a generously sized shower room/toilet. We have stayed in 4 and 5 star hotels in the past and always took shampoo/conditioner and shower gel with us but on this occasion we decided not to bother which was a mistake because the only toiletries provided were one small container of shampoo and one of body lotion + two small bars of soap. When we were shown to our room I did ask the young man about this and he said he would come back to me but never did. So, we had to find a local supermarket to stock up. It is a small criticism and only one of two I can make about this hotel.

A short walk from the hotel there is a small shopping centre where the supermarket is located and a wonderful Hagen Daaz ice cream parlour where we occasionally stopped to cool off. In the opposite direction, a short walk away, is a racecourse and George Washington's House which is well worth a visit. Also, if you are interested, they hold a candlelit dinner there every Monday where you can "dine with George Washington". If we had known about this, we would certainly have booked. Bridgetown is a short bus journey away and, again, is worth a visit, especially for the duty free shopping but remember to take your passport and evidence of your return flight. There is a bus stop right outside the hotel and it only costs US$1 or BD$2 (both currencies accepted everywhere, but if you pay by US$ you are given change in BD$).

The staff were all most attentive, particularly Michelle who was such a character. Always smiling and ready to help with any problems we had and encouraging us to sample the local alcoholic offerings. She really helped to make the holiday the success it was. Richard also offered great service, particularly in the restaurant and at the time of departure when I got a big farewell hug - it made me feel more like a member of their small family rather than a guest.

The hotel has only one restaurant where breakfast, lunch and dinner is served by the staff. I was expecting a buffet for breakfast and lunch with formal dining in the evening but it was all waitress service. There was a good choice of food with the menu changing every 3-4 days. Afternoon tea was served on the terrace every afternoon which I found rather disappointing - one choice of sandwich filling and one type of cake with a selection of tea/coffee (my second crticism).

Once a week there is a "meet the staff" event at the pool bar prior to dinner where we enjoyed some lovely canapes while chatting to the owner and senior management, as well as welcoming the opportunity to meet our fellow guests.

All in all, we had a wonderful holiday and want to say a big "thank you" to everyone at The SoCo Hotel for making it so enjoyable, from senior management to room attendants.

Room Tip: Request a room on floors 2, 3 or 4 which will give you unrestricted sea views.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EejayWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Fab position sea side but noisy road. Need to sort out positioning and availability of sun beds. Too close and too few, best spots quickly snaffled up. Food average and not massive portions. No branded booze at all, and definitely weaker than you would expect. No rose available by the glass, and only one red and white, so choice limited. Can buy a bottle but why should u on all inclusive. Rooms lovely , clean and bright. Bar when Michelle is on, a lively spot, when she isn't no character. Bar needs an extended canopy for the rain and bright sun, for the staff too not just the punters. Good value for money at the moment, but you definitely don't get more than u pay for. And if the prices go up as indicated by management. Then will the service , food and drink package? No mint all week for mojitos , very formulaic, you get what you get. Reception staff(not Christine) need a lot of work!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Value4money0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Everyone has said about the staff and how they want to be great and that they are an asset, Michelle and Erllene, Kerry, and William, also Shannon strive to be great and are always happy and helpful. The food we found was great and all meals were tasty and ample, and if you did not like something or wanted to mix and match you could, I can never understand how people say about the food as it states on the web site that they are al la carte, so why would you expect a buffet? the rooms are modern clean and very tidy, cannot say it is tired, but I can only comment on our room and the common areas, whilst we were there they re decorated the toilets by the pool.
In the time we were there the sunbeds were never full and there was always some available, a lot chose the beach which left spare beds around the pool.
Every Monday the owner hosts a cocktail party to seek feedback, if customers do not tell him then they should not write about it as they have not been given the chance to rectify, they do need to address an area to drink under cover when it rains, but I think this is in hand.
The reason I say that this will be fantastic is that they are new and are having teething problems, but they are sorting them out and have the will and determination to sort them out, we had a great holiday, and I think it will get even better, GO it is a good hotel, in a great location with great staff, and management that want to improve.
There is no lift and there are 4 floors so bear this in mind?

Room Tip: We were in room 405 on the top floor , great view but a lot of steps.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dave O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

As soon as we arrived we knew we had picked well with the bonus of being on the South Coast close to everything. Rooms were excellent, pool area and just an amazing beach, boardwalk, food was very good along with the wine at lunch and dinner, service really good overall, breakfasts sitting over looking the beach were a spectacular start to the day. Being so small it is friendly and sociable unlike larger hotels. Recommend using the bus to get around, Oistins on a Friday night is fun and the East Coast is worth a visit. Staff all really good, Michelle, Shannon, Dexter and the pool/beach bed guy were all exceptional. Most negative comments we had read did not bother us the road noise wasn't really an issue for us the only negative I thought of which has been mentioned before was lack of a good cup of coffee but then I personally appreciate a real good cup just found it very weak, perhaps a coffee machine would be good for people like me. There are so many positives about hotel and location that you can not fail to have an amazing time at The Soco, so just book it. Would definitely go back if decide to visit Barbodos again, great Caribbean island.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Aruba16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews