We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT PLACE TO STAY!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Hastings
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“GREAT PLACE TO STAY!”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

27th feb our stay was fab at coconut court beach hotel, Staff amazing nothing to much trouble.
Hotel is kept very clean some room"s in need of refurbishment but that should'nt spoil your stay as your not in them much!
Swimming pool really clean Beach great lots of shade if required
all l can say is some people are only happy when they have something to complain about!!

Room Tip: refurbished rooms in middle block room 14/18 great! Apartments behind blue room very large well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 123Right
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islandgirl1972, Owner at Coconut Court Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Friend, thank you for writing this nice review for us. We are really pleased that you had such a "fab" holiday at Coconut Court. We are getting ready to refurbish 30 more rooms in June so look out for a better Coconut experience on your next visit. Take care and have a great summer! Hope to see you again soon.
Best regards, Linda, Jason, Mark and the team at Coconut Court. ☺
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    852
    846
    306
    98
    83
See reviews for
411
1,132
81
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (714)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The staff were great, the location excellent. The beach has lots of palm trees for shade (use your sun screen) and there is a nice coral reef area that you can walk out to on a sandy bottom to view the colourful fish. Many attractions are within walking distance and there are bus stops right in front of the hotel. There is a lovely boardwalk along the ocean at the end of the beach. We also stayed at a nearby higher rated hotel for two nights at the start of our stay but the 7 days at the Coconut Court were much nicer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank coalpd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islandgirl1972, Owner at Coconut Court Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Oh thank you for writing such kind words about us. ☺ We think that we have a great place here too and we are glad to share it with our friends. Please come and see us again. It's not goodbye, it's see you soon!
Best wishes, Linda, Jason, Mark and all of the staff at Coconut Court!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We had a 3rd floor ocean front room with a spectacular view from a spacious balcony : comfortable and firm king bed plus a single bed ; the room was clean, the linens good , the washroom small but quite functional / adequate , a kitchenette with microwave and full size fridge and all the other stuff you might need (except a coffee maker which we would have preferred) .

The included continental breakfast is plentiful with scrambled eggs, home fries, baked beans, fish cakes, toast, biscuits, hot/cold cereal , bananas / apples / oranges ; so this is better than we expected.

Lunches and dinners we had here were also good with lots of food - two adult lunches easily fed us and our 12 yo daughter too.

The bar drinks are reasonably priced and especially so at the 2 for 1 happy hours 12-1 & 5-6.

The staff is very friendly and helpful.

The beach has lots of tree shade, numerous lounge chairs, and good snorkeling directly out front; I recommend you bring your water shoes to get through few rocky spots not only here but elsewhere at nearby beaches ; and you can walk for a goodly long way in both directions along the water front .

There are lots of restaurants nearby - Deli Delish across street good for lunch ; Mama Mia excellent thin crust pizza ; Blakley's on Boardwalk nice dinners; ...and you must go to Oistin's for the fish fry.

For history buffs , I highly recommend the Heritage tour which is conducted very closeby the hotel ; CCBH is right in the historic Garrison district - a 5 minute walk will take you to 200 year old buildings erected by the British including forts , barracks, hospitals, warehouses; many of which are still in use today - the George Washington connection may quite surpise you .

Horse racing enthusiasts will appreciate the race track also in the Garrison - thoroughbred racing here has been continuous since the 1840's --- watch the horses train every day , swim in the sea (yes, swim) especially on Thursdays and bet on them every second Saturday . Our very own Patrick Husbands hails from this track (OK he's not really ours, he's theirs)

You don't need a car here - public transit is excellent ; cost is $2BBD per trip , there are tons of buses and don't be afraid to cozy into those route 11 vans even if it looks full , always room for one more.

We were very happy with our 7 night vacation at CCBH - our vacation operator says this is a 2 star property but I would rate it higher ; and the reviews on TA are true --this is a good place so long as you are not seeking Ritz type accomodations.

To consider ..there are many stairs everywhere; so if you have mobility issues this may not be a good place for you .

We will return and we will recommend this place to our friends / family .

Room Tip: The southern most building has great view -- ask for a 3rd or 4th floor room .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Allez-y-donc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islandgirl1972, Owner at Coconut Court Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Wow, you wrote such a wonderful and informative review, thank you so much. We appreciate all of the points that you mentioned and think that you have really done a wonderful job to share all of these interesting tidbits with fellow travellers. Special thanks for mentioning the tour of the Garrison Area. My brother James works tirelessly to promote the historic value of our UNESCO World Heritage Site - yes, it is all right on our doorstep. Amazing! ☺ Thanks for taking the tour, I am glad that you found it interesting and enjoyable. Coconut Court is such a fun and cool place to stay. Please come back and enjoy our beautiful island soon.
Best wishes for a long hot summer, Linda, Jason, Mark and friends at The Coconut.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, England
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Our stay at the coconut court was pleasant, the beach here is lovely with plenty of palm trees or shade which you do need as the sun can be very hot, the sea is lovel and warm, I suggest asking shoes with u as it is a bit stoney getting in, ask a sorklas there are lots of fish to see. Th room we stayed in was basic itch a lovely view of the sea. The air con was really efficient, a large double bed and the linen was changed regularly. We were self catering for breakfast and lunch and it would have been nice to have had a ring to cook eggs on, but we did have a toaster and a microwave. The supmarket is a 5-10min bus ride but it does have everything you wants. If I was going back I would take more with me such as cornflakes,sugar, biscuits and marmalade as these are really expensive. We did take coffee, salad cream and marmite. There is a beach bar which has a happy hour and the burgers are really good. The pool was nice but quite small,people tended to be on the beach. Buses are available outside the court and for 2 dollars you can go anywhere and thy run really frequently, there are three types, blue buses, reggae buses that's the yellow ones and the bush taxis all are the same price. The little sop on the complex has a good variety of things that you might want, take plenty of sun cream minimum 30 factor.
There are a few restaurants near the court, but most of the good restaurants are in st. Lawrence gap just a bus ride away.
The reception staff are really helpful and the hotel is spotless.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 107 which was in a good position, you could here the traffic a bit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaganagee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islandgirl1972, Owner at Coconut Court Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Friend, thanks for taking the time to write this review for us. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thanks for mentioning our great snorkelling and convenient location of the hotel. We are just steps or a short bus ride away from everything! Come back and see us again really soon please. Enjoy 2013!
Best wishes, Linda, Jason, Mark and the team of staff at The Coconut.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed for 1 week at the beginning of Feb. Perfect weather, not humid didn't need the AC much, the large room fan was sufficient.

ROOM - Great! whilst some rooms were being modernised I prefered ours, it had a bit of character. It had an amazing view of the beach from the balcony, it was clean, great shower, comfy bed, very spacious.

HOTEL FACILITIES - FREE wifi! Iron, iron board, hairdryer, AC, Fan, large fridge freezer, microwave, kettle, toaster, cutlery, plates, glasses & cups! everything you could need, and the water is drinkable.

FOOD - We ate lunch at the restaurant every day, large portions, fresh fish and all very reasonable.The managers evening BBQ was a lovely evening, lots of gorgeous food and rum punch, a must! The beach bar is a great too. Veggie options available.
You are fairly close to the supermarket - Get the bus across the road from the hotel, when you see the shell garage get off and it is just next to it.
Fave restaurant was Tapas, 15 min walk by road or boardwalk or five min bus ride, opposite the Hagen Das place. Second was Neru which was a little further along.

AREA - The beach is beautiful. Plenty of space and shade under the trees. I recommend grabbing a lounger in the morning as by 9 am they have all gone. I preferred lounging at the far right or to the left at the hotel, away from the little market stall as the vendor and her friends like to talk extremely loud... not nice if you are relaxing and dozing. You can walk along the beach in both directions. The sea is very choppy near Needhams Point,people surfing.We were very lucky to be able to snorkel right outside this hotel due to the wave barrier. It is very shallow and safe.

THINGS TO DO - We hired a car as they drive the same side as the UK. You can easily drive round the island in a day. I advise a drive to Folkstone Marine Reserve (just past Sandy Lane & Holetown) its a gorgeous little beach with amazing snorkeling and loo facilities.
We also went on a Tiami catamaran trip to snorkel & swim with turtles.A fantastic trip! No fear of seasickness, you get very well looked after. A great day out whether you can swim or not. you get well fed (veggie option too) and watered...alcohol, water, tea etc.
St Lawrence gap - We were a bit disappointed, many restaurants ridiculously overpriced. Harlequins was nice. Not much going on there, we came across a bizarre open kareoke bar - this was the only entertainment.
Oistens - friday night must do. get there early and make the most of it. We went to 'angels'. find a seat and get served rather than queuing, amazing amounts of fresh food, great prices! Fun night out.

GETTING AROUND - no need for a taxi. there are 3 buses - blue, yellow,white.Each journey is $2. Blue & white give change. Blue & yellow are proper buses, they stop at the bus stops. The white are little mini buses.. you will hear their fun horns sounding and pill pick you up from anywhere, They are the most regular. All buses are generally packed.

Hotel Staff were all lovely and polite. I would return in a second!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AngelVsDevilArt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islandgirl1972, Owner at Coconut Court Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Friend, I loved reading your fabulous review, thank you, thank you , thank you! What can I say? You covered everything. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope that it will not be too long before you find yourself back with us enjoying an ice cold glass of my brother Mark's homemade Pirate Punch and a laugh amoungst friends.Take care and have a fun summer. ☺
Best wishes, Linda, Jason, Mark and all of us at Coconut Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergele, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Where do I start?! The hotel was just fab! The staff very friendly & nothing was too much trouble. Our sea front room was very nice though a little basic but hey, we didn't go to stay in the room all day & night! The food was excellent & the rum was even nicer! I would recommend this hotel to anybody! 5 stars all the way!

Room Tip: Try the seafront rooms which have fab views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I agreed with a lot of the reviewers who commented positively on the hotel. We stayed for 8 days in room 49. It was large and clean with a simple and pleasant decor. Since it was on the third floor and there is no elevator visitors who have physical limitations need to be concerned with room location. We counted 71 steps from the beach but thought it good exercise since we were reclining on the beautiful beach all day. The trees made for a great and unique beach setting.

The staff were extremely helpful and everyone was friendly. The owners are very involved in the operation of the hotel and work very hard to make it a great experience for all.

We did find breakfast a bit tiresome. We had the full breakfast and the omelets, French toast and pancakes were all very good. Even with the ordering from the menu you have to get your own coffee, juice, water and toast. The buffet really has a full breakfast with eggs, beans, potatoes, cereal and toast. No hot cereals or rolls seemed to be available.

The rooms had a water heating pot, microwave, toaster oven and refrigerator. I would have preferred a coffee maker even if I had to buy the coffee.

All in all it was a very nice experience. The location is good with lot of good restaurants easily accessible. I would definitely return as I thought it was an overall good value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islandgirl1972, Owner at Coconut Court Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Friend, thank you for taking the time to write this review for us. I am glad that you liked your room. Our rooms are large by hotel standards and we have ensured that there is everything that you need to enjoy a comfortable stay. Thanks for making points about the coffee maker and the stairs. Most folks dont mind but I will mention this information on the hotel website and suggest that persons request a high or low floor depending on what they prefer at time of booking. I am also going to mention that we keep coffee makers in stock and guests just need to let us know if they would like to have one placed in their room on arrival. Happy to do that, no problem. Take care and enjoy a wonderful summer. I hope that you will come back for another visit with us soon. Best wishes, Linda, Jason, Mark and friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hastings
2.6 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,030 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
3,612 reviews
0.3 mi away
Savannah Beach Hotel
Savannah Beach Hotel
#4 of 9 in Hastings
1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Butterfly Beach Hotel
1.9 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
307 reviews
1.5 mi away
Coral Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Court Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Court Beach Hotel

Property: Coconut Court Beach Hotel
Address: The Garrison Historic Area, Hastings BB15156, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coconut Court Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coconut Court Beach Hotel is a family affair. Owned and operated by the Blades family for over four decades, Coconut Court is unpretentious and full of local character and charm. Situated directly on a beautiful beach, adjacent to the South Coast boardwalk in the World Heritage UNESCO district within easy walking distance to historic sites, shops and restaurants. Enjoy happy service and outstanding value with free added value for all guests including roundtrip airport transfers, a bottle of Pirate Punch on arrival, shopping shuttle service from the hotel to Bridgetown and free WIFI. Recently renovated, with 112 spacious hotel rooms that face the ocean, Coconut Court offers great value and a gorgeous beachfront location! All hotel rooms are comfortably furnished with air conditioning, partial kitchenette facilities, cable TV and private balcony. Full self-catering apartments also available for families and long stay visitors in the Annex. (Located off-site). The beautiful beach is shaded with coconut trees with plenty of room for sunbathing. The large protected lagoon is safe for swimming and snorkelling for all ages. The pool deck features a freshwater pool and outdoor Jacuzzi as well as a separate children’s paddling pool. There are 2 restaurants and a beach bar serving lazy lunches and tasty home cooked meals. Weekly entertainment includes live music, Managers Rum Punch Party, Beach BBQ’s and moonlight movies on the beach. Guests can also enjoy daily cocktail specials and happy hours. Book directly with the hotel and Free breakfast buffet is included too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Coconut Court Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Court Beach Hastings
Coconut Court Beach Hotel Barbados/Hastings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing