We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The SoCo Hotel-Adults Only All Inclusive
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Hastings
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Fab position sea side but noisy road. Need to sort out positioning and availability of sun beds. Too close and too few, best spots quickly snaffled up. Food average and not massive portions. No branded booze at all, and definitely weaker than you would expect. No rose available by the glass, and only one red and white, so choice limited. Can buy a bottle but why should u on all inclusive. Rooms lovely , clean and bright. Bar when Michelle is on, a lively spot, when she isn't no character. Bar needs an extended canopy for the rain and bright sun, for the staff too not just the punters. Good value for money at the moment, but you definitely don't get more than u pay for. And if the prices go up as indicated by management. Then will the service , food and drink package? No mint all week for mojitos , very formulaic, you get what you get. Reception staff(not Christine) need a lot of work!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Value4money0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (751)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

614 - 620 of 751 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2014

Everyone has said about the staff and how they want to be great and that they are an asset, Michelle and Erllene, Kerry, and William, also Shannon strive to be great and are always happy and helpful. The food we found was great and all meals were tasty and ample, and if you did not like something or wanted to mix and match you could, I can never understand how people say about the food as it states on the web site that they are al la carte, so why would you expect a buffet? the rooms are modern clean and very tidy, cannot say it is tired, but I can only comment on our room and the common areas, whilst we were there they re decorated the toilets by the pool.
In the time we were there the sunbeds were never full and there was always some available, a lot chose the beach which left spare beds around the pool.
Every Monday the owner hosts a cocktail party to seek feedback, if customers do not tell him then they should not write about it as they have not been given the chance to rectify, they do need to address an area to drink under cover when it rains, but I think this is in hand.
The reason I say that this will be fantastic is that they are new and are having teething problems, but they are sorting them out and have the will and determination to sort them out, we had a great holiday, and I think it will get even better, GO it is a good hotel, in a great location with great staff, and management that want to improve.
There is no lift and there are 4 floors so bear this in mind?

Room Tip: We were in room 405 on the top floor , great view but a lot of steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dave O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

As soon as we arrived we knew we had picked well with the bonus of being on the South Coast close to everything. Rooms were excellent, pool area and just an amazing beach, boardwalk, food was very good along with the wine at lunch and dinner, service really good overall, breakfasts sitting over looking the beach were a spectacular start to the day. Being so small it is friendly and sociable unlike larger hotels. Recommend using the bus to get around, Oistins on a Friday night is fun and the East Coast is worth a visit. Staff all really good, Michelle, Shannon, Dexter and the pool/beach bed guy were all exceptional. Most negative comments we had read did not bother us the road noise wasn't really an issue for us the only negative I thought of which has been mentioned before was lack of a good cup of coffee but then I personally appreciate a real good cup just found it very weak, perhaps a coffee machine would be good for people like me. There are so many positives about hotel and location that you can not fail to have an amazing time at The Soco, so just book it. Would definitely go back if decide to visit Barbodos again, great Caribbean island.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Aruba16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

We spent a week at the Soco Hotel for New Year´s with our two small children and the grandparents and we loved it. The rooms are modern, clean and all have a beautiful view. (it really looks like on the website). Staff is very friendly and they really treat you like you have been a guest for many years. The food is outstanding. A lot of fresh fish which we enjoyed. Although not the typical family resort the kids were very welcome. The beach right in front of the hotel has a sandbank and is actually perfect for kids. Shallow water and lots of fish. So much fun. We will try to come back next year. It was one of the best vacations we have had
in a very long time. Thank you Soco. It just felt like family.....

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tontraeger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Just spent 2 weeks at the SoCo and I can only echo the comments from the previous reviews.
If you're dithering about going, don't. Ignore all ( and I don't think there are many) negative comments - some people always have to find something to moan about.
The accommodation, staff and food are all excellent. Great cocktails. Lovely beach - take your snorkels + goggles!
Great location. Easy to get anywhere. The reggae busses are great fun. Good trips are St Nicholas Abbey, Huntes Gardens, the caves and many more. We also had afternoon tea at Sandy Lane ( you have to call to book but it was amazingly reasonable - approx £40 for 2 of us but there is a cheaper and more expensive option). It has a beautiful setting and was lovely but a bit pink for us!
We would recommend the SoCo Hotel to any couple who wants an excellent value, easy, relaxing
holiday.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Claire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We are a middle aged couple ( like quite a few of the guests staying there!) and went for a one-week holiday in January 2014.

The SoCo is an attractive looking boutique style Hotel.. Our room was light, clean and spacious, very comfortable beds with the best linen . We had great views of the Caribbean sea. Highlights were the restaurant service, quality of the food, they make everything from scratch.. The staff are friendly , fun and helpful.
Next to the Hotel is " The boardwalk" basically decking that gives you a 20 minute walk by the sea without getting stuck in the sand! I enjoyed a great walks before breakfast watching the sun rise and sparkle on the sea. A treat after rainy old Britain!
We will definitely return and I highly recommend this Hotel to you
Caroline UK

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Just returned from a two week stay at the Soco hotel. We had a wonderful relaxing time at this lovely hotel. The position of the hotel is great to get around and for the excellent beach just a few steps from your bedroom.
The rooms are all great with excellent views of the Sea, ground floor room s101 and 102 have limited veiws.
Cindy our maid kept our room spotless and really looked after us, the staff from Tina our waitress to Arlene, Michelle , Frank, Dexter, andres and Sandra a Hugh thank you to you all.
We have booked already to go back next January

Room Tip: Request a high room for better sea views but all rooms are the same standard, the deluxe rooms are j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pauline526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hastings
1.7 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
353 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,115 reviews
6.5 mi away
The House by Elegant Hotels
The House by Elegant Hotels
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,092 reviews
4.3 mi away
Little Arches Boutique Hotel
Little Arches Boutique Hotel
#1 of 50 in Christ Church Parish
782 reviews
10.7 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The SoCo Hotel-Adults Only All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The SoCo Hotel-Adults Only All Inclusive

Address: South Coast Boardwalk, Hastings BB15156, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range: $311 - $727 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The SoCo Hotel-Adults Only All Inclusive 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SoCo Hotel, located in the heart of Barbados’ south coast, offers an adult all-inclusive holiday in a boutique environment. Ideal for the discerning traveller looking for a modern, high quality hotel facility, The SoCo Hotel provides an uncluttered, chic holiday. Great food and drinks, friendly service, and one of the best views in Barbados are all part of The SoCo Hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The SoCo Hotel-Adults Only All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The SoCo Hotel-Adults Only All Inclusive Barbados/Hastings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing