We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chic sports bar”

South 7 Bar and Grill
Ranked #18 of 41 Restaurants in Hastings
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ajax, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Chic sports bar”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Very chic sports bar open-air across from the boardwalk in Hastings. food was very good. Interesting choices on the menu. Portions were good, too. Art work hanging done by owner's mother. We were fortunate to meet her and had a delightful conversation about her work. Nice little place and great service.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peggy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    39
    24
    14
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgetown, Barbados
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A fun evening with family”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

My family decided to celebrate Mother's Day with dinner at South 7. We had a great time, with the usual good service and delicious food, and a nice selection of background music (via the internet). The staff were attentive, friendly, and the selection of dishes were great value for money and very tasty.

I have dined there on numerous occasions and each time, the food was excellent. The staff has improved with time, and the early issues that were apparent when they first opened have been resolved. Kudos to the management and staff!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KathieDaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George Town, Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Agree. Mediocre.”
Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

Staff are a bit slow. The food is also very average. There is always, without fail, something unavailable/missing from the menu. That said, the bread they use for their burgers is delicious. Great portion sizes, too. Do not come here to eat on a Friday night unless you want to be deafened with music interrupted at random intervals by a highly irritating, shouting/poorly singing DJ (who sucks at DJing). Seriously bro, GO HOME. Perfect for a cocktail with friends later in the evening, but an absolutely ludicrous dining experience. Stick to lunch/weekdays in that respect.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AnonymousGoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgetown, Barbados
1 review
“Yummy food & drinks. Great portion sizes.”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

My husband and I finally had a chance to try lunch at South 7 and though the exterior sets higher expectations than the interior atmosphere and furnishings actually meet, the food made up for what the setting lacked (with the art on the wall and tv screens it has potential though). Everything we ordered was absolutely tasty - all the appetizers are delicious so the platter is a great choice. From the grilled chicken wrap and shrimp to the chocolate cake, we loved it all. My personal favourite - the breadfruit chips, so innovative, not greasy and totally Bajan! And the portions were all so generous we thought we were going to have to be rolled out of the place. Not to mention that we topped our feast off with the Chocolate Strawberry Cheesecake cocktail, which was so good (and not too sweet) we had to do it twice. We were served promptly and our waitress was very personable and gave helpful recommendations. The prices are affordable and the value for money is unbeatable. We'll be back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgetown, Barbados
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food & location, lacking customer service .”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Was looking for some place to dine on the Coast
and came across this vibrant
looking restaurant was impressed with the apperance
, so we decided to check it out.
The food we ate spare ribs & fries/wedges was enjoyable,
reasonable and the portion was good.
The wait before anyone came to us and the time it takes
to serve the food was way too long,we look past that and
went back hoping to get a better experience as we like it
there ,we ended up having to leave to a different place
as we were seated and waiting for a while and no one
came to us.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marlene J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South 7 Bar and Grill also viewed

Hastings, Christ Church Parish
Rockley, Christ Church Parish
 
Rockley, Christ Church Parish
Hastings, Christ Church Parish
 
Rockley, Christ Church Parish
Christ Church Parish, Barbados
 

Been to South 7 Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing