We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The SoCo Hotel-Adults Only All Inclusive
Nearby Hotels
Coconut Court Beach Hotel(Hastings)(Great Value!)
$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sugar Bay Barbados(Hastings)
$517
$448
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
South Beach Hotel(Hastings)(Great Value!)
$288
$173
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savannah Beach Hotel(Hastings)(Great Value!)
$197
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Courtyard by Marriott Bridgetown, Barbados(Bridgetown)(Great Value!)
$199
Courtyard
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Accra Beach Hotel & Spa(Christ Church Parish)(Great Value!)
$234
$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Island Inn Hotel(Bridgetown)
$283
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (799)
Filter reviews
799 results
Traveler rating
572
156
47
15
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
572
156
47
15
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmr browna small boutique hotelevery mealother guestsroad noisecatch of the dayrooms have a sea viewbroad walkreggae busesfishsouth coastdeluxe roomsmall beachfourth floorspecial thanksboard walkspecial mention
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
670 - 675 of 799 reviews
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We stayed a for 7 days in early January this year. The hotel has a great location and the size we like, around 24 rooms, and we had a lovely room on the corner with a perfect view of the gorgeous beach. The hotel is at the end of a new boardwalk, which is perfect for evening walks along to a couple of bars and restaurants.
The hotel is all-inclusive but I'm not sure the senior management have really bought into this. If you had a late lunch or dinner the wine waiter would sometimes suddenly become strangely elusive, and some days the portions would be very small. When questioned, the girls serving, who were generally great, would look a little embarrassed and say certain ingredients had 'run out'.
There is a nice small bar by the pool, which though small, was fine a pre or post dinner drink.
It could have a lot better if the girls running it had been allowed to turn up the music but again senior management for some reason, seemed to discourage it.
Apart from those minor niggles, we had a great time and would probably go back. Oh, just one more thing, my wife thought the bathroom toiletries weren't the best she'd had and thought they let the hotel down a little. Me? I took my own.

Room Tip: Corner rooms facing east are the best, although I don't think there are any bad ones.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 38ken2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

My now wife and I decided to go off on our own and get married abroad leaving the kids behind. After a lot of searching we decided on the Soco and they lived up to our expectations. For only an extra £700 on to our booking they organised everything giving us the perfect day to remember. I will never forget 40 minutes before the wedding sitting by the pool in my shorts drinking a rum sour watching the wedding arch being put up. No stress no hassle we just needed to turn up.

We arrived at about 4pm on Saturday 4th January and were met with a warm welcome and our first of many cocktails. An appointment with Anne the wedding planner had already been arranged for 7pm that evening. She explained the photographer, cake, flowers,wedding arch and magistrate were all booked for Tuesday 7th.

As we requested a civil service and not the usual religious one it involved some running around between the court and government buildings across town. Without asking Kenrick the security guard offered to take us on his day off as he knew the town well. We were so grateful of this as we did not know where to go. It took about 3 hours to get it all sorted and Kenrick knew exactly where to go. He never asked for anything for doing this but we insisted that we paid for his time. As we needed witnesses for the service he even offered to come in again on his day off and be my best man turning up on the day smartly dressed and all excited. I thank him again for his help and hope he enjoyed an afternoon at the hotel as a guest instead of employee.

On the day the bouquet and flowers around the arch were beautiful and exactly what my wife asked for. The cake was lovely and we got 25 wonderful photos also included in with the package. We also were lucky enough that Rachel one of the other guests agreed to be our second witness and we thank her for that.

After the ceremony we sat around the bar and enjoyed drinks with the other guests. We were given a special table and menu but we ended up having a table for 12 with some of the other couples for our evening meal. This is one great thing about this hotel with only 24 rooms it's not long before you get to know most of the other guests and we had some great times around the pool and beautiful beach. Just as we thought the day could not be more perfect we were greated in our room by 2 towel swans surrounded by a heart made of rose petals.

We loved our stay and Michelle was the life and soul of the hotel always greeting you with a big smile and another drink. We loved it so much we only left the hotel a few times and felt no need to eat or drink anywhere else as the food and bar were so good there.

I have read all the negative reviews and do agree with a few points but these were far outweighed by the fantastic time we had.

Thanks to Kenrick, Michelle and all the other staff for making our wedding holiday so special we will never forget this holiday.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RobAllan72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We spent a week (16th - 23rd January 2014) at the Soco to celebrate my birthday. It was absolutely wonderful! An ideal location, only a 20 min transfer from the airport and situated directly in front of a beautiful beach. We had room 303 which had a perfect view, but as all the rooms have balconies overlooking the beach except those on the ground floor, I don't think it would make too much difference what room you had. The room was very well furnished with everything you could possibly need including a fridge. The road at the front of the hotel was busy but we were not disturbed by the noise.
We were very impressed with the food... breakfast, lunch and dinner were served at the table, no buffet to negotiate. We ate lots of very good fish including barracuda, king fish, mahi mahi and swordfish all of which were beautifully cooked.
The staff at this hotel really make the experience special. Michelle is a wonderful hostess and full of fun but Erleen, Dexter, Andrew and Neil all looked after us with great attention too. The only minor criticism we have is the lack of good coffee, a nice espresso in the morning would have been great.
The hotel will also need to keep on top of housekeeping to maintain the pristine appearance and offer consistently high standards (shower grouting was beginning to discolour in our room - nothing major but needs to be kept in check).
We were fortunate that when we checked out of our room at midday we were being picked up at 3pm. We had time for a leisurely last lunch which worked well, however as there are no showers or changing areas in reception those with a later flight may find it difficult to organise their last day.
These are minor issues and we had a truly great holiday, the island offers lots to see and do and this hotel was the perfect base to either be active or just totally switch off and relax. We would love to return and can thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: All very similar, better views from 2nd floor up.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holisticlaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Stayed just after New Year when the hotel was full. The dining service was very slow and staff seemed all over the place, needs to be managed better. If you wanted to be out for the day early you stil had to allow an hour for breakfast which was slow. It did improve a little as it became quieter the 2nd week in January. The dining room is air conditioned but has a strong fat frying smell from the open kitchen, could do with better extractor sytem. The food in general is good, though, some of the portions are very small though, mains courses are the best, desserts need a lot of improvemnet. The wine was of a good drinkable standard.
Rooms were nice with fantastic sea view, but road traffic noise is very loud fom 5am! to evening time.
The bar area is good, but could use some shade during the day to be able to sit there.
Beach is nice and you can walk in either direction other beaches easily.
We experienced both good and not so good staff, Managent being the not so good!
Michelle is the star of this hotel,and if all followed her example this hotel would have excellent service. Arleyne, Dexter and Andew also were very good.
It is a small hotel and can become a little 'cosy' with other guests, as there is only one bar and no other place to sit in the evenings.
Did not have to many problems with sunbeds, but think the rule about not reserving should be applied a bit more as some people did reserve and hardly used them all afternoon.
Good position for buses into town just outside hotel and to other parts of the island.
We hired a car through Michelle and found it very easy to get around the island, which is well worth doing.

Room Tip: All rooms on upper floors have great sea views.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ann1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

The best thing about this hotel is the position at the end of the South Coast Boardwalk,ideal if you want to run or walk ,it stretches about 1/2 mile to one of the best beaches on the island,Accra aka Rockley,great for swimming/playing in the waves/snorkelling on the reef.
Rooms on the upper floors have a lovely ocean view,however the design for a brand-new hotel had a few strange omissions e.g. no expelair fan in bathrooms and windows nailed shut made for a very steamy experience,no accessible sockets in bedrooms,had to plug iphones,ipads,hairdryer,iron etc into extension sockets on floor-ok until you leave to charge and then think "yikes the maid is coming in to swab the floors"!
Toiletries weren't replenished in 2 week stay.
Bar service was good and Michelle and other 2 ladies on bar excellent (sorry don't know names,name badges would have been good).Wine drinkable (chilean pinot grigio or cabernet sauvingnon, No Banks (Why???)-cheaper lager type beer (Hairoun from St Vincent) instead.
Food was very good though did get a bit boring after a while, even when they changed the menu, every 3/4 days most of the basics stayed the same e.g. For lunch always soup or green salad to start, then pizza, burger, fish of the day (usually mahi mahi), chicken or cheese sandwich and chips, maybe one different dish.
No entertainment at all in 2 weeks we were there, even on Managers cocktail party evening,just 1 hour of a steel panner would have been appreciated.
Sun-beds-18 on beach, 12 around pool,probably enough for number of guests except when people in neighbouring beachfront apartments took them.
We had a good time, met some lovely people,hotel situation is ideal,rooms and beds very comfortable. Ideal for 1 week/10 day stay but bit constricting for any longer than that.
Staff great esp. Michelle (life and soul ) , Andrew (such a hard worker), our maid,lots of others as before, no name badges so sorry !

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maeveGlos_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews