We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, horrible service, pleasant staff” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of South 7 Bar and Grill

South 7 Bar and Grill
Ranked #18 of 41 Restaurants in Hastings
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great food, horrible service, pleasant staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

We were the last group of 8 into the bar, the kitchen was open still and everyone else seemed to have their food, we waited an hour for burgers and pasta. I didn't get a drink I ordered multiple times, and it also took forever to get the drinks. I was later told by a local they are not known for their service but the food was awesome.
Our server was pleasant and seemed to be trying but it wasn't good service over all.
It's a really nice place, modern decor, and on the main road. If you have time to kill the food is very good quality and tastes great but I don't think it's worth the hour wait.
I'm hoping this was just a one time occurrence and this was my first experience here. Other reviews seem to show other wise. Great food none the less.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Hamilton_Jelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    39
    23
    14
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Sumptuous!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

Got taken out by a mate when I was in town recently.

The steak portions were quite generous and the mash tasted very very well, like something you'll expect from a home-cooking!. Presentation was great and the ambience was quit egood too, with very lively staff, happy to offer tips on where to eat other local Bajan food too!!!.

Look fwd to going back next time we're in town!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mistah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Bruschetta.........”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

Had a little lunch there today. Great service, awesome bruschetta, great Greek salad. They make all their own sauces and dressings. Nice flavour to everything. Lots of garlic. I wish we had found this place earlier in our trip as we would go back in a heart beat! August 9th @ noonish.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank goingonahotholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fife
Level Contributor
99 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Fab and funky”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

Really trendy place all stainless steel and spotlessly clean. Great food, huge portions, good value for money. Service was adequate but the chap seemed a bit shy and lacked confidence bless him!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mrscolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very Rude Staff”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

Went with friends to eat. Asked if they did Cappucino and was told NO so asked if they did Coffee,,again told NO in a very impolite manner. Think they would be better if they trained their staff in politeness. Would not go to this Bar again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunriseinsummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South 7 Bar and Grill also viewed

Hastings, Christ Church Parish
Rockley, Christ Church Parish
 
Rockley, Christ Church Parish
Christ Church Parish, Barbados
 
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
 

Been to South 7 Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing