We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worthwhile Experience”
Review of Tapas

Tapas
Ranked #1 of 41 Restaurants in Hastings
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Worthwhile Experience”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We had a prior booking at Tapas before arriving on holiday. This was a good decision as it turned out as it was full on the night (Sunday) that we ate there.

We had a lovely boardwalk table and the view, despite being dark, was stunning. They have excellent gas torches outside the restaurant that really add to the atmosphere and go someway to creating a special feeling. I would comment, on the atmosphere side of things, that there was no background music or vibe. It left the feel lacking somewhat.

We ordered starters and mains. I had mussels and they were very tasty. I believe they were the biggest mussels I have ever had. Some were the size of prawns. They came in a very delicious tomato based sauce.

I had Pork tenderloin whilst my female bab companion had seafood linguine. Both dishes were cooked well. The seafood was excellent though I thought the pork was a little bland. The potato dish mine was served with was very good though.

This restaurant is not cheap. Do set aside some money for it. It is not in the same price bracket as The Tides or The Cliff but it is certainly not a cheap night out. There is a full bar with wines, beers and an extensive cocktail list.

Enjoy!

Remember to book in advance in season if you want a boardwalk table. It is worth it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank babsontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,936 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,682
    879
    274
    64
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A bit expensive , BUT very good .”
Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

we booked here a couple of nights ago and we got a outside table . The location is second to none . The standard of food was faultless and the service was excellent , but it was a bit pricey for what we had . All being said , dining in locations like Tapas isn't going to come cheap , but we would definitely return for that special occasion .

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sunworshiper76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chappaqua, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best!”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We found this restaurant when we went for a walk along the boardwalk. We had hummus and fried calamari for an afternoon snack, then returned to celebrate my birthday.

This restaurant is right on the water, so you know the sounds of the sea are entertaining you. Get the pasta dish, as the owners are Italian and really know how to cook Italian food! The fish was good but they should have given you a choice of rice or sweet potatoes. I never leave food, but I could not get their sweet potatoes down-they had a weird taste. Also, they do not serve you butter; they serve something with mayonnaise, which I do not eat.

It was my birthday, so we had the apple crumb (?) with coconut ice cream in lieu of vanilla.... that was the best! The wine was reasonable (order a bottle; the glasses are too small).

We will return here. The staff was wonderful and the restaurant is beautiful!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank jakala15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Mr T was disappointed on the last day of his holiday....”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Last week we called at the tapas for some, well....tapas. And we really enjoyed. The location is superb for an early evening cocktail and nibbles. You can watch the sun go down and the locals taking their evening exercise on the boardwalk with the waves gently lapping the shore. Last night of the holiday and we decided to return and encouraged by our previously good experience, went a la carte. Mistake. Mr T had some juicy king prawns to start that we're not enhanced by the copious amount of deep fried batter. He followed this with some spaghetti di mare, with cherry tomatoes. Cherry tomatoes were indeed present. However at these prices you would not expect the kitchen to be using bottled passata as the base for the sauce? My pork tenderloin was described as being accompanied by a tart of mashed potato, peas and bacon. Interesting interpretation. I have never before had tart without pastry. I thought it was what defined it? Otherwise it's just mash with things in. Full marks to the owner for his effusive apologies, no marks for not making any tangible reparation. We beat it over to Haagen daz for our dessert rather than throw good money after bad, p.s you need some background music to create a little atmosphere and the casualness of some of the waiting staff needs to be addressed tho our waiter was v professional. If you are looking for a gourmet dining experience go to Naru.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M4mgu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JACKSON
Level Contributor
200 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“We found this restaurant while walking down the street”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

What a lovely spot. We were right on the water and the food was really good. I had the ahi and my husband had the catch of the day. Both were excellent. The service was nice as well. I also really liked the beef spring rolls. I think if we ate there again we would order several items from the tapas part of the menu to try more tastes but what we had was wonderful.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CATHY A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tapas also viewed

Christ Church Parish, Barbados
Christ Church Parish, Barbados
 
Hastings, Christ Church Parish
St. Lawrence Gap, Christ Church Parish
 

Been to Tapas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing