We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and service, option for take-out”
Review of Tapas

Tapas
Ranked #1 of 41 Restaurants in Hastings
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good food and service, option for take-out”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Whilst on our trip, we ate here twice, once for lunch and on the other occasion,dinner.
Favorites on the menu for me, were their white tiramisu, their seafood salad which has scallops, cuttlefish and lobster.
This restaurant is located on the seafront. Both times, we were seated upstairs, for which I was grateful, as the high humidity is uncomfortable and dining upstairs ,where it is cooler and breezier, is more pleasant. The view is unimpeded wherever your seating may be.
Service is efficient. Our turnover time from starters to dessert was less than 90 minutes with no long waits between courses.
We ordered takeout for lunch before they officially opened for their lunch crowd.
We had a look at their menu board for lunch, whilst walking along the Boardwalk and the lamb shank caught my eye.
They open for lunch at 11.30am and we were there at 11am whilst they were setting up.
My spouse enquired of the manager/ proprietor(?)re: logistics of takeout. This individual was incredibly helpful, gave us his card, and advised we call in with the order at 11.30, that they would have it ready by noon for the latest.
The lamb was divine, falling off the bone!!! I had enough leftover for dinner. I'd had the white tiramisu before, which is a lovely white chocolate dessert. I also ordered that to take away.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank summer789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,907 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,665
    869
    272
    64
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Top notch food, quality service and nice setting!!”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We had a nice corner table on the upper level overlooking the ocean. I had the rack of lamb and my wife had a few different tapas and the crab cake. We sampled a bit of everything and both loved what we got! In addition, we had a couple drinks down at the bar afterwards and the Strawberry Cheesecake drink was phenomenal. Overall a very nice meal, we'd be back if we ever make it back to Barbados!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Milford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not what I expected.”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

It is called Tapas, yet tapas menu is a bit disappointing and actual dishes even more. We were seated outside restaurant along the parking lot. You still can enjoy the sea but in the dark it is more sound than the view, so parking lot takes the first place. We got food before we were served drinks. (?) Stuff was very polite and everybody was saying "please and thank you" many, many times. It was three of us yet we could not share our tapas since most of them had only two pieces on the plate. It is I am sure nice restaurant and atmosphere is very pleasant, but as far as TAPAS in Barbados I recommend a taxi to Holetown and a table at Café Bar Carizma for best tapas on the island.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Izabela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Still an excellent Restaurant”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Located in a terrific position on the Hastings Boardwalk this is a relatively new Restaurant offering excellent cuisine and wines. Staff have very good knowledge of the food & drink on offer and are attentive and helpful.
Not cheap but excellent value.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thesheriff89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A tight squeeze”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

The problem with Tapas it not the food nor the service; the problem is they have tried to fit in too many tables so that it's slightly uncomfortable.

For dinner last week, three of us, the service and food was excellent (if you order a pasta main dish you'll have enough for lunch the following day).

If they got rid of a few tables, inside, it would make a more pleasurable dining experience.

Slightly disappointed.


SB

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sim0nandMichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tapas also viewed

Christ Church Parish, Barbados
Christ Church Parish, Barbados
 
Hastings, Christ Church Parish
St. Lawrence Gap, Christ Church Parish
 

Been to Tapas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing